THYME FOR REVENGE AND A CHANGE OF SCENE

“Iron my dress, please, and don’t burn it.” Even this blunt rudeness couldn’t dent my bonhomie. She was getting ready for a friend’s bat mitzvah and the dress was for the bracha, the ‘blessing’ part of the day-long ceremony. Silently, I ironed the dress. There would be another frock later, the day’s celebrations would end with a party, where there would be dancing. My child is growing up; it is as well that I have recently embraced increased incidences of solitude …


After indulging in a peaceful breakfast of muesli and yoghurt in the front garden, I went out into the back and picked leaves from my beloved Bay tree, and a fistful of thyme. A bottle of apple cider from the bar fridge and I was ready. Her newfound Jewish zeal would wane in the face of a succulent pork roast. Oh, I am wicked!


In the late afternoon, after lunching on a grilled cheese sandwich that was sublime in its simplicity, I went to visit a friend. Debbie owns a busy hair salon and I love being there; the atmosphere is vibrant and trendy. It seems nobody is in a bad mood when they are getting their hair done. Debbie lamented the fact that she is bogged down with the business side of her salon; she just wants to enjoy doing hair. On the spur of the moment she offered me the job of managing the business, on a mornings-only basis and I accepted. Money for jam and the chance to gather material for what could be quite an entertaining book; has anybody ever written about the things people tell their hairdressers? I think the change of scene will be very good for me.
A reason to dress up, almost like going to a party every day?


And nobody in that environment will give my oddly-coloured nails a second glance. Today they are dressed in ‘Strawberry Milkshake’. The little bag was made for me by my extremely creative and talented pen-friend Steffi in Hamburg, Germany. Thank you, Steffi!

76 thoughts on “THYME FOR REVENGE AND A CHANGE OF SCENE

  1. Your post reminds me of my beautiful mornings in exotic East Africa…refreshments beneath the whispering palms! 😎
    …and Cindy, is that a clef I see on the little pinkie??

  2. We all know what a change is as good as, so I won’t say it! Good luck, Cindy, my friend. And don’t forget a little black notebook will be essential (with a lock and chain). ♥

  3. Now that you are in a hair salon morning we can expect some really bizarre and funny tales on your blog…I used to be a hairdresser so I know what goes on behind those doors!

  4. The title is oh so clever! I’m wondering why my grilled cheese never looks half as appetizing as yours above {pouts}. What a beautiful bag! {sighs with envy} – love the colours & imagination that went into making it. And I’m really looking forward to reading your hair salon book. 😉

  5. I once wrote a play based in an hairdressers! It was a tremendous hit. I may dust it off and you can feed me some juicy bits you are not using.. a fantastic idea.. and thank you for another rose, nice red one this time! c

  6. Mmmm succulent pork, and strawberry milkshake nail polish. Surely life doesn’t get any better than that.
    Ps: People don’t really tell their hairdresser stuff do they? Surely that’s an old wives tail. Can’t wait to hear the juice you find out. 🙂

  7. Good for you! What a great idea – it’s a job that will bring a big change of pace, a change of space, and a change in daily company! Now maybe Bunn can iron her own dresses! Hope that you will enjoy it! You will be in on lots of great chatter – plenty of blog fodder, so I’m expecting a good dish every now and again!

    BTW – I love the PINK nails! Besides, you have beautiful hands. . .you make the color look good! 😉

  8. ooh I’ll have to stop telling my stories there. Though I’m seldom there in the mornings 😉

    Hope you have a ball
    BTW – it’s social news gathering, NOT GOSSPI

  9. another enticing title; and yes solitude is to be embraced especially if hyou lead a fairly busy social life otherwise; I value as a writer and reader the solitude I can take from each day, even if it is only a few hours; your book about tales from a hairdressers salon does seem an original concept — and if it doesw attract mainly a female readership what does it matter? It is, after all, a large demographic

  10. You’re a brilliant one; no, I’d dare say I’ve never come across a hairdress confessional! Get crackin’, it sounds delightful. Yay you, let your muse’s tresses blow in the summer breeze ~

    ps perhaps each chapter could start with their nail colour…

Leave a Reply

