TRYING TO FATTEN UP AND REMAIN ANCHORED

winter garden

The grass in my little garden has begun its annual winter death, hastened by the endless traffic of feet as potential buyers of our property traipse through. It’s the end of year-long trial separation for my husband and I, and he has put the house on the market. My hopes are pinned on a buyer who will allow me to stay on as a paying tenant in my little cottage. I am grounded and comfortable here and the proposition can only be favourable to the new owners; the cottage is rather eccentric in its architecture and would require a fair amount of work before it is marketable to more conservative tenants.

winter garden 2

I continue to fiddle in my pots, planting things I can cart away with me if my bid is unsuccessful, but I remain hopeful and fight a daily battle against anxiety that I may be forced to relocate. I keep chanting the mantra that:
“Just for today, I will adjust myself to what is, and not try to adjust everything to my own desires. I will take my “luck” as it comes, and fit myself to it.”
As if God has stirred a spoon of sweetness and mercy into my cup of woes, I have become reconciled with my daughter. This has been a blessing above rubies and my heart is fit to burst.
Some months back I adopted a cat from a friend who was no longer able to keep her. Ally is almost ten years old and provides me with no end of entertainment. She is of a haughty nature and interacts with me strictly on her own terms. Her affectionate side seems only to emerge when I am wearing black trousers and she languidly twines herself around my calves, leaving me to look like an Angora goat from the knees down.

ally sunday morning
When the property is sold, my mother-in-law is to leave her comfy little flatlet in the main house and move to a retirement home. This pending move has spurred her to make endless shopping lists, as though she will soon be incarcerated into a maximum security prison. I’m kept very busy ferrying her about and she usually finagles a visit to a tearoom into our outings; she is concerned about my recent weight loss and is foisting all manner of sweet and savoury meals on me.

IMG_6222_edited
Pie, gravy and chips at our local tea room.

lemon meringue pie
A fat slice of lemon meringue pie to load on some winter-beating lard.
In the midst of all this flux, I take heed of Louise Hay’s affirmation that 49 is the dawn of a new age and try to see all of this as the start of a new chapter in my life.
Be well, my friends, and count your blessing daily.
Much love.

68 thoughts on “TRYING TO FATTEN UP AND REMAIN ANCHORED

  1. Many things going on for you. Most important: you and your daughter. That’s wonderful news … and what a fabulous cat. Cutest little face.

    Best wishes that it all goes your way with the house and that you are able to gain the weight you need.

    Be as well as you can be, Cindy.
    Jamie

  2. As a mother I rejoice with you that you and your daughter have reconciled, I endured 3 years of silence from my daughter and became a grandmother before she reconciled with us and I understand only too well the heartache you must have gone through. Do hope that you will be able to remain in your eccentric cottage, it sounds delightful.

  3. How lovely to read a new post from “The only Cin”. 😀
    I’m so happy to hear that you and your daughter have reconciled. I love your mantra – thank you for sharing it. The cat is beautiful and so clever to know when you’re wearing black pants.
    love
    rosie

  4. That is a wonderful blessing you and your daughter have reconciled. I do hope the new property owners will allow you to remain in your cottage.

  5. Wonderful to hear from you again my friend…was so please to hear that you and your daughter are once again friends and it sounds as if you mother-in-law share very positive feelings for you…am hoping all workout well for you in terms of you cottage…if not..as you say…it will only represent a new chapter in your life…be well my friend.

  6. I’m so happy to read this post, Cin, and to hear that you and your daughter are friends once more. Life is full ofl ups and downs, Cin. I have now learnt to relax and just let things be, trusting that all will work out in the end. My life has had four distinct chapters and they have all had good and bad times. Lovely to see you back; I’ve missed you. I hope you’re writing… it helped me.

  7. Oh Cindy…..my heart bursts with yours! That to me is just the most wonderful news. I pray that all goes according to plan. I love your Ally cat 🙂 You my friend are standing on the precipice of the most awesome decade! I loved my fifties….and now I am determined to love my sixties and make the most of this new decade too. Love you, always in my heart xx

  8. “a blessing above rubies” is the sweetest thing I’ve heard. I’m thrilled for you – and your daughter – that your relationship is improved. Best wishes for you, for all good things, Cindy!

  9. As someone who has had to move five times in two and a half years, I understand and know how much you would want to stay in your little home. However, if you do have to move, I can hopefully add some comfort by saying the property I am now in is the best of the five we’ve lived in. How lovely to be reconciled with your daughter. That is excellent news. And I think there would be plenty of people envious of your need to eats huge plates of sweet and savoury pies xx

  10. I was so glad to see a post from pop up. I do wish that it held better news but you sound so strong and capable something that I sure do not feel right now. Love you new cat. I think everyone needs a cat. They are so wonderful. So great that you could give it a new and loving home. My cat sort of the same nature as yours but she is so sweet. Not terribly playful. I wish I could have another one that was a little more playful. My Miss Kitty is a big scaredy cat! But I lover her so much.

    I do hope you get to stay in your home where you are comfy. But then again maybe a new fresh start would be a good thing?

    And fab news about you and your daughter, I should know as mine is on the outs with me. We have never had bump this big but it’s up to her now to make amends.

    Wishing you well. Linda

  11. Glad to hear that you and OB are “reunited.”

    Hope things work out for the best with the sale of the property.
    A question to consider ~ will staying in the cottage stir up the sadness?

  12. Times of uncertainty, indeed. At least you have distinguished company and should feel honoured to have been adopted by such an aristo cat.
    The reconciliation is, indeed, a wonderful thing to have happened. I hope an unbreakable bond is now in the process of being forged.

  13. I love the photo of your new cat Cin. She’s beautiful and so glad she’s good company. Also, wonderful news about you and your daughter!

    • Thanks Celia, it’s a case of baby steps and my daughter and I have a long way to go, but I have faith that things will improve one day at a time. Lots of love to you too xxx

  14. For the first time in a long time I hear joy in your voice, and it gladdens my heart. Do not be afraid of what the future holds – it can only be amazing xox

  15. Cindy, I am so glad to hear about your daughter! That is wonderful! I am however sorry to hear that your husband has decided to sell the house. I really hope that the new buyers will allow you to stay on! Lots of hugs to you! xxxx

  16. Love your mantra, dear Cindy, and have adopted it! Supremely happy that you and your daughter are now chatting up each other… Cheers for a fantastic life! 🙂 xx

  17. I am very late, Cindy, apologies. Overjoyed to hear about your daughter. Brilliant news about that, and this lovely new cat, whose stern gaze looks just the ticket.

    Hope you enjoyed the pie and chips, and also harbouring secret wish that your future will one day or another hold a trip to England.

  18. So happy to see a post from you, have missed reading them as they usually make me smile. It sounds like things are improving, I did not think you had any weight to lose so please take care of yourself. Good news about your daughter, and will pray that you are able to stay in the cottage, hugs

Leave a Reply

