BOUNTY, WITHOUT MUTINY

Disclaimer: I have not been paid to write this post.

“I got up one Christmas morning and we didn’t have nothing to eat. We didn’t have an apple, we didn’t have an orange, we didn’t have a cake, we didn’t have nothing.” Muddy Waters.  Now ain’t that the saddest thing you ever did read? Poor Mister Waters, how in heaven he’d be in my kitchen at the moment. Those generous folk at ClemenGold surprised me yesterday, with 16 kilograms of their glorious fruit.
Suffice to say I am in my element, experimenting like mad with cooking and preserving using these gems. (I have to keep a beady eye on Charlotte, who loves them as much as I do!)

I’m also keeping my eye on the progress of the ClemenGold liqueur I started last month, it should be ready for tasting next Tuesday when I see my beloved friend Tandy again.

I made some of Tandy’s candied ClemenGolds and was very pleased to discover that they can be pressed into shapes before they harden.

They’re great for garnishing cakes, I made this one (found at cafefernando.com) and it was gobbled up in 15 minutes, my MIL has pronounced it her favourite cake ever:

Ingredients

  • 2 cups all purpose flour
  • 1+1/2 tsp baking powder
  • Pinch of salt
  • 1 cup granulated sugar
  • 2/3 cup extra-virgin olive oil
  • 2 tbsp zest of 2 ClemenGolds
  • 3 large eggs
  • 1 cup juice of 2 ClemenGolds

(Can you imagine how hard it was to resist drinking this?)

Method

  1. Preheat oven to 375 degrees F (180 degrees C). Grease and flour one 12 x 4 inch loaf pan. (I used a springform tin.)
  2. Sift together the flour, baking powder and salt into a large bowl.
  3. In a mixing bowl, combine sugar and ClemenGold zest and rub together to extract the fragrant oil from the zest.
  4. Add olive oil and mix on high speed until completely combined (preferably with the whisk attachment).
  5. Beat in the eggs, one at a time, beating well after each addition.
  6. Add 1/3 of the flour mixture and mix on slow speed.
  7. Add half of the ClemenGold juice and continue mixing.
  8. Add another 1/3 of the flour mixture, followed by the rest of the ClemenGold juice and the remaining flour mixture and beat until combined between each addition.
  9. Pour batter into the prepared pan.
  10. Bake for 50 minutes or until a toothpick inserted in the center comes out clean.
  11. Remove the cake from the oven, wait 10 minutes for it to cool down and then remove from the pan.
  12. Garnish with candied ClemenGold.

I’m off to make a ClemenGold and prawn salad now, I just may be a dress size larger when you see me next …

54 thoughts on “BOUNTY, WITHOUT MUTINY

  1. I just LOVE ClemenGolds…but confess I only have thought to eat them au natural …them not me.
    Lucky you…keep us posted on more yummy recipes.
    ☮ ♥. Siggi in Downeast Maine

  2. I could eat 16 kilos of those oranges quite easily, Cin. I’m thrilled that I have exactly the same juice presser as you. That surely qualifies me to at least sit in your kitchen!

  3. I bought them clemengolds lastweek and I am going for more tomorrow. So much better than Naartjies because there is no chance of a sour one. I am impressed! What is the white stuff at the bottom of your liquer(sp)?

  4. I also love ClemenGolds..have you tried using the skin to do citrus twirls, also a great decorated..much like the candied lemons used for my “tarts with zing”…x

  5. Would kill for some of the ClemenGold liqueur, Cin, and am definitely going to try the cake recipe if I can get hold of the fruit locally – thanks

  6. OK, here’s the deal: SEND ME SOME OF YOUR LIQUEUR!!!! I will pay all postage and even a “handling” fee! Send it air express. I don’t care how much it costs, just do it. NOW!!! (Or whenever it’s ready!). My favorite liqueur has forever been cointreau. . .Now it will be Clemcointreau! Please????

    Oh, the cake looks good, too. and the candied clementines. . .recipe for that please?

    • I just realized that the recipe for the candied clems is on Tandy’s site. I went over and got it. You got my mouth watering for clems so much, I had to go out and get some – so I did (they are from SA by the way!) – and I can’t wait to start the recipes! We usually have clems here at Christmas time, so now was a great time to find them – and they weren’t over the top expensive (US$4.68 for a 3-pound bag). I think I would have paid twice that – so you have cost me some money, girl! 😆

      • Sorry about the money 🙂
        I just made the liqueur recipe up: I used a 750ml bottle of vodka, two ClemenGolds studded with coffee beans, a few cloves and a cup and a half of sugar. It’s been standing for almost a month now, we tasted it last week and it has a good syruppy consistency, but – in hindsight – I could have used three Clems and macerated them a bit. We live and learn. Will keep you posted 🙂

      • I’m going to make some…except I will lave out the coffee beans, and stick with the cloves. I’ll use 3 or four (macerated – at your suggestion) clems, and maybe a little less sugar. Don’t think I want it syrupy or not, but by golly, what n excellet screwdriver it will make, or better yet, a stand-alone after dinner liqueur! I’ll let you know how mine comes out. What do you think of maybe adding a cinnamon stick and/or cardamom seed?

Leave a Reply

