SEPTEMBER IN MY KITCHEN

September is obedient; she has arrived bringing Spring in her basket. I am overjoyed; yesterday I was in my winter woolies and this morning I am ready to take my walk to the greengrocer in a Tshirt and sandals.

Welcome, dear September, for Celiaโ€™s monthly peek into my kitchen:

Kitchen corner of the month: Framed antique spoons, my Sabrage sword, my French bread boards, my Indonesian clown miniature spice cupboard and my basket of wine magazines.

A beautiful tin of vanilla sugar; a gift from Tandy and a precious addition to my collection of tins.

I bought this antique steam iron from Mama Africa in Greenside and use it to store antique cutlery, most of which were gifts from Sous Chef.

Produce purchased on Sunday at Mooiberge Farm stall outside Stellenbosch: Juniper berries, Goji berries, dried peaches and dried cranberries.

I have already used the dried peaches in a dish of braised, peppered short ribs and capers, with the Goji berries in couscous.

Charlotte in the kitchen keeping an eye on proceedings.

72 thoughts on “SEPTEMBER IN MY KITCHEN

  1. Am I right to think the red handle on the antique iron influenced your decision to purchase? Hehe! Morning Cin, I am starting today @ my new employ.

  2. Isn’t the weather divine, Cindy? Oh what a beautiful morning… Just be prepared for winter to rear its ugly head another once or twice before taking off ’til next year. ๐Ÿ˜€

  3. Those ribs sound amazing.

    I’m guessing that as she has a name, Charlotte is not destined to be served flambed in cognac and finished off with thyme, mustard and cream? ๐Ÿ™‚

  4. Cindy, you have a sabrage sword? How cool are you!! Have you ever used it on a champagne bottle? I can’t be trusted with a mandoline, so I have no chance with a saber!

    Lovely new tin, and even more lovely and healthy looking rabbit! Thanks for the linky and joining in the fun! ๐Ÿ™‚

  5. Charlottes a cutie and I adore the steam tin, it’s gorgeous. Great post. Looks like you’ve got a wicked little set up. Sure makes cooking fun when we have fabulous goodies in the kitchen to work with. ๐Ÿ™‚

  6. I have juniper bushes lining the lip of my little hill and have never thought of using the berries. I’ll have to see what veggie dishes would be enhanced by their flavour. Wonder if the fermented berries are the ones the birds eat into drunken disorderliness. They splat into my windows. *Dancing with joy that Charlotte is spared!*

  7. We are moving into fall as you move into summer, though here California’s San Francisco Bay area there are no real dramatic changes in weather … I love a fall kitchen, but I do love the summer shopping at fram stalls and farmer’s markets.

    Wonderful photographs, Cindy. I love the tin, and the iron brings back memories ….

  8. I especially love the tin from Tandy. And Charlotte is beautiful – I’m a little surprised, though, that you haven’t got her wearing a red ribbon or something? ๐Ÿ™‚ Happy spring!

  9. Wish I could say the same for Spring here, Cin – she tantalized us yesterday with a steamy sunny day and then reverted straight back to a miserable old curmudgeon today ๐Ÿ˜ฆ looking forward to your Spring recipes ๐Ÿ™‚

  10. Love your September sparks, Cindy… the pretty tin box (also a passion of mine), good idea for the steam iron! do you also use the cranberries in muesli ? As for Charlotte… what a sweet “aide de cuisine” ๐Ÿ˜‰ Lovely Sun day, Cin, sorry for my silence these days, have been away a lot.

  11. Here’s a photo of my iron.

    Shall I put knives and forks into it?
    Our dishwasher’s cutlery holder was broken, so I went to the appliance shop to replace it, apparently it’s called a silverware basket.

    One can use plastic silverware for camping ๐Ÿ˜‰

    Have a great weekend!

  12. Pingback: Peek into… | Tokeloshe

Leave a Reply

