SWEET&SOUR, RETIREMENT AND MIDNIGHT SNACKS

I spotted these giant chicken espetadas at Checkers earlier in the week and bought them, mainly because I wanted the skewers, which are not sold separately in the store. I seem to be having a Malaysian moment this week and have been hankering for sweet and sour sauce, although espetadas are a Portuguese dish and the skewers are usually cooked over a wood fire. As there are no resident food police in my kitchen, I felt free to break the rules and made up a quick sauce:

3 Tablespoons All Gold tomato sauce
1 Tablespoon sambal oelek
1 Tablespooon smooth apricot jam
1 Teaspoon Worcestershire sauce
1 Tablespoon rice vinegar
3 Tablespoons water
1 Tablespoon Maizena (corn starch)
1 Tablespoon sunflower oil

I was quite surprised to learn that the oldest wine company in Malaysia was only established in 1979. It seems beer is more popular, although the majority of Malaysians are Muslim and not allowed to drink. Interestingly enough, the top result for my search for ‘beer in Malaysia’ yielded an advert to ‘Retire in Penang’. Google can be so insulting sometimes, as if I am that old!

And the foodreference.com trivia of today in history?

1977 Buffalo,New York declared this day ‘Chicken Wing Day’ in honor of the famous Buffalo Chicken Wings, created by Teressa Bellissimo in October, 1964. Buffalo Wings were created by Teressa Bellissimo at the Anchor Bar in Buffalo,New York, for her son and some friends for a midnight snack.

Seems I have to go off and buy some chicken wings; O Bunn has a weekend sleepover party and I am sure the girls will forage for a midnight snack.

Apropos of all the chilli I’ve used in the kitchen during the past week and Side View’s weekend challenge, I found Thys le Roux’s latest cartoon especially funny:

33 thoughts on “SWEET&SOUR, RETIREMENT AND MIDNIGHT SNACKS

  1. I honestly don’t understand how you manage to wake up so early in winter, I only do because of K but otherwise I would prefer to sleep in. Lovely skewers they are!lol @ the cartoon 😉

  2. The giant chicken espetadas / kebabs looks yummy! LOL @ the hotness! Enjoy the rest of the weekend!

  3. With her surname, it would have been really cruel if Teressa looked like the back end of a bus! Sort of like having someone called Utter-Lee Gorgeous.
    I like the cartoon!

  4. I might have been speechless too if I was that chick. It can be hard to out-do a good chilli! 😀 Those are nice looking squires. You might want them to cook with in future while I smile at the idea of sticking them in my hair! 😀 😀

Leave a Reply

