MAKIN’ A JOYFUL NOISE

I’m surprised at how quickly I have adapted to, and come to enjoy, the single life. People are telling me I look better than I have in years and I feel that way too. I recently discovered the CDs of Louise Hay and have been listening to them in the car on the way to and from work and find them extremely motivational.

veri peri and shrooms_edited
But I think my newfound feelings of wellbeing stem from more than that; I have discovered the joy of solitude and the freedom to do what I like, when I like. This includes my diet and it’s no great coincidence that so many of my meals lately include All Joy’s Veri Peri sauce. At the end of the day, in these last days of summer, there’s great reward in enjoying a seared sirloin steak on a hot salad of warm shimeji mushrooms and tomatoes.

veri peri and shroom salad
I wrote some time back about a fantastic chicken salad I made to take along for my work lunch, and the people at All Joy Foods stumbled on the post and asked me to share the recipe. It’s so simple that there is no real recipe. Simply cut a deboned, skinned chicken breast into bite-sized pieces and season to taste; panfry in a little olive oil and set aside. In the same pan, fry baby tomatoes until the juices just start to emerge; remove and add to the chicken. Drizzle with All Joy Veri Peri sauce – the amount you use depends on your personal taste, I use about one teaspoonful. Toss this mixture into cooked pasta and refrigerate overnight; the juices of the chicken, tomato and sauce with infuse beautifully with the noodles. Serve hot or cold. A squeeze of lemon juice just before serving adds an extra zing.

hot bastard salad
An equally easy addition to the work lunchbox is to make a dip for crudités, cold meats or fish bites – simply add a teaspoon of Veri Peri sauce to two tablespoons of mayonnaise. And spreading a slice of toast before adding cheese and placing under a hot grill makes for a fine late-night snack, better than any Welsh Rarebit I’ve ever had!

hake bites and hot sauce
I’m taking one day at a time, with the mantra that: Just for today, I will be happy. This assumes to be true what Abraham Lincoln said, that “most folks are as happy as they make up their minds to be.”
So far it’s working, and it’s ALL JOY, ALL THE WAY.
Have a great weekend, my friends, and thanks for your stalwart support.
I love you all.

Disclaimer: I have not been paid by All Joy Foods to write this post.

67 thoughts on “MAKIN’ A JOYFUL NOISE

  1. What a fantastic attitude! Good for you! I worry about you, for some reason, more than I should reasonably worry about someone I only know through their blog posts. I am thrilled to hear you sounding so happy!

  2. Cin – I don’t know if you are religious, but something that has become a very big deal in my life is speaking life into my life, and those of others – as you say, it is a choice to be happy. The bible says, in Deuternomy 30:19 [New International Version (©1984)]
    :This day I call heaven and earth as witnesses against you that I have set before you life and death, blessings and curses. Now choose life, so that you and your children may live” As long as we continue to choose life, everything else that comes across our path is temporary. I am so proud of you – you are an inspiration! Love you xxx

  3. Great to stay chirpy and motivated!
    Is that Veri Peri as very piri as the Piri Piri of old of Joaquim Alves in Moz? Two drops were overdoing it. A teaspoonful was just about lethal. I have a low tolerance for burny.

  4. Wonderful post, Cin. Your food pics made my mouth water. I have to try out that chicken recipe. Thanks for posting it. I think I’ll probably only need 1 drop of Peri sauce though. 😀 You sound absolutely blissful. Hugs to you.

  5. Flying solo is so often underrated.

    I remember when you wrote about that sauce some time ago. Found it is available in the U.S. by mail. Hooray!
    http://www.veriperiusa.com/

    It appears to be wheat, gluten, dairy, soy and vegan, though made in a plant that does process those ingredients. So, will take a chance on it. Thanks, Cindy.

  6. It’s a ‘milestone moment’ in this journey when you start to recognise that you have so many things to be grateful for in this new (often overwhelmingly-scary) single life. I still love the fact that I know exactly what’s in my fridge/pantry (except when my bottomless-pit teenage sons are home) so my afternoon imaginings of what I’d like for supper are never ruined by someone’s else’s need for a mid-afternoon fridge raid! And being able to eat whatever and whenever I like is a pleasure I’m not going to forfeit in a hurry. I’m not even going to start on the whole-bed-to-myself and no-dirty-underwear-on-the-floor advantages, or I might be accused of hijacking your blog! 😉

  7. I just read Neale Walsch’s claim that only 30% of the people who are in relationships claim that they are happy more than half of the time. I love spending time with my friends and family, but there’s no greater way to top off the visit than to come home to my solitude and sanctuary.

    Are you doing the tapping with Louise Hay? My mom used to say to us as kids, “You go and look at yourself in the mirror until you can tell me you like yourself.” Louise practices that one!

    I may make your chicken salad for a birthday potluck dinner. Many thanks!

  8. It’s lovely to hear you sounding more upbeat. How wonderful that in your radically changed circumstances you are able to find some positives. I do love the look of your steak on those beautiful mushrooms and I would love to take your salad recipe with me to the office – what a great ‘work meal’ that would be xx

  9. Those little mushrooms are so pretty before they are cooked, very sculptural. And that chicken salad looks divine! I love any kind of noodle salad. I need to make some to take to my parents. I am so glad to hear that you are happy and content. I know it has been rough.

  10. I think we should all remember that one step at a time mantra.
    Good to hear that peri-peri is available at Amazon.
    I must complement you on your food photography which I know from experience is not easy yet everything looks so delicious!

  11. OMG! I read your posts and comment from my BB . I now realise the typos and unintended abbreviations, my goodness! And I cannot edit. 😦 oh well…

  12. Miss you, love you, look forward to getting back myself. . .hope to find you here when I get back full time. E-mail me if you feel like it! Food looks so yummy! Send me a care package, will you? I can’t cook without my hands! (Right one, as you know doesn’t work, left one in cast, had surgery to fuse two of my thumb joints, Few more weeks to go in cast. . .so, as I said, I’m hungry!

    Take care! You are thought of, cared about, prayed for, and loved.

    Paula

Leave a Reply

