UPDATE: THIS ELECTRON HAS COME TO REST IN A HAPPY NEST

Now if this electron is displaced from its equilibrium position, a force that is directly proportional to the displacement restores it like a pendulum to its position of rest.
Pieter Zeeman

The pendulum of my displacement has stopped swinging – at least for long enough for me to share some pictures of the progress I (together with my fantastic crew of helpers) have made on the flat. I’m glad to report that the glue came off the floors easily enough and Our Alice and her sisters applied lots of elbow grease to get the shine coming up nicely. My painter has started working his way around the rooms, the bathrooms will be tackled by a different contractor.
My best friend from my school days, Tania, gave me a wonderfully thoughtful housewarming gift; she sent around her handyman for a full day to help me hang pictures and shelves, and to attend to various plumbing gremlins.
There’s still a long way to go yet, but I am very happy in my new nest.

floors looking better

first morning coffee

it's starting to look a bit li_edited

IMG_6340

pot on stove

IMG_6370_edited

IMG_6364_edited

IMG_6366_edited

heidelberger poster hung

time for afternoon coffee

And my flatmate? Princess Ally is ignorant as to what all the fuss is about.  She acts as if the two of us have lived here forever …

ally afternoon nap

 

70 thoughts on “UPDATE: THIS ELECTRON HAS COME TO REST IN A HAPPY NEST

  1. Your home is looking so beautiful dear friend. You have an amazing talent for decorating your home with colour and furniture. You put me to shame . I love the colours of the walls . I love everything in this little home of yours. I am happy to see your elegant chandelier from the previous kitchen has found its little space here with you. Much love amica mia .

  2. Wow! What a difference! Waiting with bated breath to see what you are going to do to that bathroom.
    That was a really fantastic housewarming present from Tania!

  3. Wow it looks wonderful. I can’t believe that this is the place that was totally trashed just a couple of weeks ago. I can’t imagine how you did it Cin – – – even the balcony! Sheesh…
    Tania’s housewarming gift was so thoughtful.

  4. Hi My friend…I was just wondering if I had your e-mail address when I saw your post…great minds and all that.
    I LOVE your new home…I just know you are going to be so happy there.
    Love you to the sky and back.

  5. It is looking fit for the lady (ladies) who are in occupation. So inspired by you and very proud of you my friend in a number of respects. Deborah

    • Thanks Deborah, you have no idea how often I think of you. Will mail you my cell no, it would be lovely to have a chat. xxx (Might be a few days as my email is down at the moment and I’m waiting for the service provider to fix it.)

    • Hi Preeva, lovely to see you here again. I love Le Crueset, but I’m begining to wonder if I should stop collecting their stuff – I probably won’t be able to lift it when I’m in my dotage 😉

  6. Wow, Cin! You and your helpers have done an amazing job… and all those beautiful and colourful touches that are so distinctly Cin – now I know you’re home. I am SO GLAD for you!

    Princess Ally, I take it from her attitude she hasn’t been asked to do too much? 😉

  7. Wow! What progress. And you have done so much in such a short space of time. Congratulations! This is such a transformation and it definitely looks like a very comfortable home. I love the parquetry floor – such an improvement on that carpet. And I like how you have everything you need hanging in your kitchen – it’s a very handy system and no bending down to scratch around in a drawer or a cupboard looking for the item you need. So glad you and your Princess are settling in xx

  8. You have impeccable taste and your post left a broad, warm smile on my face and in my heart this morning. I am so happy for you and absolutely LOVE your new home. xx

  9. Absolutely beautiful Cindy. Your new home is just perfect. How lovely you were able to settle in so quickly and Princess Ally is clearly purrfectly settled too.
    You are going to be so very happy in your new home.
    🙂 Mandy xo

  10. What a smile you gave my heart this day! It is absolutely beautiful, and you have a wonderful knack for placing everything,you should be a decorator. It looks so cozy and warm, and I love your garden on the balcony, may you make many happy memories here.

Leave a Reply

