MONDAY THINGS

I watch a fair whack of food programmes on TV and – instead of keeping a notebook handy to jot things down – I rely on my memory to come through when I eventually decide to cook the dish. Not a good idea.
I saw someone (most likely Ina Garten) make a warm pasta salad with smoked bacon and I had a beautiful package of Wiltshire back bacon, so – when Tandy issued rocket as her latest seasonal ingredient challenge – I knew exactly what I wanted to make.


I made the salad as a side dish for our steaks, but it would me perfect on its own as a Meatless Monday Meal.

2 cups cooked fusilli
6 rashers smoked bacon crisply fried and diced
1 can of chickpeas, drained
1 handful of mixed Tuscan herbs (I used Watercress, mizuna, rocket and red spinach)
Salt & pepper to taste
Juice of 1 lemon and a drizzle of olive oil

As is always the case, the simplest dishes always come out tops. We loved this salad, the bite of the rocket was a perfect playmate for the other ingredients.

From Wikipedia:

Eruca sativa (syn. E. vesicaria subsp. sativa (Miller) Thell., Brassica eruca L.), is an edible annual plant, commonly known as rocket, roquette, rucola or arugula, not to be confused with Wild rocket. It is a species of Eruca native to the Mediterranean region, from Morocco and Portugal east to Lebanon and Turkey.

And here are my answers to Mandy ‘s latest ‘Getting To Know You Challenge’:
1. Who would you be honoured to have cook in your kitchen?
Anthony Bourdain … naked.
2. What have you always wanted to cook or eat but never have?
Tripe
3. What is your favourite part of a chicken?
That little fillet of soft meat in the back.
4. Do you use a knife or a vegetable peeler to peel potatoes?
Most of a potato’s fibre is in the skin, peeling it is just silly.
5. What one item do you keep in the kitchen you know you shouldn’t use but do?
Ready-rolled frozen puff pastry. So sue me!
6. Do you like using the new culinary foam with your meals?
I don’t know anything about the product.
7. What 3 meals would you take to a friend who is sick in bed?
And catch their germs, are you crazy???

68 thoughts on “MONDAY THINGS

  1. That looks delicious. Easy, fast, simple, nutritious. Like you said, ‘the simplest dishes always come out tops’. I can see every member of my family enjoying this with no complaints.

  2. LOL!@7. Morning Cin, Tripe is yummy with hot pap. Maybe you should try buying from african restaurant before trying to prepare it yourself.

    • When I was a child, my nanny used to make me curried tripe and onions on pap and I loved it, Sparky, I just don’t think my family will eat it. Maybe your idea of getting a take away from Mama Africa around the corner is a good one 🙂

  3. Tripe is one of my favourites, either in white sauce or in a curry sauce. Delicious. BUT it must be cooked soft because it can be terrible! I do it in a pressure cooker for a few hours!!!

  4. That salad looks great! I’d never have thought of combining pasta with chick peas but I can imagine the nutty flavour of the chick peas being great with the pasta.

    I like your answers to the questionnaire!

  5. I love the flavour of rocket and this combo would be simply delicious! I too use rucola in an Italian cold pasta dish..I’ll have to check my archives of posts…I’ve a memory lapse if I’ve shared this recipe or not…Bourdain naked in your kitchen would be good!

  6. Love your use of arugula (as we mostly call it here in the States). I grew it this summer in my garden, and it makes such a nice accent in a salad. And, I agree with you, I don’t peel potatoes either. It’s hard enough to work enough fiber into our diets! Pretty pictures, too, as usual.

  7. I take it you’ve never been tempted to be a nurse?

    Tripe is a very pleasant dish with the customary onions. It has to be prepared by an expert, though, or one ends up with tasteless strips of rubber.

  8. Having spent my summers working in my grandfather’s tripe factory I never want to see or smell the stuff ever again….let alone eat it! *shudders at the memory*

  9. Oh dear, Cindy.
    When I went to school in Hull, I used to pass a tripe shop each day. Lots of tripe used to be spread around the window. I never ate tripe before that, and seeing it on display didn’t make me feel any better about it! Sorry!
    John

  10. I was thinking the same thing as Tilly. The thought of tripe makes feel ill. Very very ill. On the other hand Anthony naked in the kitchen. Ok well at least some jeans, please. The naked part could come later.

  11. Pingback: Something Savoury and Presto Pasta Nights 239 | Lavender and Lime

Leave a Reply

