FLIBBERTIGIBBETS, FISTFIGHTS AND FUCHSIAS

Flibbertigibbet is a Middle English word referring to a flighty or whimsical person, usually a young woman. In modern use, it is used as a slang term, especially in Yorkshire, for a gossipy or overly talkative person. Its origin is in a meaningless representation of chattering. It does not always apply to females, however; it has also been used to describe Jiminy Cricket due to his whimsical, chatty nature. (Sourced on the net.)


Here, then, my flibbertigibbets from the week that was:
In the past week, I have:
Been surprised by my husband, who splurged at the nursery and bought miles and miles of plants for my garden; mostly floral shrubs and border blooms. It will be interesting to watch how the hydrangeas change colour according to the iron content of my garden soil.

Witnessed a fistfight! After many years of parking chaos, the management of the centre where the salon is have changed the parking lot to a one-way entry/exit system. This makes some people very cross. Last Saturday a man (Mister BMW) insisted on exiting the way he had for years. He ignored the car guards and sped along, going smack-bang into a car entering the lot. The driver of the other car (Mister Baldyman) got out and explained that it was a one-way and Mister BMW promptly punched him on the nose, which brought Mister Baldy’s wife running; she duly gave Mister BMW a few clouts upside the head and he boxed her right back. Mrs Baldy suffered a broken thumb. Mrs BMW joined the fray; the two men were wrestling and tearing one another’s shirts; the two women were at it like angry dogs, I believe I saw one sink her teeth into the other’s arm.
Mister and Mrs BMW jumped back in their car and reversed, bumping into a parked vehicle. They then sped forward, almost knocking over a car guard, who proceeded to whack at the car with a steel pipe, before the BMW made its speedy escape.
It was all very thrilling for me to watch. Had I not been so fascinated by the unfolding drama, I’d have grabbed my camera and done a photo essay for Sidey’s weekend theme … Instead, here is a picture of one of my new fuchsias; appropriately enough, it is called ‘Gentlemen’s Agreement’.

Next week I will:
Cook with Alvin from Masterchef Australia and Tandy Sinclair!
Change to posting only once or twice a week on my blog! I am battling to keep up to date with my blogger friends’ posts and find it impossible to get to the blogs every day … From now on; I will catch up on Sundays and Mondays, which are my days off.

Wear blue nail polish on my fingers and toes and drink pink wine!

71 thoughts on “FLIBBERTIGIBBETS, FISTFIGHTS AND FUCHSIAS

  1. Oh my..the parking lot events would have made a great youtube video…alas no video…but I’m sure people with this level of IQ will repeat their actions so keep the camera at ready…only one other thing…pink wine? I’ll have to sleep on that one my friend…take care.

  2. Morning Cin, maybe if Mrs BMW was not present Mr would not have behaved the way he did. I have noticed when a person is with friends or a partner they tend to want to prove they are not “sissies” (lack of a better word) Now the poor guys are left with costs fixing their cars, I hope someone took down the beemers reg!
    Have a lovely weekend and enjoy your new flowers.

  3. That was why although I loved driving my BMW I hated being a BMW driver. Being a Merc driver puts me in the category of ‘brille and pille’ – exactly right.

    Love the new plants. I believe it’s acidity and not iron for the hydrangea colour. Have I been misled all these years? For one you are supposed to put all your tea leaves on the plants. I only have a ‘red’ one that i bought last year, and I’m dying to see how these pale little flowers turn to burgandy as advertised.

    I also bought a new fuschia yesterday – all white like a ballerina

  4. Great post Cin. I love your title -have never heard the word “Flibbertigibbet”

    Good lord how horrible to see grown men and women behaving like that! No one would get away with that kind of behaviour in this country. I’m surprised the cops didn’t come, and that the BMW could just drive off like that. Why didn’t the security guard at the parking lot or one of the 24/7 armed response vehicles driving around stop them?

  5. Wow… I’ve heard the word but never tried to spell it! I actually thought your story of the fist fight was hysterical! Still laughing… and wishing I could laugh AND drink some pink wine!

  6. Mr. BMW will surely be receiving a hefty bill if he did damage to people or vehicle. What a great demo of being resilient, flexible and malleable.

    If you know of a good way to dry hydrangea in a way that retains their colour, please pass on the information, Cin.

  7. I adore fuchsias and hydrangeas. My ones (3 plants), under my kitchen window ranged from a lovely blue on the one side to pure pink on the other. I heard rusty nails in the flower bed changed the colour but not sure if they make pink or blue!

  8. “A flibbertigibbet, a will-of-a-wisp, a clown…” – I’m sure that was the line from “How do you solve a problem like Maria” from The Sound of Music! 🙂

    Fistfights can be very exciting to watch if you’re far away enough to feel safe (glad you were, Cin!), and the flowers are just gorgeous! I check in on blogs once or twice a week too – I just don’t have time to do more at the moment, although I’d love to.

    Take care, have fun with Alvin and the gorgeous Tandy! 🙂

  9. How exciting! But what a stupid thing to fight about. I once witnessed two pensioners in a fistfight – unedifying.

    You are right to pull back if it’s too much. We will miss the daily posts but be grateful for what you give us.

    Enjoy the cooking!

  10. That fight scene sounds like something out of a movie. Unbelievable behaviour. I love the look of your hydrangeas. Such a beautiful plant. And you’re cooking with Alvin??? What a treat.

  11. O M G!! Your flowers are to die for (do you know you’re married to an incredible man?) and the fist fight was…punchingly ‘road rage-ous’!! 😉

  12. Fistfights! Fab! (Oh dear, the UK hooligan in me has just outed herself.) Lovely to hear about all the plants and waiting with baited breath to hear: pink or purple?

    Flibbertigibbet: a common way to describe a problem like Maria. Along with (as we used to say as children) a will o’ the wisp and a cloon.

  13. Flibbertygibbet had me humming the (how do you solve a problem like) Maria song from Sound of Music… Love fuchsias, not so much fistfights – I expect, though, I would have found this particular piece of histrionic nonsense entertaining to watch from a safe distance.

  14. My goodness! Can you be so wrong and make such a mess refusing to admit it. tsk, tsk 😦 Now imagine his version of the story to everyone else… “So, Beamer, what happened to your car?” – “Oh, let ME tell YOU!….” 😀

    A colorful garden is so pretty. Right now ours is near completely covered with autumn leaves, and with the wind blowing as much as it is right now there is no point in trying to rake it. Should we even try?

  15. What a hoot…why didn’t the gals duke it out, too (well, with each other)…stand by your man, indeed! Glad you’re allowing yourself a break; this blogging stuff is very hard to keep up on (writing & reading)…never worry about hitting my blog, I know you will when mood strikes, cheers ~

Leave a Reply

