DRIPS, DRAINS AND CANNELLONI TUBES

With the exception that it is full of ill people wearing drips, drains and dressings, the hospital I was at is much like a hotel. In the mornings, one is presented with the day’s menus from which to select the three meals of the day. For the first six days of my stay, I ate eggs for breakfast, being unaccustomed to being so spoiled for choice; poached, scrambled, boiled, fried … As I reached my final three days there, I felt my arteries clogging up and elected to go with the stewed fruit and yoghurt. My lunch choice was generally a chicken salad, although I did enjoy a beef curry one day. By far the best meal I had there was a lentil and butternut babotie; which I will recreate in the near future.
My ward was peopled with a riotous bunch and we laughed far too much; all things considered. The reality of coming home to Marmite toast was an anti-climax to say the least and – by Friday – I was champing at the bit to get back into my kitchen. First up I hauled a smoked chicken and some gypsy ham from my freezer, still feasting on the contents of my hamper from The Feinschmecker, chopped and mixed with a bit of sweetcorn and crumbled feta cheese and stuffed into cannelloni tubes,

before baking under a sauce of roasted tomatoes. I deliberately didn’t add any herbs because I wanted the smokiness of the meats to rule the dish.
Not a patch in comparison to being served in bed, but perfectly OK as first-meals-back-home go …


And on today’s foodreference.com calendar we find rather bleak offerings:
1817 Hippolyte Mege Mouries was born. A French scientist, he invented margarine and patented canned meat.

1836 Alonzo Dwight Philips patented the phosphorous friction safety match in the U.S.

1861 The first transcontinental telegraph was completed and went into operation. Within days the Pony Express ceased operations.

1911 Nathaniel Wyeth was born. A chemist and inventor, he patented the PET (polyethylene terephthalate). It was the first plastic strong enough to use to bottle carbonated beverages.

1929 ‘Black Thursday’ – the first day of the panic driven stock market crash that precipitated the Great Depression.

1939 Employees at DuPont’s factory in Wilmington, Delaware purchased the first nylon stockings for sale in the U.S. They were available nationally in May, 1940.

Have a good week, friends, it’s great to be back.

66 thoughts on “DRIPS, DRAINS AND CANNELLONI TUBES

  1. Deliciously interesting and so eloquently written. Good chicken dishes always remind me of my Latin lecturer who used to tell us to say “You enjoyed a delectable gallinacious meal”. Cindy, glad that you are back!

  2. My favourite bit of my last (and only) hospital stay was when I felt strong enough to walk down (day 3 after my op) to the cafe and have a very good cappuccino

  3. Glad to have you back ‘on air’, Cindy. Food in the hospitals here is so bad that if you are unlucky enough to be hospitalized you need kind friends to bring you food parcels.

  4. Hi Mem, good to read your posts again! My sister loves smoked chicken and most new tastes I get from her. Yesterday she brought rainbow marinated chicken and oven grilled it, was so nice I am having it again today for lunch, hehe!

  5. Great to have you back, Cindy, and you amaze me, being able to put together a beautiful dish so soon after your return from hospital. I ‘m so pleased the hospital experience was a good one.

  6. That doesn’t look half bad at all! Not on any day 😀

    Have to agree on the eggs… I tried that once… didn’t last more then 10 days before I had to make a slight adjustment to my menu 😉

    I go through phases, I guess: I’ll eat something and enjoy it for a season, then get fed up with it and move on to something else for a season. Maybe it’s because it’s easy or convenient and I don’t have to ‘faff’ so much about details of planning something unique – especially when I have something else on my mind that take priority over it. Either way, as long as I enjoy what I eat! 🙂

    Sounds like they took good care of you; that’s great for any hospital experience (if you must have one).

  7. When I was pregnant with my daugther I had to spend quite a good bit of time in hospital and I loved that I could order things from a menu and someone would bring them too me! It was just like being a princess.

    Glad you are back.

    I had no idea that stockings only go back as far as the 40’s. Well nylon ones anyway.

  8. If I have a hospital stay, I’m going to brag about South Africa having menus! One year for the nylon stocking to catch on…even without internet. Ah the power of vanity! 😀

  9. Cooking as therapy – just what you need by the sounds of things, Cin – and lots more of that laughter. Great to see you back in the hot seat (very hot over there by the sounds of things) Sterkte!

Leave a Reply

