NOVEMBER IN MY KITCHEN

And so begins November, also known as ‘Mo-vember’; thus explained by Wikipedia:
Movember (a portmanteau of “moustache” and “November”) is an annual, month-long event involving the growing of moustaches during the month of November. The event was conceived in 1999 by a group of Australian men from Adelaide.
Since 2004, the Movember Foundation charity has run Movember events to raise awareness and funds for men’s health issues, such as prostate cancer and depression, in Australia and New Zealand. In 2007, events were launched in Ireland, Canada, Czech Republic, Spain, the United Kingdom, Israel, and the United States. {My note: It is HUGE in South Africa!}
In 2010, Movember merged with the testicular cancer event Tacheback
RULES:
1. On “Shadowe’en” (October 31), the complete moustache region, including the entire upper lip and handlebar zones, must be completely shaved.
2. For the entire duration of Movember [November 1–30], no hair shall be allowed to grow in the goatee zone (any facial area below the bottom lip).
3. There is to be no joining of the moustache to sideburns.

November is also the month in which my roses show off shamelessly and I am able to have them constantly in my kitchen.

And so to Celia’s monthly initiative: November in my kitchen.

First off; Giorgio Locatelli’s book ‘Made in Italy / Food and stories’, which was sent to me by an anonymously generous person so long ago that I can’t remember the month. I’ve flipped through it, but took it up in earnest last night and ended up reading until after 3am. I am now so tired that I am having auditory hallucinations. (Unfortunately it is Manfred Mann’s song ‘Pretty Flamingo’ …)
I never much cared for Mr. Locatelli; his habit of running his food-stained hands through his hair did not make me love him. However, this book has made me change my mind drastically. Filled with delicious food, the recipes are interspersed with chapters of touching stories about Locatelli’s childhood and his journeys to the success he is today.


He is clearly a kind man, a caring father and a chef who has a deep conscience about providing superb food in an ecologically friendly manner. The book is an absolute must for anybody who loves food and the history of ingredients.


I did remember – at around 2am, that I still had to use two ingredients that have long been waiting on my grocery shelf: Wild Hibiscus Flowers in Syrup (from Tandy) and Woolworths Marinated Artichokes Quarters. Watch this space!
Lastly, Amy commented on my salad servers yesterday:


When I owned a holiday home in Glencairn, in Simonstown / Cape Town, I would let my friends have free use of it for their holiday accommodation. No charge. The only condition was that they had to supply the one thing they felt they couldn’t have done without during their holiday. One couple bought a furry blanket to leave by the fireside, someone else left a copy of Roberts Birds of Southern Africa and once there was a set of steak knives and these salad servers.

79 thoughts on “NOVEMBER IN MY KITCHEN

  1. Enjoyed entire post, but most of all, enjoyed your displays of your gorgeous roses…
    you must be in heaven with those lovely flowers.
    Thanks for sharing.
    Peace,
    Siggi in Downeast Maine

  2. Kevin and I are observing Movember this year and we’d love your support (and that of your readers!).

    You can find out more about Movember on my post here: http://bit.ly/ugVgeR and help us to help SANCA on our Mo Bro page here: http://mobro.co/MoBlaBla

    As for November, I love the roses – you know that. There are two other Joburg November arrivals that I’m not so keen on though: rain spiders and Parktown prawns. We’ve already had 2 visits of each so far. I expect more.

  3. I can almost smell those lovely roses, Cin – they are exactly what roses should be – not like those uptight unperfumed mass-cultivated varieties.

    Love the condition for occupying the holiday home (would have to make sure you have a good handle on your guests though – could end up with some very strange additions otherwise)

  4. You are so pretty in pink…Heck, come to think of it.. you are pretty in blue…Most of all, I just like seeing you are back in the pink…

    I’d grow a stache for you any day girl…

    Just wouldn’t be all that prudent…
    cooking and feeding the masses and all,

    I’d look even more stupid than I already do
    with one of those face diapers some states
    make cooks wear…. Alla prossima
    paul

  5. I love the idea of people leaving something behind that they need! I used those artichokes in the pasta I posted today – we are on the same wavelength again 🙂 I also am not a fan of the hair in the hands with Giorgio, but his food is great!

