A RATHER GLUM MOJO

I’ve been traumatized by a bombed computer. It died on Friday night and was fixed on Monday night. Over the weekend I realized how much time I spend online. The enforced offline time has caused every cupboard in my house to be tidy, every picture on my walls is hanging dead straight and all my filing is done.

It is uncanny how fast the past week went, last Sunday I was swanning around Stellenbosch with Tandy and Dave drinking the “best Chardonnay in the world” at the highest wine estate in the Helderberg and going on to pass what must be one of the prettiest estates, Hidden Valley, on our way down the mountain pass.

I’m nostalgic forCape Town, more than usual; on Sunday I cooked a lime leaf curried fish casserole using dried lime leaves, for an ingredient challenge I have going with Tandy, it failed to lift my spirits and simply made me miss her more.

On Thursday I baked a cake that failed to impress the client, who said of it “Was not great – wasn’t horrible but we didn’t eat much of it – sorry”.

To confound things and make my blogging mojo take a serious dip, someone has seen fit to tell my husband that I am dissing him on my blog. This is clearly somebody who reads my blog regularly and has read that my husband is not a user of social media and thus doesn’t read my blog. (Is it you, Rose?) I don’t understand the motivation behind such an action and really resent that it has put a dent in something I really enjoy.

Hasta la vista, my friends, let’s see what the morrow brings, for now I am off to have a glass of wine.

92 thoughts on “A RATHER GLUM MOJO

  1. I sometimes think a month away from the keyboard, or at least from the Internet, would be a good thing for me, every year or so. The net is SO blasted compelling, and it never seems to lose its draw. Visiting the Internet is like stepping into a river. It is never the same place twice.

    On the other hand, your posts are always refreshing… and they always make me jealous. ))

  2. Too true that we tend to spend way too much time in cyber space. I am SO aware of this lately and don’t ever want to sit in a cyber closet breathing in computer fumes 24/7. It sure does get one to do other things around the house. LOVE your pics of Stellies and as for the odd human…… ignore. Life is too short to be dragged downwards by other peoples issues. 🙂

  3. Some people are just demons, how can someone do something like that? She is jealous I must tell you.
    We love and enjoy your blog.

  4. I share your experience offline vs. online, but nothing wrong with being online, eh? Nothing wrong with husband preferring not to social network. Horrible about the “friend” thing …I don’t remember that you ever dissed your hubby here.

  5. My computer used for photography has been in the repair shop now for over a week…I bought a new one since I need to get some photo projects done by Thursday…so I ‘feel your pain!’ I find it interesting that someone would make such a comment to your husband…probably someone who is jealous of you..of course there is a lot to be jealous of. 🙂 Have a great day and/or evening my friend.

  6. You’re yet again proof that leaving the online world for what it is is actually a good thing. My shelves could use a good clean, but do I ever have the time? (!)

    I’m sorry things aren’t so good for you at the moment. As regards your husband, I read all your posts and I have noticed you mentioned him a few times but that has left me with nothing but the highest regards for him. So there.

  7. Goodness, the nasty people who decide to cause trouble! Why don’t they go and get a life of their own instead of trying to mess up other people’s lives?

    I must confess a weekend offline would see me curled up with a book and NOT tidying the cupboards.

  8. Love the photos and the curry dish. The cake looks FAB . . . maybe they’re like Granny and not fans of chocolate cake?

    As for the lying squealer . . . OINK! OINK! 😦

  9. I am a regular reader of your blog but for the life of me cannot remember you ever dissing your husband. How rude for somebody to do that! Urgh!
    Bummer about the cake – that one would definitely have knocked my mojo – big time!
    I will enjoy a glass of wine on your behalf this evening – just to help lift your mojo.
    Have a happy evening.
    🙂 Mandy xo

  10. Lucky you, Cin! My memory just came out of the EverSharp factory, I recall you one foul habit your husband apparently possesses. HE EATS. Shame on you for disclosing such personal content!

