OH CRUMS

1853 The month and day are uncertain, but the year is correct. Native American Chef George Crum invented potato chips at Moon’sLakeHouse inSaratoga Springs,New York. (foodreference.com) I’ll be thinking a lot about Mister Crum given my good doctor’s instruction that I am to put on at least 5kgs before I see him in a month’s time. I’ve had a battery of tests and am awaiting the results, but your man mentioned an overactive thyroid or diabetes, neither of which sound particularly attractive.

Thanks to all who commented on my recent posts and for the email messages, I’ve been a tad off colour and am placing great hopes of the restorative properties of the ocean when I go toCape Townthis weekend.

A South African stew, referred to in Afrikaans as ‘tamatiebredie’, normally made with mutton, is cooked for a very long time, and its seasonings include cinnamon, cardamom, ginger and cloves as well as chilli. It is of Dutch origin. “Bredie” is the Afrikaans word for “stew”. Bredie is actually a word of Malayasian origin. This form of cooking was first introduced to theCape by Malays, usually slaves, who were brought to the colony. The word bredie refers to oriental spinach. In tomato bredie tomato is obviously used instead. Pumpkin, green beans and waterblommetjies (Cape water lily flowers) are also used. (wikipedia)

Now, what shall I have for pudding?

70 thoughts on “OH CRUMS

  1. hope you get better, Cindy; on the bright side you’re lucky in the way that you have to PUT ON 5 kgs while many of us have to TAKE IT OFF 🙂

  2. You need to slow down dear one and smell the roses a bit too – you have been very very busy this year!
    You could do with a little bit of extra cover!! Enjoy your Cape visit!

  3. I am sure a trip home will do wonders to getting you on the track to feeling better and hopefully the 5 needed kilos. Feel better and yay, just 2 more sleeps until the weekend.
    Safe travels.
    🙂 Mandy

  4. Cin, you remember I told you about the interview in JHB? Well, I got the job. I am accepting the offer tomorrow cos they let me know a while ago. Its a perm with benefits. I was getting tired of my current temp. God is so faithful. I am over the moon. 🙂

  5. Some good substantive meals like the one you just posted about sounds exactly like the thing you need to ‘fatten’ yourself up. Perhaps add some hearty homemade bread slathered in butter? Enjoy your trip to Cape Town.

  6. Hope you get the ocean restoration you hope for…hear in Virginia Beach, I’m afraid with Irene headed our way we’re more concerned with the destructive properties the ocean is also capable of creating. However, you and I will both be drinking Merlot while nature does its thing.

  7. Sorry to hear you’re not well. I’m not surprised you’re losing weight because from this end it seems to me that you’re trying to do what five normal women would do, so I’m very glad to hear you’re going to CT for your holiday. If you just rest and look at the beautiful views – oh god its so beautiful there look once or twice for me – eat meals like this very tasty sounding bredie I’m sure you’ll gain weight.

  8. If it’s overactive thyroid I expect you’ll find putting on 5kg next to impossible, no matter what (or how much) you eat. At least, it was like that for me. Enjoy your weekend at the sea, and do take care of yourself – pamper yourself, please. 🙂

    That stew looks wonderful…

  9. Have a wonderful time in Cape Town, Cindy!
    Lovely stew! and I would definitely go for double chocolate pudding with some berries afterward 🙂

  10. Yum – I love the seasonings of the Malay dishes. In fact, I brought some home from CT – already all mixed together. I forgot about that little stash of goodies. I could have used it when I made my Quinoa casserole with Camembert, bananas and pesto genovese. I sprinkled the top with honey and cinnamon before putting it in the oven and could have added that little mystery package given to me when I helped cook a Malay meal in CT.

    One step at a time, Cin. One breath at a time. It’s all manageable – whatever you have to do. Amidst all your busyness, you have that tiny inner spot from which you gather strength and resilience. Trust that inner wisdom and do what will give you the most peace. (Enough lecturing…I know!)

    If all else fails, come to Western Canada. The Pacific Ocean may not touch the sands of your heart, but it sprays messages on all our souls.

  11. I would happily send the 5 kgs. from my mid-section to yours! 😛

    Feel better. Have fun in Cape Town. Maybe some pizza with Granny will moves the scales in the right direction.

  12. So sorry to hear you haven’t been feeling well, Cindy. I’m sure that ocean air will do wonders for you. We’ll be in CT too to celebrate my Mom’s 70th 🙂 All the best for a swift recovery…and your tamatie bredie looks sublime! It’s one of my all-time favourites, probably because of growing up around Cape Town.

  13. Hi Cindy,I am so sorry to hear that you are not well? I hope they will be able to find the cause soon!

    The food looks great!!

  14. Your stew looks like it is a good stick to the ribs kind of meal for winter time. As a lover of stews I will have to give your South African version a try.
    I hope all goes well with your health. Having had some concerns over mine myself lately only I need to lose some not gain…too bad we can’t trade! 😉

  15. Boo…now what is this, your hair? Actually, I decided a long time ago, if I ever lost my hair because of chemo or disease, I’d shave it and fashion headscarfs (see movie, HappyThankYouMorePlease, pictures, gal rocks a head scarf!)

    Not making light of it, though, Cindy. You amaze me at your go-go-go and so little sleep. Please take care, journal, breathe, yoga more and dig out your poetic pen to deal with what is stirring within, okay?

    As for your sweet serendipity? That always tells me, my friend, that I AM on the right page/path in life. Hell may be lurking around, but your are being blessed as well. AUM Shanti ~ angela

  16. Sorry to hear you’ve not been feeling well, Cin, hope you feel better soon. Would that my doctor would tell me to put on 5 kg in a month. Here I have been depriving myself to lose weight, sigh (I have a slow thyroid).

    I see you have also discovered Barefoot wine – yummy! 🙂

Leave a Reply

