I BEEN PLAYIN’ WITH BEANS

Green beans grow on the unpromising-sounding Phaseolus vulgaris vine; if we allow ourselves to ignore the nauseating name this vegetable could be one of the most important additions to our diet. Look at the info I found on nutritionandyou.com:

Health benefits of Green beans

  • Fresh green beans are very low in calories (31 kcal per 100 g of raw beans) and contain no saturated fat; but are very good source of vitamins, minerals, and plant derived micronutrients.
  • They are very rich source of dietary fiber (9% per100g RDA) which acts as bulk laxative that helps to protect the mucous membrane of the colon by decreasing its exposure time to toxic substances as well as by binding to cancer causing chemicals in the colon. Dietary fiber has also been shown to reduce blood cholesterol levels by decreasing re-absorption of cholesterol binding bile acids in the colon.
  • Green beans contain excellent levels of vitamin A, and many health promoting flavonoid poly phenolic antioxidants such as lutein, zeaxanthin and ß-carotene in good amounts. These compounds help act as protective scavengers against oxygen-derived free radicals and reactive oxygen species (ROS) that play a role in aging and various disease process.
  • Zea-xanthin, an important dietary carotenoid in the beans, selectively absorbed into the retinal macula lutea in the eyes where it thought to provide antioxidant and protective UV light filtering functions. It is, therefore, green beans offer some protection in preventing age related macular disease (ARMD) in the elderly.
  • Fresh snap beans are good source of folates. 100 g fresh beans provide 37 µg or 9% of folates. Folate along with vitamin B-12 is one of the essential components of DNA synthesis and cell division. Good folate diet when given during preconception periods and during pregnancy helps prevent from neural-tube defects in the offspring.
  • They also contain good amounts of vitamin-B6 (pyridoxine), thiamin (vitamin B-1), and vitamin-C. Consumption of foods rich in vitamin C helps body develop resistance against infectious agents and scavenge harmful oxygen free radicals.
  • In addition, beans contain healthy amounts of minerals like iron, calcium, magnesium, manganese, and potassium, which are very essential for body metabolism. Manganese is a co-factor for the anti oxidant enzyme superoxide dismutase, which is a very powerful free radical scavenger. Potassium is an important component of cell and body fluids that helps controlling heart rate and blood pressure.

Curried green beans are much-maligned side dish at many South African barbeques. My vulgar vine is ripe for harvesting, my friend Ray asked me to give him my recipe and – as Tandy had given me an ingredient challenge (a jar of curry powder beautifully presented with a miniature blackboard) – I set to killing three birds with one stone and making a few jars of beans.

This is not ‘my’ recipe; it’s one of those things we absorb from the matriarchs over the years, much like looking left and right before crossing a road.

They keep well if stored in jars in the fridge for up to two weeks.

1 kg green beans

500g sliced onions

500ml water

2 teaspoons salt

Sautee the above ingredients together in a little olive oil for 10 minutes.

1 ½ cups white balsamic vinegar

3 teaspoons flour

3 teaspoons curry powder

1 cup sugar

Mix the above into a smooth consistency and add to the sautéed mix; cook until beans are tender (but not soft).

Allow to cool and place in sterilised jars.

72 thoughts on “I BEEN PLAYIN’ WITH BEANS

  1. I like green beans a lot. I remember when we were kids how my one sister struggled with fever blisters. If she’d eat her green beans they’d be gone in a day or two afterwards. It is one of the vegetables that I could SEE work for someone. Me? I just l-i-k-e the way they taste! 😀 (Do prefer them warm rather than cold though…)

  2. I love green beans and we always buy a bag at the farmer’s market, and now thanks to you I’m going to try curried green beans at our next barbecue. I can imagine it being very tasty with a piece of your “boerewors” or a lamb chop…

  3. How cool. The veggie that has it all. I’m impressed. Didn’t know at all how good they are for you. Will have to get me some. 🙂
    Love the curry, looks mighty delish. Hope you had a wonderful weekend.

  4. The veggie patch at the moment is abundant with runner beans, we’ve had a great crop this season..a great recipe I’ve never had beans this way curried and preserved in a jar. The last minute addition of beans to a cook and eat curry I love! x

  5. My mouth is watering. . .Can’t wait for our green bean season to come back! Well, actually I CAN wait – I just wish I didn’t have to. I refuse to pay $2/lb. for out-of-season green beans. I wonder if that recipe will work with frozen? Do you think?

    Sorry I’ve been away. I appreciate your sticking with me! XO Paula

  6. As we head into our winter season, this is a tease. 🙂 I eat fresh green beans raw as a snack. I would love a taste of your curried beans, Cin – bet they are delicious.

  7. mmmm…as souldipper states, you tease (teehee). I just purchased a bag of verts, but I know they will be blah as it is winter, boo. Would so love to try your concoction ~

  8. Never been able to eat beans since boarding school days when they were cooked until grey and mashed with onions and potato!

  9. Hey Cin – Green beans are my favorite, period! Love this – yum. My daughter’s true love is headed your way – if you see a very handsome American man named Luke, chat him up! x – iz

  10. Pingback: Green Beans; The Best Camouflaged of Vegetables! « Fence and Garden

  11. Pingback: News about ORAC issue #114

Leave a Reply

