CARDBOARD CAPERS

Along with many of my friends, I subscribe to the online version of a local foodie magazine. I was most puzzled on Wednesday when the email alert arrived to notify readers that the latest issue was published. I stared long and hard at the featured photograph. Eventually I asked my friends on Facebook if they also saw a stray piece of cardboard in the pic:

We were all in the dark and I agreed to write an enquiry to the editor:
Hi xxx
A group of us were wondering about the photo in the latest emailer / online version of the mag. Is that a piece of cardboard between the tarts in the attached pic?
Please set our curiosity at ease.
Many thanks, Cindy
I got this reply:
Dear Cindy
Thanks for your mail and I dread to think what you guys thought it was! To clarify things, I attach the original image. Looks like cardboard to me….


Have a fab day,
Xxx
Well, this caused a day of much hilarity, my friend Sous Chef commented: “Okey dokey then! Obviously cardboard is the latest prop for food styling *eyes the shoe boxes in her wardrobe*”
To which I replied:

Her riposte came quick and fast:

And I volleyed with:

The comments from our other friends were outrageously funny and several of us had to run to the bathroom just in time. Eventually Sous Chef proposed a challenge:
“I’m thinking, a friendly competition, we all do devilled eggs, link to each others post and get our readers to vote for the one they like best. We can tell the Woolies story and how this all came about?”
The deadline for posting the challenge is Monday; I am doing mine today so that all the foodies who weren’t in on the banter can participate too: all you have to do is make a ‘zeff’ (kitsch) 70s style cocktail snack and photograph it using cardboard as a prop. Post it on your blog and we’ll do a summary of entries towards the middle of next week.
Mine was inspired by the architecture I’ve seen in Sandton recently:


I think my colour scheme – ‘Joy of Spring’ – was very creative; I dyed my mustard blue and green, to symbolise the sea and the sun.


The pink of the polony and the red of the onions represent blossoms and the prune garnish in the cocktail glass represents the reliable regularity of the seasons.


I feel that my finest moment in this challenge was coming up with a new take on boerewors and chips, a little meal on a stick!
All this also fits perfectly in with Side View’s weekend theme.

82 thoughts on “CARDBOARD CAPERS

  1. Hehe! When I 1st saw the cardboard I immediately it was to set them apart but the use of cardboard is an unexpected item to be used and rather distasteful unless the aim was to make it homely and ordinary. Have a lovely weekend

  2. Lol! Cheesecurls and polony. ( B.T.W did you know that you dont get polony in the UK at all?, horrible vile stuff anyway.)
    Love the eggs with the blue mustard, funky….(teeheeheehee)
    I remember going to a wedding in the 70’s ( I must have been about 5-6 years old) and EVERYTHING was made into little animal shapes…cucumber hedgehogs, and egg-swans etc. The little thank you gifts was crocheted swans(mustardy yellow in color with little red eyes) filled with sugared almonds.

  3. BWAHAHAHAHAAAAA!!! I have to tell you, yet again my beautiful little friend, that I love you desperately. You girls make my life so very pleasant. This is an awesome post and I now understand the story fully at last….having missed a bit of it and my fb news feed moves so very fast that if I am in the kitchen or busy with the grandboys for a while I miss so much. Oh to be torn between those I love and facebook LOL!!! MWAH! And unless others come up with very grandiose ideas this could just be a winning entry 🙂 xxx

  4. “Inspired by architecture” Jeeze! Cindy! I drove by an Adults’ Boudoir store today and saw pretty much the same window display.
    creeps away to see exactly *what* is in the fridge…

  5. You had me in stitches this morning!! I love this post! Great idea to make it into a challenge! Have a great weekend xxx

  6. Oh, Cin! I am ON IT!!! What a riot! I must admit that I, too, was floored by the magazine’s incredible lack of foodie “sophistication.” First of all, those tarts might have and probably did and do taste yummy, but never in a million years, would I have posted a photo of any of them – they looks so sloppy!! Ws that an effort to “be real,” or just a new tred – foodie grunge. . .? (Also, they couldn’t get the wrinkles out of the paper they are set on??)

    Anyway, I’m on it. (Goes off to grab cardboard and camera and find some food that didn’t come in cardboard in the first place. . .)

  7. How FUN! I declare you the undisputed queen of cardboard props and food styling! 😀
    I can imagine that readers all had to run for the loo!

    Hand me a Cheetoh. 😉

  8. I’m not feeling particularly inspired to write or do any of the catch up reading I’ve missed the last couple of weeks, but I knew if I came here you’d entertain me, so I’d feel better. And you did and I do. Thank you Cin.

  9. Pingback: The Cardboard Made Me Do It « browniegirl

  10. Ok, so TASTE magazine has always been a bit out there when it comes to food styling – great to see this trend grow 🙂 . We are guilty as charged, and the pic was cropped without a thought to what it looked like to those with super sharp eyes. Love it!

Leave a Reply

