AUGUST IN MY KITCHEN AND BABOTIE

July was such a busy month in my kitchen and I don’t have all that much to show for the start of August for Celia’s peek into my kitchen. These tins were part of my Christmas gift from my husband; I unwrapped them and put them on the lounge coffee table, where they have stayed since. It is time to utilise them in the kitchen now.

Perhaps I will use the larger one to store these dried lime leaves I bought during last week.

I found these wasabi peanuts at Eastern Temptations last week, a happy reminder ofΒ  My Pal Sal and I’s travels in Hong Kong.

I am exploring rices of the world at the moment and was quite intrigued to find ‘Bonnet’ rice. Apparently it is the generic household rice in the USA?

Supper last night was Babotie; probably our national dish. A curried mince covered in an egg custard and traditionally eaten with yellow rice studded with raisins, known as ‘wedding rice’. Recipe can be found here.

67 thoughts on “AUGUST IN MY KITCHEN AND BABOTIE

  1. I agree that presents like that need time to find their proper place! Babotie (never heard of it before) looks good. I can only get frozen lime leaves.

    • It is interesting hey Sparky? I had to submit a recipe to a magazine a while back and they rejected in because I used that word. seems it’s OK in other countries, but not here ;p

  2. Ek is absoluut dol oor die skinkbord langs die stoof!!! Wat het jy alles op die skinkbord? En daardie blikkies is stunning!!! Dankie vir jou daaglikse blog, dit maak mens se dag sommer vol sonskyn.

  3. Sadly Pete does not enjoy babotie – another boarding school thing I think. If I lived closer, I might have asked myself around for some leftovers for lunch. Rude hey, but it would be worth it. I see many more trips to Eastern Temptations in your future.
    πŸ™‚ Mandy

  4. Do you know, I never ate Babotie once in 14 years in SA? I had the opportunity but I didn’t like the look of it! I regret that now.

    The photo of the rice took me back; the saying about a girl (it was always a girl, of course) who believed in, erm, freedom of self-expression was, ‘loose as Tastic rice’. πŸ™‚

  5. I’ve never heard of Bonnet rice. I’m happy my husband doesn’t mind Basmati rice these days (he didn’t used to want it). It would be fun to try out another type of rice.

    Babotie is something I want to try sometime, although it sounds a bit strange to me. And isn’t there apricot jam in there, too? πŸ™‚

  6. I have a cookbook with Babotie recipe in it but I have never tried it. It looks so comforting πŸ™‚ I will try it sometime πŸ™‚

  7. Love those tins! I have never heard of “bonnet” rice. When I was little my aunt made a version of your wedding rice using white rice and we called it rice pudding…it was delicious!

  8. It makes sense that it was rejected. That is deragotary and I find it tasteless just like the N word. But I don’t expect anyone outside my black race to understand how the wrod makes us feel no matter what excuse they(other race) will try to cook up.

  9. The tins are beautiful! I don’t know about “bonnet rice.” We usually just buy generic rice that is long-grained white rice (low on starch) or wild and brown rice. We can get special rice from the Asian shops.

  10. Bobotie is divine πŸ™‚ We had that on the plane for dinner – I liked it. The lady next to me had (what looked like) pie and gravy. It looked good enough but she barely touched her plate.

  11. Had to Google ‘Bonnet Rice’ since I live in the northwestern part of the country….had never heard of it…guess it’s one of those southern products.

  12. I love Wasabi peanuts. Hot, spicy, crunchy, salty. Yum x 4!

    I suspect “bonnet rice” is a long grained white rice used by Uncle Ben’s, Comet, etc. Other rices in the US are referred to by name ~ jasmine, risotta, basmati. Perhaps “bonnet rice” is just called “rice.” πŸ˜€

  13. Here in Botswana it’s very common to see Bonnet rice on the shelves. My mother has always used it for rice pudding – at least for the last 30 years! And of course, now so do I!

  14. Interesting you have dried lime leaves. Have not seen these before. Do they taste aromatic like fresh ones?

    I always buy fresh ones but never get to use them all and then end up throwing them out when they look dried up!!! …makes me think perhaps I should be keeping and use them dried.

    You can’t imagine how many packets I’ve thrown out over the years, when all the time I could have been using them !!! Thanks for sharing.

Leave a Reply

