WOBBLY BITS, JELLY AND ASPIC

Caroline: I’m an existentialist.
Eberlin: Uh – you’re a what?
Caroline: I’m an ext – isn’t that the right word?
Eberlin: I would say “exhibitionist” is more to the point.
Caroline: What’s an existentialist, then?
Eberlin: Well, it’s slightly more complex than romping around naked. – From the film “A dandy in aspic’ (1968)

Ah, Summer is here in all her glory; a blissful time marred only by the widespread display of naked flesh. Buxom women abound, flaunting their wobbly bits. I am reminded of my dad’s comment upon regarding a woman who considered it in order to reveal her ample curves in a tiny bikini on a crowded beach: without a trace of irony, he said “It must be jelly, because jam don’t shake”.


This memory made me smile as I added the gelatin to my chicken in aspic, a dish my dad was very fond of. My dad has been much on my mind over the past few days. I can’t stop thinking how delighted he would be at the frivolity of my new job. He often spoke of his dream to pack in the corporate world and open a fishing bait shop on a beach, wear shorts and go barefoot every day; the male equivalent of Shirley Valentine, if you will. I raised my glass of celebratory bubbly to him and wondered what my hairdresser-mother would make of this caper.
This photo is for Paula, who asked about it:


It is a scale model mannequin used for life drawing. I’ve had mine since high school, his name is Maurice and he is a stalwart keeper of secrets.
And the rose is for everybody, I’m generous that way …

88 thoughts on “WOBBLY BITS, JELLY AND ASPIC

  1. Ah, a rose, in bloom! It’s so nice be be kept updated from the other end of the world where it’s almost SUMMER! Lovely. Via you I can at least enjoy a little bit of summer, summer by proxy.

  2. When we lived in South Africa we had a maid who called insects (and I have no idea how these words are spelt) noo noo and haw haw.
    Can you throw any light on this memory? Anyway your rose has a noo noo or a haw haw in it – possibly!

  3. I just called you Sidey! Please forgive! I had just finished writing an extended comment on her site, and her name appeared on my computer screen instead of Nancy! Wait! It’s Adeeyoyo, roght? No, it’s Tilly! That’s it, Tilly! Or is that Tandy?

    No, of course not, it’s the one and only original Cin! 😆

  4. My mother referred, somewhat tartly, to lumpy bosoms threatening escape, to atomic outfits – 90% fall-out.
    That rose! Could it be “Just Joey”? Beautiful, whatever it is. Thankyou.

  5. J’adore your Prize roses. Can I use the yellow one???

    Love your dad’s “It must be jelly, because jam don’t shake” comment.

    We sell the exact same scale model mannequins in our Museum store.

  6. My bits wobble so that I have to get that special “hold them in” swimwear!
    Please could you share your aspic recipe??

  7. Hugest congrats on your new venture, so pleased for you 🙂 We are officially boiling today – a balmy 38 deg c at lunchtime, be warned my friend I suspect its coming your way. Glorious foto by the by – does its golden self have a name (botanically speaking)?

  8. As much as I cannot imagine anorexic people seeing themselves as “fat”, I cannot imagine what possesses people to expose jiggly bits just because of some fashion dictate.

    Here’s to keeping the jigglies in jam jars! 😀

  9. I saw so many surprising jiggly bits at the beach this summer. I can’t believe what some people are willing to expose. Ick. I figure if I don’t want to see then no one else does either!

    Beautiful beautiful rose. I think I like yellow ones best. Well yellow and pink.

  10. Gosh, I thought all those scale models were female!!!

    You’re dad was a funny one, huh?

    Sun looks good. I love winter, but right now I’m sitting here wrapped in a blanket and shawl. Heat on. Windows closed.

Leave a Reply

