SUNBURNED EYEBALLS, HOT BIRDS AND A CANINE BEDFELLOW

My internet got hit by lightning (I know … yawn …again) and I was offline for more than two weeks while I waited for the telephone company to come and repair the line.

This was not necessarily all bad: I got my right eyeball badly sunburned in January. This can indeed happen, I was watering the garden on a very hot day, without a hat or sunglasses and – according to my eye-man – the glare from the water burned my eyes. It’s evidently something which often happens in the dessert. If you don’t believe me go have a look here. My eyesight seems irreparably damaged, so the enforced absence from the glare of the computer screen was a good thing.

This is not a picture of a burned eyeball; it is simply proof that I can operate my camera using only one eye:

I love Tandy’s dogs so much that I made an impulsive trip to Cape Town in early February to visit them. It was, of course, rather nice to spend some time with Tandy and Dave too. I like to think the dogs and their owners enjoyed my company as much as I did theirs. Molly certainly seemed happy to share my bed again:

These good friends have always gone out of their way to make my visits memorable, and this time was no exception. After they took me, to see the breathtaking estates of  Uva Mira and Hidden Valley at the end of August, I considered myself pretty jaded as far as vineyards-with-a-view go. This until they took me to Waterkloof for a wine tasting.

I was blown away by the view and the unbelievable altitude.

The tasting room seems to hang on the side of the mountain.

I forgot that I have a morbid fear of heights and ventured to the top floor to see their private dining room. Once there, I froze and it took forever for me to inch my way downstairs, clinging to the walls and praying for my life.

The building is beautifully appointed, with an impressive art collection and a view over the open kitchen of French chef Grégory Czarnecki (“fuelled with a decade’s worth of experience garnered in some of the finest Michelin star restaurants inFrance”).

The chef was camera-shy, but I kept a dogged vigil.

The weather was furiously hot during my stay. So hot that my hosts took cold showers in the middle of the night and wine farmers, sympathetic to their birds, left their sprinklers on throughout the day.

I must go now, to try and catch up with my blog friends. This will not be easy and my sore eyeball will not thank me: you lot posted 783 posts during my absence.

Many thanks to those who emailed me to ask if I was OK. I do adore the blog world.

I will be back soon to relate the story behind the best meal I have ever eaten.

40 thoughts on “SUNBURNED EYEBALLS, HOT BIRDS AND A CANINE BEDFELLOW

  1. Phew! Glad you’re back, Cindy. Thought the charms of the hairdressing world may have claimed you for good.

    And such an uplifting post, too….all dog shots get second looks from me 🙂

  2. I think I would get chills also at those heights, even though the views are breathtaking. I’d never heard you can sunburn your eyes, but I will definately remember that now! I sure hope for you that it heals. I’ve heard there are these blue-filtered glasses you can wear to protect your eyes from the light emitted from a computer screen. Wondering if that would help?

  3. I was beginning to worry about you but refrained (this time) from emailing you…hoping that you would soon reappear online…sorry to hear about you eye…a condition that I had not known before…please take care of yourself. Cheers!

  4. You were missed, Cindy. My line has now been struck by lightning and am using the iPad which I dislike typing on. Hope your eye gets better soon – I know hoe eina it is.

  5. I wondered about your absence but I figured you were working hard. Wow your pics are stunning. What a great trip you had. And dogs are so funny, they sleep in the siliest most entertaining ways.

    Sorry to hear about your eyeball. I have never heard of that before. I try to always wear sunglasses but there are many times I don’t. Maybe thats why I keep needing stronger reading glasses.

    Glad you are back.

  6. I have been wondering where you’ve been! I don’t know how I would survive if I lost the internet for two weeks. And then you got a sunburnt eye? I have actually heard of that and that it takes a while to recover from. What a beautiful looking restaurant – I just love that architecture. And the image of the three ducks sharing the sprinkler on a hot day is just gorgeous. So strange how your summer has been so hot yet ours just never really arrived.

  7. Welcome back!

    I checked up on you on FB and saw that your internet was fizzled . . . but didn’t see that your eyes were fried.