  11. Argh! The sick computer syndrome! Our old one is currently on the test bench(I think its troubles may be terminal) so we’re both using my laptop.

    Occasional kitchen “misses” sharpen the reserve.

    Pusilanimous people who tell tales are best ignored, if that’s possible.
    Certainly, you have many cyber friends who still enjoy this blog. A long, cool Chardonnay will surely help.

  12. Oh poop. That’s all very annoying for you, Cindy, I’m sorry. Hope you figure out who the dobber was too, that wasn’t a very nice thing to do at all, especially since it’s not true – I’ve been reading your blog for a while now, and I’ve not read a negative thing about your husband!

  13. In the time that I have been reading your blog, you have not written a single bad word about your hubby, Cin – quite the opposite, in fact. A self-imposed break from blogging is healthy and more than a little liberating – enjoy some sunshine as Spring erupts, and as for your clients – Let them not eat cake! (as Marie Antoinette once never said)

    PS – Those lovely photos make me a bit nostalgic for Cape Town, too

  14. Agge nee! Such a high and now such a low… 😦 Hopefully – after a while – he will stop reading (in case he started reading) and life will be merrily on its way – let’s hope 😉 Hopefully he will find how you describe him as a delicious curry, a stew or a chocolate cake to die for, and maybe he’ll even have a few more glasses of wine 😀 Let’s hope, shall we? 😉

  15. It’s terrible being kept from the thing that you love so much. That for you is sharing life, and love. Whether in the pallet pleasing culinary delights, as I am absolutely certain the Lime Fish plate was, or the beautiful moments of time captured on photograph during one of your trips abroad, you always bring warmth and shimmering light into my life. As far as the cake, well, not everyone has a sagacious pallet…I think maybe you should have had “Bazooka Man” jump out of THEIR cake….Locked and loaded…
    With a Pudding Launcher ..
    God Bless You
    paul
    Please keep the wonderful post of your beautiful life freshly pressed…They lift me, and obviously so many others. Thanks for the many gifts.

  16. I know a lot of us would certainly enjoy the heck out of that cake! I have only ever heard you say good things about your hubby as one should. So enjoy your wine and relax. As Nancy would say, smile it will make you feel better even if you don’t feel like it. Go on now, try it. 🙂 Hugs to you.

  17. Sounds like you deserve it! I read this blog all the time and haven’t heard so much as a whisper of a ‘diss’ about your husband – I wonder what’s up with that? And maybe the client just isn’t a ‘chocolate cake’ person (or freak as I like to say ha ha). Hope your mojo returns soon …

  18. hey Cindy my name’s Rosie but I promise I didn’t rat on you, because (a) I don’t know your hubby and (b) because you’ve never “dissed” him in your blog. Good lord that’s very creepy.

  19. Isn’t the world full of the most ugly people (no class and obviously don’t read your blog either – dissing, what next!) You have been greatly missed this weekend but I’m glad you had a productive break 🙂 A loving bottle of Hartenburg Cab Sav/Shiraz (just discovered it – SO good) from a sunny Durban straight to you <}

  20. Hello OC – I am not happy that you are down and am actually quite pissed off on your behalf that someone would deem to think they can discuss YOUR blog with YOUR husband!! Only YOU have the right to do that – what is wrong with people?????????

    Big hugs xxx

  21. Sounds like you need a break from blogging. I had a similar ‘blip’ in June when someone said something about something I wrote etc etc and it really made me feel mouldy so I totally sympathise – I took about three months at half mast but am feeling better now. Computers breaking is always horrible – ruins that week at least. Your client is clearly undiscerning.

    You’ll be missed though if you don’t blog! 🙂

  22. I love most cakes but you do get people who say “I don’t like chocolate cake” or “I don’t like cream”. If it is sweet, sticky and yummy I’ll have it and I think the cake looks YUMMY!

  23. Pingback: AJMO A-GO-GO « The only Cin

  24. Pingback: SUNBURNED EYEBALLS, HOT BIRDS AND A CANINE BEDFELLOW « The only Cin

Leave a Reply

