HOW FRIENDS AND FROCKS FIX THE BLUES

arts on main

Many things can happen when life deals you a series of blows. You can fall apart in many ways, or you can take up the offer made by true friends and lean on them. I’ve done a lot, a whole lot, of leaning over the past sixteen months and my friends have come through for me every time. Often it has simply been that curious thing that woman do; just ‘sitting’ with me while I absorb and come to terms with new troubles.

canteen
Comfort food of the first order: Breakfast at Canteen:

canteen breakfast
In the past two weeks I’ve had two major blows; my daughter went to boarding school and my husband told me this morning that there is no chance of our marriage being reconciled. Instinctively, I wanted nothing more than to climb into a vat of wine and drown myself. But I didn’t; I allowed my friends to rally.

house of baobab
My very good friend, Ellen, took me to spend the day at Arts On Main today. This precinct is part of the attempt to rejuvenate the city centre of Johannesburg and is a hidden gem. A little hub of quirky restaurants serving anything from Nigerian food to traditional bistro fare. There’s a flea market with clothing and jewelry stalls and a food market with dozens of stalls selling various ethnic foods and tastebud-tempting cakes and sweets.

delicious cakes
We ate and then trawled all the little shops. I spotted this polka dot frock and thought it the perfect outfit in which to walk tall and thumb my nose at bad luck. I may be retrenched from my job in the near future and the dress will, I am sure, bring me only good luck when I commence my search for a new job.

polka dot frock

I came home with just enough time to have a little rest and write this post and then it will be time to be taken to dinner by another caring friend, my next-door neighbor, Lina.
Happiness comes when we stop complaining about the troubles we have and thank God for the troubles we don’t have. In my circle of friends I have riches beyond measure; near and far. And I am grateful.

58 thoughts on “HOW FRIENDS AND FROCKS FIX THE BLUES

  1. Love and salvation come in many guises. I’m glad there are good friends to support you and I suspect that your blogger-friends are keeping you in heart and prayer despite the distance of time and space. Be as well as you can, Cindy.

    Many blessing,
    Jamie

  2. You will be fine Cin, You guys are fortunate to live in Jhb and surrounds, nice places all over. 30min max driving to places. Yesterday I thought of you while I was getting lost in the leafy surbubs and won with the help of patroling security personnel. Drove all the way for high tea @ The Saxon.
    My next purchase is garmin that I am forever post poning. I have your “happiness quote” as my whatsup status 😉

  3. You will wear that polka dot dress beautifully! What a wonderful way to treat yourself! Thanks for taking me around for the pleasure of your nice day. May you hang in there, and all your friends do the same!

  4. Love you always precious Cindy. And we never stop praying for you. You are precious and loved beyond measure. You WILL be fine….better than fine! Blessings come in all sorts of disguises my friend…..that little dress has YOU written all over it. You will wear it to perfection I just know….and success will be yours. Sending warm comforting hugs. Enjoy your evening out. xxxx

  5. I can see you walking tall and proud in that blue dress Cindy. Love it! If you didn’t buy it I would’ve sent you to sit in the corner. I’m so glad your women friends are there for you but I’m not surprised because I can see what a friend you are by reading the comments above. I don’t know many bloggers who get such supportive comments from their readers.
    Just remember to keep taking small steps in the right direction- that was one of the big lessons I learned when I walked in Spain last year. There were days when I woke up with with aches and pains, but I just put one foot in front of the other and carried on walking, and I always reached my destination, and many times had forgotten my knee was so bloody sore.

  6. Voyages with nothing but open water and fine weather do tend to get boring. If one sails through a typhoon or to interesting islands, there is the danger of damage of hitting a shoal. One does the repairs and sets out again with a true feeling and spirit of adventure.

  7. You are fortunate to have good friends,the cakes looks yummy,the dress is beautiful,love your quote on happiness. Keep well and take care 🙂

  8. Hey, Miss 16… As my incredible friend of 26 years says to me when someone delivers disappointing news, “You’ll thank ’em one of these days.” He’s been right every single time.

    You’re doing all the right stuff, Cin, and as a result, you’ve got the winner’s attitude. Nothing beats the smile of a gorgeous woman in a polkadot dress with shoes to match her spirit.

  9. “To be a star, you must shine your own light, follow your path, and don’t worry about the darkness, for that is when the stars shine brightest.” Dazzle on, girlie, you rock! Hugs xx

  10. Sorry that things are rough for you, but hurray for your friends! How nice that you can rely on them to cheer you up for a day. The polka dot dress looks just your thing (as far as I know you), so that’s a great find.

    Hope things will go better for you now, you have had enough already!

  11. You are a strong woman, Cin because you ended this post on such a positive note and I know many in your situation would not have the strength to do so. I’m so sorry to hear about your marriage and your daughter going to boarding school is another loss. But, my son went to boarding school and in a way the communication improved because I would text him all the time and send him emails whereas when he was home he’d just be in his room ignoring me or out with friends. I hope you can keep up the contact with your daughter in the same way xx

  12. You’ve always had wisdom, Cindy, in spades; and great dress sense. And good friends. A great recipe for a measure of happiness.
    Thinking of you as your daughter goes off to school xx

  13. I didn’t see this post, Cin. I wish I could wander around the city centre, but not yet I fear. Love having a squiz into quaint shops and things… Lovely to see you around again.

  14. So happy to see you in print again, I think you are walking in the light, with wonderful friends to support you, a definite blessing. Think the dress will be great on you and my mouth was watering looking at those cakes. Stay strong, and enjoy each day.

Leave a Reply

