FAMINE OF INSPIRATION AND A FEAST OF A WORKLOAD

Sometimes a quick surf around foodreference.com or Wikipedia may yield the early-morning prompt I need to get a blog post going. Today I’ve been given “1981 The USDA announced that ketchup could be counted as a vegetable in the school lunch program.” By the foodreference crowd, and “Utricularia nervosa is a terrestrial carnivorous plant that belongs to the genus Utricularia (family Lentibulariaceae). It is endemic to South America where it can be found in Argentina, Brazil, Colombia, Paraguay, and Venezuela.” From Wikipedia.

Please, give me strength … It’s enough to make me go and join Lulubelle in bed!

… But I can’t; as will have been hinted by my absence from visiting my blog friends, I am very busy. This is the most hectic time of year as the ad agencies race to go to print before the printers close in early December. It’s also the start of silly season and people are starting to ask for quotes for catering cocktail parties and the like. I must – as they say in the pugilist world – ‘box clever’; in the freelancer’s life things are always feast or famine and I know from past experience that both my businesses will all but die between December and March. In the meantime, my family is happy to have cold suppers.

And, in case the threat of smelly urine puts you off asparagus, here’s why it’s one of the best things you can do for your body by eating more of it.

Asparagus is the leading supplier among vegetables of folic acid. A 5.3 ounce serving provides 60% of the recommended daily allowance for folacin which is necessary for blood cell formation, growth, and prevention of liver disease. Folacin has been shown to play a significant role in the prevention of neural tube defects, such as spina bifida, that cause paralysis and death in 2,500 babies each year. Its wealth of nutrients, fiber and very low sodium and calorie content make asparagus a nutritionally wise choice for today’s health-conscious consumer.

Asparagus is:

o Low in calories, only 20 per 5.3 oz. serving, less than 4 calories per spear.

o Contains no fat or cholesterol.

o Very low in sodium.

o A good source of potassium.(1)

o A source of fiber (3 grams per 5.3 oz. serving). (2)

o An excellent source of folacin. (3) o A significant source of thiamin. (4)

o A significant source of vitamin B6. (4)

o One of the richest sources of rutin, a compound which a compound which strengthens capillary walls.

o Contains glutathione (GSH). (5)

source: asparagus.org … yes, there are entire websites devoted to asparagus. Go figure …

65 thoughts on “FAMINE OF INSPIRATION AND A FEAST OF A WORKLOAD

  1. I love asparagus… sadly we’ll have to wait six months now for ours to be back in season. Good luck with the coming weeks/months.

  2. Sounds like something I should eat more often. Thing is, the rest of the fam won’t touch it. So it’s just for me. We only have them around June, though, with a short season only. I could buy imported ones but I try to reduce what I buy that comes from abroad. Tinned asparagus? Would that work?

    BTW I didn’t know you could eat that much! That’s a big plate full! 😉

  3. Lulubelle is beautiful!!! Red Nose, I assume?
    Actually, seems all business these days are
    feast or famine. Thanks for making another
    lovely, informative post. My mention to you
    of your absence was about missing your
    post, as I was becoming a little concerned.
    Just can’t recall when I couldn’t go to your
    site and see a fresh, great reading article.
    Those of us not as prolific as you are tend
    to notice…when a friend isn’t them selves.
    God Bless You
    paul

  4. Lovely picture of the dog in bed!

    I need no convincing as far as asparagus goes, but it is out of season here. One of the joys of it is that the season is short…so one has to yearn for it and then be a glutton when it arrives 🙂

  5. I never had asparagus, I’m afraid if I buy I’ll get stuck with them. I don’t even know how far down can be consumed like celery.

  6. I remember when ketchup was allowed to be considered a vegetable in school lunches under the Reagan administration here in the States. I was totally outraged. My daughter was in elementary school at the time. It just seemed so wrong.

  7. Hey Cin, if you like asparagus pop out here in the early spring, I have about 400 hundred plants that i will be harvesting.. talk about smelly pee! but it is one of my top wonder vegetables! c

  8. Hey Cin, if you like asparagus pop out here in the early spring, I have about 400 plants that i will be harvesting.. talk about smelly pee! but it is one of my top wonder vegetables! c

  9. Last year a friend gave us a little pot of asparagus which Pete somehow magically divided into seven plants which are now planted in our driveway. Who knows when or if we’ll ever get any spears, but it’s nice to try! And when we do, I suspect we’ll get…seven spears. 🙂

    Your cold suppers look like a feast, and I agree with the others, do take care of yourself during this hectic time!

  10. O So Good! I love asparagus…raw or slightly steamed.

    I’m sure aware of your fatigue, Cin. I know you only speak lightly about it, but I suspect it is a ‘bit’ more than than a lighthearted comment. I’ll ask that you be given lots of good energy to fill the cracks! 😀

  11. yes, and the lunch program has continued to go downhill as has our health, oy!
    As for asparagus…someone just told me last week that it was an aphrodisiac? Can you confirm, oh wise foodie-one?

  12. Love that pic of Lulubelle! And even your cold food looks delicious. Also, all the best with your workload, Cin…hope it levels off just perfectly for you 🙂

Leave a Reply

