THE SUNSHINE BLOG AWARD

I am honoured to be nominated by Mal for the Sunshine Blogger Award.
In order to accept the award, I must:
• Include the award logo in a post or on the blog:

sunshine-blog-award

• Include a link to the person who nominated me:

http://maloquacious.wordpress.com/2013/06/15/the-sunshine-blogger-award/

• Write 10 random things about myself

• Nominate ten other bloggers who “positively and creatively inspire others in the blogosphere”, plus let them know you nominated them. (I am not going to do this, I can’t possibly choose just 10, each and every one of my blog friends is important to me. Without all of you who have befriended me over the years – especially over the horrors of the past year – I would, literally, not have survived. I thank you all from the bottom of my heart.
10 random things about me:
1. I can’t brush my teeth or blow my nose while wearing my spectacles.
2. I am going to paint the walls of my new flat slate grey.
3. My mother-in-law moved into an old aged home on Saturday and I already miss her more than I can say.
4. I have always kept a daily journal, but I have lost my ‘mojo’ and my last entry was on Sunday the 19th of May.
5. Although I am only moving in August, I have packed almost all of the contents of my home and am living like a gypsy. This was a silly thing to have done; without my kitchen equipment, I am not able to cook and thus unable to find inspiration for my blog. Microwaved meals are not photogenic.
6. I used to write a lot of poetry, but my muse died the day I realised that my marriage was over. (Oh my word, this isn’t turning out to be a very ‘sunshiney’ post, is it?)
7. My cat, Ally, is a source of joy to me. I am amazed daily as she makes her personality known to me.
8. Ally wakes me every morning at exactly 6am. I don’t need an alarm clock.
9. I am currently on a profound spiritual journey and became a Christian six months ago.
10. I never knew it was possible to love as greatly as the love I have for my daughter. It is so great a love that it sometimes scares me.

Thank you, Mal. And thanks again to all of you out there in cyberspace.

46 thoughts on “THE SUNSHINE BLOG AWARD

  1. There’s a lot of food for thought in this post, Cindy; way more than the usual responses to awards. I think this is the most interesting response to an award that I have read; perhaps because of its honesty.

    I’m going to answer just a few.

    1. I have the same problem!
    2. Are you sure that’s a good idea? Colour has been proven to have a profound effect on mood – why not a cheery yellow or orange or red?
    3. Sad news 😦 But you will visit, won’t you?
    6. I can’t write when I’m happy. Isn’t that weird? I can manage contentment, though 🙂
    9. Wonderful news! God bless you in all aspects of your new life.

    • You may be right about the colour, Tilly, but all my stuff is very bright and I think the slate will offset it to great advantage. I may still change my mind. #3 I am going to visit her this afternoon 🙂 God bless you too xxx

      • Lol on being Christian! it is good, the man above is unbelievably faithful, you will see things in a different way. Good news that is!
        Somehow I cannot type a comment but it allows a reply O_o
        But can’t the tenants move out a month prior to you moving in so that you can renovate and freshen the house 1st? Looking forward to the pics. Creative Woman you are! – That, I know for sure 😉

      • Thanks Sparky, I am already seeing things in a different way. I have to move in August as the new people are moving into this house. I’ve only got a week in which to do all the renovations – after that I will just have to live with things as they are.

  2. From one Christian to another, ‘may the Lord make his face shine upon you’. I moved in March and like you, I got organised way to soon. We were lucky to have sheets to sleep on, towels to dry ourselves and plates for our food! I think once you know you have to move, you can’t wait for the day to come and hence the zealousness. I do hope the move goes well for you and I just know, your writing muse will be back – in force! xx

  3. It’s always a treat to see you in my inbox, Cin. I remember your poetry well. I’m sure your muse will return once you’re settled into your lovely new home. You sound very prepared for the move, microwave meals and all. 😀 Your daughter is very blessed to have such a loving mom. Hugs to you.

  4. It is really chucking filly and I am sure it may very well snow today!!!
    I was hanging pictures at home over the weekend (moved the house around a bit) and realised how badly our walls need painting – definately a job to celebrate spring when whe arrives, methinks!! I was thinking grey but slate grey is too dark for me!!
    I am pretty sure Grandy misses you just as much – that is, unless she is too busy checking out all the “old-candy”! ;_)
    Love you gazillions! xxx

  5. Beautiful post amica mia. Im go happy for you going full throttle on turning your life around and facing the Lord , and becoming a Christian. Love you cara xxx

  6. What a beautiful open and honest post. Thrilled to read it and loving you more all the time 🙂 When a person lives in limbo it is very difficult to be creative at all. I have found exactly the same and am struggling with it. I love grey walls (in other people’s homes) but I fear slate may be a tad too dark? However I know you to be a very colourful person and I know that you have lots of colour in your stuff so it would offset it I am sure. Ooooh microwave meals….can’t you open up just the ktichen pots and dishes box? Love you lady and so proud of you xxxxx

    • Thanks so much, Colly, words aren’t enough to explain the impact you and Don have had on my life, especially in the last year. I love you both very much.

  7. Such an honest and beautiful post Cindy and cats are such awesome companions. Our 3 are our family and would not be without them!
    Very excited for you for your move into your new home – it is going to be fabulous!
    Have a lovely afternoon.
    🙂 Mandy xo

  8. Congratulations on the award! This is a lovely, honest post. I, too, have fallen off journal-writing. Seems I do best when I’m heart-broken or raging mad, and I can’t sustain either for long. Thanks!

  9. I find all of your 10 points to be on the positive side, except for not writing your poetry, but I know it will come back, just a temporary setback. I do agree with Charles, much love and hope here, I know you will be a source of joy to your mother in law with your visits, and as for children and grand children, our hearts can almost burst with so much love. Stay strong Cindy, you have much living left to do, just on a new path.

    • Thank you, Dee, I cling to Louise Hay’s statement that the age of 49 is the doorway to a new universe (not her exact words) and that I am embarking on a good chapter of my life.

  10. Nice post, Cin. I think your muse will return when you are good and ready and your newfound spirituality will flourish with it. I hope so. I adored your poetry! ♥

  11. Congratulations on the award, Cindy, and all the best as you get ready for that move. Ally sounds like a perfectly wonderful companion. Being woken up by a cat is one of the things that makes me happy. Not so much the dog 😀

  12. Always enjoy peeks into your life – especially knowing you enjoy giving them. At least you did a couple of years ago.

    Back in the days of writing on a typewriter, I had a monster ashtray to hold all the cigarette butts. When I quit smoking, I never wrote another word on a typewriter. It took a few years to write on my computer. Thankfully, I don’t associate smoking with my laptop.

    I can write when I’m sad or angry, but it’s quite unlikely anyone will see the results.

  13. Hi Cin,
    Congrats!
    Great list here.
    But I am a bit
    worried about the
    item nos. 7 & 8, My cat, Ally, is a source of joy to me. I am amazed daily as she makes her personality known to me.
    8. Ally wakes me every morning at exactly 6am. I don’t need an alarm clock.
    Its good to have dogs and cats, they are good too, but the close acquaintance with them will give trouble, be sure ant note that rabies are around.
    I like the most is No. 9 You have taken a greatest decision in your life, the life’s ultimate purpose you fulfilled by taking that decision to follow Jesus Christ. May the good Lord continue to bless and keep you safe for His glory. Best Regards
    Phil

  14. Much deserved and congratulations! All interesting, but relative to #10 – I feel the same way about my son. It must be a mom thing.

    There are several bright lights buried here and there in this post … Day by day …

Leave a Reply

