DE PROFUNDIS, POMPOSITY AND PUMPKIN FLOWERS

If your head is buried deeply between your own buttocks, you can’t look up and see the sunshine. This I know to be true.

I wanted to eat of the fruit of all the trees in the garden of the world… And so, indeed, I went out, and so I lived. My only mistake was that I confined myself so exclusively to the trees of what seemed to me the sun-lit side of the garden, and shunned the other side for its shadow and its gloom. From Oscar Wilde’s letter to his long-time paramour, Lord Alfred Douglas; ‘De Profundis’ (circa 1897).

I’m re-reading this letter and – not for the first time – I am a little irritated by Mister Wilde’s self importance, his very pomposity: “I want you and others who stand by me and have affection for me to know exactly in what mood and manner I face the world …’ Bah! There’s no getting away from it; although a literary genius, he was – in Max Beerbohm’s words ‘the spectator of his own tragedy …’ Too much time for introspection, methinks, and not enough dirtying-of-hands.

My pumpkin plants are blooming and the sight of the budding gourds and flowers banish any thoughts of shadow and gloom. I’ve been searching stores for ages and find that these little jewels are either scarce or frightfully expensive, so I am quite thrilled with my garden’s largesse.

I plucked some and stuffed them with garlicky mashed potato, tossed them in egg and then breadcrumbs and they made a delicious starter, with sweet chilli dipping sauce.

Today is rainy, so good for the garden. Not even the clouds can dampen my good mood. Have a super week, my friends.

72 thoughts on “DE PROFUNDIS, POMPOSITY AND PUMPKIN FLOWERS

  1. I’ve now Eliza Doolittle’s voice in my head, I can only conclude it is the word “pomposity” and my thinking of Wilde as akin to Higgins, full of one’s self. Yay, you, and your green thumb (do you paint nails green, btw?)The blossoms look lovely. ~

  2. Cin, do you mean you stuffed pumpkin blossoms? I’m dazzled with the idea. Sounds and looks so good.

    I’m currently enjoying various squash, baked after being sprinkled with olive oil and a variety of fresh herbs. Leftovers end up in my soup pot or end up joining quinoa for a veggie stew.

  3. Eating flowers is not something I’d voluntarily do (although you are likely to come up with examples of foods that I do eat and that are flowers). But it’s great that you can just get them from your garden.

  4. Love the idea of eating the blooms. I love this weather but would have preferred a day’s delay as boysprog is on the road for a little holiday today.

  5. Absolutely love what you did with the pumpkin flowers. I am a total fan of Oscar Wilde’s. Last week I heard Al Pacino narrate one of the last poems Wilde wrote before his untimely death. He was such a literary giant.

  6. My dad grew pumpkins in his front yard. Tour buses would stop in front of our house to gape at the pumpkins, papayas, oranges, roses, etc. I have never eaten pumpkin flowers.

    I came here via Tilly Bud. Congrats on your Cowabunga award. lol.

    I like your blog so much I have added it to my blogroll. I’ll be back!

  7. You say it so politely! 😀 “…head buried between your own buttocks…” Don’t we all do that though – every now and again..? Hopefully you have someone in your life who cares enough to “dig you out” 😀

    What on earth does pumpkin flowers taste like…? It looks pretty.

  8. Hi Cindy

    I read your comment this morning. A few weeks ago I changed my site to a self-hosting site and in the process I lost all of my subscribers! So…everyone who did subscribe now has to re-subscribe. This would explain why you haven’t been receiving email notification.

    So sorry about that. I had no idea this would happen when I made the move (but should have of course, expected some technological glitches).

    Let me know if you have any further troubles.

  9. Great post Cindy! The quote is exactly what I needed to hear today. Only after reading it did I realize that I’m stuck, because I’ve confined myself to the sunny side of the garden. Sheesh..

    Your garden looks amazing.

    Zucchini flowers are truly delicious. We first ate them about 15 years ago when we shared a cottage in Quebec with friends, and our friend Maria, who is a great cook, bought the flowers at the Saturday morning farmers market and came home and fried them up for us.

  10. a wonderful blog and a good kick in the pants to those who indulge in introspection. I read this at a timely moment when I felt a little self pity; I was certainly feeling down but your blogs are so full of sunshine and lightness that it is hard to be miserable. I’m so glad our blogs have found each other 🙂

  11. Two wonderful warm and serene blogs 🙂 I’m so very happy your soul and your heart are content ………. and suitably envious at the bounteous largesse of your wonderful garden.

  12. I’m going to recommend your blog to those who follow my blog for its positivity, its sunshininess, for its wisdom and great photography

  13. Pingback: TWO TRIPS: IN PINK TAXIS AND DOWN-BLOG-MEMORY-LANE | The only Cin

Leave a Reply