    Hope they are not irrepably damaged.

    Knowing that we can sunburn our eyes makes me think that I should dress Tigger in a bonnet and sunshades when he heads out in bright sunlight. 😎

  8. Dreadfully sorry to hear about the damaged optic, but hope sight is not impaired enough to be awkward. You seem to have been having a ball despite it and you enforced netlessness. That estate is simply wonderful – must include it in any future visit to that area.

    While you have been away, there has been a flood of movement from LD to WordPress. The uncertainty and apparent attitude of not giving a damn has got to people. My WP blog is now a great deal more active than the one on LD.

    Sarchasm on LD has a list of bloggers who now have active WP sites.

  9. I’ve been keeping a distant eye on you (no eye joke intended!) on Face Book, Cindy. I am so glad you are recovering. Now to get through the teen phase – rather a challenge. The poor lass is going to have some feelings about this. I promise, Cin!

  10. So nice to have you back! I’ve never heard of a sun-burned eyeball — will there be any permanent damage (hope not!). That really is an incredible view — I’ve visited vineyards in Ontario only, and thought them quite beautiful what with being along the Great Lakes and all, but that view of the ocean. . . all I can say is: WOW

  11. Oh no, I did wonder, i was very close to asking Tandy what had become of you. i am sure now you are going to be a very good girl and wear very good sunglasses ALWAYS and now to the birds in the sprinkler!! I want them!! Love love cindy, have fun darling.. no worries! c

  12. Ouch! I bet the eye was sore. Take care… are there any eye drops with sun lotion in?!!! NO! So hat and sunnies from now on! 🙂

    When I was small living in SA I had an eye infection… the first European the doc had seen with this eye infection and he told me I should wear sun glasses in the sun. Imagine: a three year old with sunglasses in the 60’s HOW cool I thought I was 🙂

  13. Some beautiful pics! and some views to be appreciated for sure! Cape Town is truly a breathtaking place; one you can never get enough of. (Really sorry about the eye 😦 )

  14. Wow, beautiful…Awesome photos. Lightning huh? Hmm, maybe that’s what’s struck mine…It is on it’s last leg for sure…Speaking of Legs…How did you get those two “Dogs” to pose so perfectly?

  15. I have definitely been wondering where you might be. So sorry to hear about your eye and I hope it’ll be a lesson to me. Lovely that you and Tandy can visit.

  16. Good to see you online again, Cindy! I’m so sorry to hear about your eye. I hope it does clear up after some time!

    Your trip out sounds wonderful! I am afraid of heights and I would be just the same, inching my way down. I had to cross a narrow bridge (walking) last year and I still remember how terrible it was. I don’t think it helps conquering one’s fear, though. I would be just as scared next time.

  17. Sorry about your eyes… a month back I did have some problems with my eyes, too. I hope yours is better now 🙂 What a nice come back post, I love all the pics along the reading 🙂

  18. I’m really sorry to hear about your burned eyeball – I’ve never heard of that before. We must all remember to wear both sunglasses and hats!

    Loved your photos and story of the wine tasting at Waterkloof.

  19. Totally sympathise about the internet. At least you won’t have to catch up on any of my posts. There haven’t been any due to connection failure.

    What a nightmare about your eyes… there’s a lesson…

    That winery looks amazing.

  20. Am catching up on reading blogs…current date back…sort of oriental don’t you think for someone living in Maine, of German/Norwegian/English descent ! But that’s how I do it ever since a child…
    first Saturday Evening Post, (the cartoons were at the back, starting with “Hazel”) now blogs.
    I hope your eye improves and heals quickly. How scarey. I read your reference to eye burn…a good reminder about sunglasses.
    Your photos are elegant, and I love to read of your adventures.
    Peace and love,
    Siggi in Downeast Maine

  21. What an awful thing to happen to your,especially with everything else. I wonder how you are doing driving. So much on your plate, but a lovely visit with lovely friends. Salve for the spirit. Be well …

Leave a Reply

