SNEAK A ZUCCHINI

I baked a cake this morning and set it on my kitchen counter to cool while I attended to some errands and admin chores. The cake was meant to be dessert for Tandy’s visit to me tomorrow evening. I just walked into my kitchen to set to icing the cake … seems my child thought it was for her …


It’s a funny kind of day today, tomorrow is a public holiday, so many people have taken the day off. I’m torn between indulging in sloth and my Calvinist work ethic. Perhaps a good compromise is to spend some time in the garden. I’ve yet to plant the cress seeds Sous Chef brought me from the UK.


O Bunn is in rehearsals for Concours de Ballet, so I’ll be up and down ferrying her for most of the afternoon. And, as a reward, there’s a special little leftover treat for me come sundown.


Oh, and today’s foodreference trivia is fascinating: “Sneak Some Zucchini on Your Neighbor’s Porch Night”. Enjoy and don’t get caught!

50 thoughts on “SNEAK A ZUCCHINI

  1. Such a pity of the cake! Well, it was happily eaten, I’m sure. Just not by the right people!

    Hope you have a nice day today – gardening sounds like a nice relaxing idea.

  2. Some folks around here bake zucchini cake and it looks just like the one that caught O Bunn’s eye! Funny – the poor ol’ zucchini is given away no matter where it grows. There’s a lesson in here – play a little “hard to get”,Zuccie!

  3. does one sneak a zocchini onto or off the porch?

    they are so wonderfully versatile, flowers and fruit for eating, and apparently they grow easily, so why not

    i have also had zucchini bread and muffins and they were delicious

    • Well, from the comments here and on previous post, it seems that this veg is so prolific in the States that people can’t give them away, hence sneaking them onto people’s porches.

  4. LOL! Sorry about the cake, Cindy, but bet it was enjoyed, along with Tandy’s visit! Those cress seeds remind me of what we planted in our koi pond…O!M!G! we could’ve harvested TONS of it, so I hope yours is more contained 🙂

  5. Pingback: Of Cemeteries and Samurai « Kate Shrewsday

Leave a Reply