  6. A great idea, Cin. I would leave a gift certificate for a supply of fresh fruit and veggies when you were able to be there.

    Nothing rusty about your resilience. There you are changing your mind about a man. That takes a mighty woman!

  7. Cindy, thanks for playing, and I loved this post! How sweet of you to let folks use your holiday house! I’ve never watched Giorgio much, at least not enough to see him run his hands through his hair, which would drive me bonkers, but enough to think that he was a hottie.. 🙂 I’ll have to watch out for the book, thank you! Your roses are beautiful! And believe it or not, I’m in Australia, and I haven’t heard anything about Movember yet this year!

  8. This is my favourite post of all yours I’ve read. From Movember, which is new to me, to the pretty flowers to the nice chef to the lovely idea that guests buy something they can’t do without as payment for the free accommodation.

    What a lovely person you are 🙂

  9. What a beautiful day for you! Thank You for sharing the info about Movember -I’d had no idea. Figures some bold and brusk Austrailian men would be behind this – and for good cause! If women can push our much-needed issues into the public eye, I am all for men doing the same.

    That said, you still have Woolworths over where you are? really?

    Ours closed here like over 15 years ago!

  10. I am with the others, DO keep showing your roses, they will bring some colour into our long winter, the sun is rising and that is my bell to go outside and feed the troops but before I go I love your salad servers, so Green! (once again with the colour!) c

  11. Pingback: November, with numerous commitments and a cow « Pseu1's Blog

  12. I also love the idea of leaving something special in your home…I’ve seen people write comments in a small book before..but not a gift…quite a lovely thought…by the way tried yesterday’s salad recipe…it was great…thanks!

  13. A good book, beautiful roses and the most sweet salad servers. Yes, what a gorgeous idea for them to leave something – personal and different, unique and heartfelt. Great that they participated. If your guests didn’t you would have no special stories to share about it. 🙂

    I’m definitely not one for facial hair… but that is the first I’ve ever heard of the cause. A worthy one, I think.

  14. Gracious: your Woolworths must be loads posher than ours used to be. You’s never catch a tasteful jar like that one their shelves here.

    Loved the MOvember stuff! I have never heard of it before!
    And….divine roses.

  15. I can think only of a very few people who have ever known me without a moustache, so the original shaving would provide too much shock and horror. Also, I don’t want to be bitten by the dogs and shunned by grandchildren.

  16. Your roses are gorgeous. I miss mine already. My hardy rose has one bloom still on it. The leaves are all gone, but there is this one gorgeous bloom at the very top that is still clinging tenaciously despite the deepening cold. It brought a smile to me today as I made my way around the yard to see how things are doing. I really hate winter, necessary as it is to life in Spring.

  17. That’s odd, I left a message here yesterday, something about not wanting to ever have gravy in your house 🙂 It reminded me and I have just done mine. Beeoutiful roses.

  18. As always, your post is a joy to read…I should have read it sooner so I would have known my patron wasn’t pulling my leg when he told me he was part of a challenge to grow a beard during November! Roses are so lovely; as is the sentiment of leaving one’s must-have possession behind…you would have done quite well with me…my Macbook (smile) ~

  19. Giorgio’s book was on my christmas list the year it came out. My dear 18 year old daughter paid $59 and bought it for me. I thought she would share the cost with brother and sister, but she didnt. I felt obligated to read it upside down,inside out, so she got her money’s worth. The returns really paid though, when I made his pizza dough. It’s simply the best.

  20. I stayed at a friend’s home in the Pacific northwest in Oregon this year that had the same idea about leaving something! I left behind an antique sugar crock filled with vanilla sugar, a basket of almonds with a nut cracker, and a lovely shell mirror to go with a collection she had started up in her master bath.
    I too, love your roses~ thanks for sharing!

  21. Pingback: ASPERSIONS, NASTURTIUMS AND BUBBLES « The only Cin

Leave a Reply

