THE DOYENNE IS GONE

Scrapbooking note …

In June of 2002 I threw a little party on a boat in Simon’s Town harbour. Gwen Gill, society columnist of the Sunday Times came along and wrote “There’s something seriously sexy about beautiful food and great wine served on board an exquisitely decorated ship with the misty lights of Simon’s Town as a backdrop. You don’t often get anything as romantic as that in the GG column (let’s face it Gallagher Estate can’t compare). So let’s skip lightly over the fact that almost all the gorgeous guys, in black and white almost to a man, were either gay or married, and concentrate on the glamour, which began with perhaps the most stunning invitation (with a black and white Titanic theme) I’ve seen this year.” Ms Gill devotes her entire July 14 column to my party.

On December 29 of that year, Ms Gill does her round up of the year’s top 10 events and my do clocks in at no 7. It was one of the proudest moments of my life.

Seemingly indestructible, this grande dame of social commentary died last night. It’s the end of an era.

Rest gently, Ma’am. You leave a gap.

Picture source unknown

69 thoughts on “THE DOYENNE IS GONE

  1. Way to go, Cindy – your party sounds spectacular! So sorry to hear of Gwen Gill’s passing, but so glad she gave you credit when she could, xo

  2. I used to enjoy her column in those days and when things changed I kinda dropped it for Sunday world. She did a good job though I don’t know what she was doing now lately.

  3. A huge gap – she was a formidable woman for whom I had the greatest respect – even though I never had the pleasure of meeting her (did sit at the table next to her once at a coffee shop in Bedford Centre!).
    I loved her column and if she had good things to say about you – you had it made!! Yeehaa Cindy!

  4. She spared no-one in her columns so getting praise was ‘high praise’ indeed.
    Methinks there is a gap in the market to take up the baton.
    RIP Gwen.

  5. I’m truly sorry to hear about this, Cin.
    Although it was a monumental time,
    and rightly so, I feel there is a time,
    and event coming in your life much
    greater. I hope you are feeling okay,
    I sort of gathered from a few comments
    that you may be ill, Sorry if so, and I
    am still praying for you. God Bless You
    paul

Leave a Reply

