THE STONEMAIDEN’s CHALLENGE

I’ve been tagged in this challenge by The Stonemaiden Diairies:

“Do you have a favourite pair of jeans, scuffed hiking boots, a jersey or ‘magic cape’; a favourite blanket without which you cannot veg out on the sofa in front of the TV? Share with us your favourite comfort-clothing piece, crocheted blankie, winter hat or scuffed boots.”

There was also a bit about showing camping photos, but the only camping I do is with my gay friends, who are camp as a row of tents …and on those occasions I am likely to walk from my car to the restaurant in one of my many pairs of red shoes, have a wonderful lunch and a laugh and then return to nap on my couch my beloved red fake fur blanket.

Old Spouse, on the other hand, loves nothing more than climbing mountains. When we were still in the budding stages of our romance, he presented me with a pair of hiking boots and it was arranged that we would Go Hiking the following weekend. He made me walk 20kms, up a mountain and down the other side. I got blisters that took three months to heal and the boots were relegated to a crate in our garage. If you look closely, you will the sea-salt build-up on the leather, from when they were in storage in our Cape Town house.

Another time, he conned me into thinking we were going on a picnic in the botanical gardens and made me walk to the top of Table Mountain … in ballet pumps.
I do have a favourite winter hat, my ears get cold when we go to the mountains, and I like to sit outside and watch his progress as he returns up the hill.

I’m not tagging anyone specific, but would love to see what you make of the challenge.
And, apropos of all outdoor pursuits, the foodreference.com trivia for today: 1593 Isaak Walton was born. He is mainly known for ‘The Compleat Angler, or, the Contemplative Man’s Recreation,’ which is one of the most frequently published books in English literature. It is a literary discourse on the pleasures of fishing.

47 thoughts on “THE STONEMAIDEN’s CHALLENGE

  1. I’m not sure how to add a picture to your blog…okay I can’t – but I think I have a FB profile picture of my favorite big oversize fleecy type jacket. It needs to be dyed – even a good dollop of bleach doesn’t bring the cuffs around to looking laundered. It comforts and warms whether I’m reading, working on the computer or sitting up in bed doing Sudokus. I do not wear it out in public. I live in fear that I will not have found a replacement when the day comes that I have to let it go!

  2. it’s a greast topic for a blog, Cindy and one I haven’t seen before; my favourite comfort clothing was a pair of olsd slippers that I finally threw away under my son’s encour\agement; and I agree from doing some serious hiking in the Vienna Woods climbing up mountains is not much fun 🙂

  3. I loooove the red shoes and the blanket!! O my goodness, in Ballet pumps,nogals!? 🙂

    I hope you are having a wonderful Woman’s day!

  4. I think you have fabulous taste even if you don’t like to hike! Maybe he should have bought you red boots! And I don’t like being tricked either…must be a man thing that they tell us the walk is much shorter than it actually is!!!

  5. I’m with Nancy. I’ve hit the age where I will not allow my feet to hurt even for a minute but the red shoes are lovely and if I could, I’d definitely wear them. I love the outdoors but don’t like the way my hips feel when sleeping on the ground.

  6. Beautiful shoes, Cin…and dem boots was definitely made for walking! We’re with OS on that; ditto camping – on condition of being seriously jacked, survivalist-style 😀

  7. I have a favorite pair of jeans (on me at the moment) that it takes an army to peel off me to wash because they are so comfortable. They are my “security” jeans. Amd yes, I do wear them outside.

  8. I love dressing gowns. I have cotton, silk/satin, soft- thick and thin polar fleece-like types/kinds. Every time I get home I slip into one. And I get a smell of freshly bathed because I wear them after my beloved soaking. Can I add that I indulge in a variety of bath salts and shampoos!AND moisturising creams.
    Pretty shoes you have! Which shoe shop can you reccomend for summer shoes? I went out looking today and I couldn’t find what I liked. My winter boots and shoes I always get @ hush puppies and san marino @ Cresta and now I want to change my look. Woolies pumps always show where the toes begin as if they are not the right size 😦

    • Sounds like you pamper yourself properly 😉
      I buy most of my clothes from Truworths, they’re the only store who stock jeans small enough for me, otherwise I’d have to shop at kiddy stores. And then I get accent pieces from places like Nicci or big Blue. Zoom has nice shoes, but you are younger so you may think them a bit fuddy duddy. Nine West also sometimes have good ones.

  9. Love this post, Cin – and that gorgeous hat – I used to love hats, impossibly stilletoed shoes and vintage clothing when I was young but these days, I’m more of a jeans and T-shirt kind of gal

  10. Stringless cheap sneakers that I have worn all summer. I am on my second pair. Someone told me that they look like what prisoners get to wear. Oh well. I love them.

  11. Love the shoes! I’m attached to my sleeping mask. It’s sounds weird but it’s hard to find a good one that’s not too tight, too loose or feels nice against my face – mine is everything to me! It gives me my Sunday sleep-in.

  12. Pingback: Join the 7 Links Challenge « Spirit Lights The Way

Leave a Reply

