BALD HEADS AND HAIRY KIDLEYS

Early Saturday morning, I’m trying to tie together two posts about hair: one about how I am coping with my bald head and one about the Hairy Bikers inspiring me to cook devilled kidneys (which I called kidleys as a child). I’m stuck, so I put the post on hold and go to Facebook. My friend Elmarie’s status update says she’s thinking of cutting her hair very short. OK, coincidence. I move along to reading blogs; Kate Shrewsday is guest blogger on Paula Calhoun’s blog, she’s talking hairs and worms. More coincidence. I decide to listen to some music and go to YouTube and stumble onto an old favourite: the famous laughing version of Are You Lonesome Tonight. And then my child walks into my studio in her pyjamas, holding her Elvis mug and asking for a cup of cocoa. I am officially freaked out …if I had hair it would be standing on end …

Elvis, occasionally during live performances, would randomly change lyrics to give them humorous connotations. One popular instance was recorded at the International Hotel in Vegas on August 26, 1969. During the performance, instead of singing: “Do you gaze at your doorstep and picture me there”, he sings “Do you gaze at your bald head and wish you had hair“. Moments later, he saw a bald man in the audience (as legend has it), and burst into laughter which continued into the next lines. The audience was treated to additional laughter during the spoken verse singing: “You know someone said that the world’s a stage, and each must play a part.” Seeing the irony of his own lyrics, Elvis was again overtaken by laughter and barely recovered. The audience enjoyed the sincerity of the moment while Elvis regained his composure. Meanwhile the band and backup singers continued to keep the song going. It is speculated that much of Elvis’ mirth derived from the solo backing singer whose falsetto remained resolute throughout. To this, Elvis comes back just in time for the line: “And I had no cause to doubt you” followed by more laughter. So overtaken, Elvis encourages the backup singer to “sing it, baby” drawing even more laughter which nearly brings the house down. (Wikipedia)

I grew up thinking I would marry Elvis. He had such an important place in our lives: I was born on my father’s 21st birthday, the 8th of January; which was also Elvis’s birthday. Interestingly enough, without knowing this and without prompting, Original Bunn has a near-obsession with the late star and collects all manner of Elvis-branded things.

Devilled kidneys, recipe here.

 

64 thoughts on “BALD HEADS AND HAIRY KIDLEYS

  1. Studies have demonstrated that shaving one’s head eliminates billions of atoms in hair getting in the way of connectivity to the source.

    The result: increased synchronicity. 😯

    Unless you eat too many deviled kidleys. Bwahahaha! 😆

  2. It’s quite therapeutic, listening to that spontaneous laughter bubbling up in the soundtrack. I love that your daughter collects Elvis. A septuagenarian of my acquaintance told me yesterday that she had, for the first time, heard Elvis sing when the CBC aired two of his songs on this most recent anniversary of his death. I find that incredibly hard to believe… 🙂

  3. Hello Cindy — it’s good to be back and good to read your wonderful posts again — always interesting.
    The connections you encountered are, indeed, eerie!
    Amazing the fascination our young people have with artists and stars from “our day”. My daughter-in-law is totally taken with Jim Morrison and The Doors.
    Hope you have a fabulous weekend!

  4. I adore Elvis. I was due to meet a friend last week for coffee and I was running late, because I had a little Elvis moment and couldn’t leave before the song(s) were finished. But one of the builders accidentally smashed my Elvis cup, and I am bereft – it was a special one where he was in his shiny white suit adopting a pose made famous years later by the Muppet, Gonzo the Great. 🙂

    Thanks Cindy, fun read! 🙂

  5. I too am a great Elvis fan. I didn’t know that about him. A fascinating post. It is good your daughter is into Elvis. He was a remarkable person.Sadly I never saw him perform live as he never left the US. I still lament his death. His songs brought me such joy. He was the soundtrack of my youth

  6. Elvis was there for me and he wasn’t…I remember loving watching all the happy ending movies with Elvis, and some how wishing of Hawaiian shirts and holidays. I was entrigued by your post from start to finish. Life is so full of coincidences isn’t it! x

  7. I wish fame hadn’t changed him and ruined him. I like the way he seemed in his younger days. ooooo he was handsome. I am thinking you probably look great bald.

  8. Great post, Cin 😀 One whole heap of uncanny coinicidence…and a delicious-looking heap of kidneys, despite the fact that I don’t eat them at all!

  9. Elvis you can keep dear Cin!
    Kidneys on toast – I will share with you any day!!
    I still keenly await a pic of your beautiful head!
    xx

  10. I love when everything seems to connect like this. Thanks for the Elvis lesson – I remember watching him on TV as a kid and thinking how wonderful he was (kids don’t miss a beat). Original Bunn is so cute – I used to have a thing for Jerry Lewis as a little girl!

Leave a Reply

