SOMETHING I ALWAYS HAVE IN MY FRIDGE

It’s George Bernard Shaw’s birthday today. He was born in 1856 You will find many food related quotes from his works on the Food Reference Website. Quote: “There is no love sincerer than the love of food.”
I spoke too quickly about the weather yesterday; in the afternoon a cold spell descended on us, it is snowing in several parts of the country, snow was predicted for Johannesburg too, but – if it happened – I must have slept through it after an exhausting day of baking my 6-tier cake. When it’s assembled, it will actually only be a 3-tier cake, I needed 6 to give it the right height.


It is for a re-launch event a client is hosting tonight. The icing has to be specific pantone colours and the air in my kitchen was blue with curses as I tried to match the shades with food colour.


I will post a photo of the final product tomorrow, but first onto Tandy’s weekly ingredient challenge, which is to cook something you always have in your fridge.
In my fridge you will always find a variety of cheeses, a roast chicken and fresh cream. The roast chicken is a handy standby when I don’t know how many people I will have in the house at lunchtime on any given day. O Bunn frequently pitches after school with one or more friends in tow. My husband may unexpectedly take the afternoon off work, and then there are the school lunchboxes to prepare every morning. Roast chicken is just the thing.


It’s also perfect for a quick and easy pasta dish for my own lunch, as was the case yesterday. So simple; shredded chicken, a sprinkle of NoMU tomato & chilli stir, a good glug of cream and lashings of parmesan cheese over piping hot rotelle. After all, a girl has to keep her strength up, right?


Oh, and I couldn’t resist another piece of food history on today’s foodreference.com calendar:
1989 Leslie Merry was hit with a turnip thrown from a passing vehicle in London. He was knocked down and suffered a broken rib and a ruptured spleen. He died of respiratory failure, due to the accident.
Not going to let O Bunn see that, she’ll make a case for vegetables being dangerous to your health …

53 thoughts on “SOMETHING I ALWAYS HAVE IN MY FRIDGE

  1. Hmm… what do i always have in my fridge..? Milk? Yes, milk. You never know when you get fed up with drinking water because it’s healthy. 😀

    Killed by a turnip…? Gosh! I guess when it’s your time it’s your time, huh? You just never know how it’s going to come to an end. There is a good reason not to fret too much over tomorrow. We might not even have it. There is only so much you can do to be responsible 😉

    I heard someone say once: plan for the future but live like there is no tomorrow.

  2. Looking forward to seeing the cake.

    So long as there’s parmesan…(not in the cake obviously – in the fridge/pasta)

  3. Looking forward to the complete cake,Cin. Will let you know when I get interview feedback in 2-3 weeks they said. At my present employ they decide the very same day and I get to be the bearer of good news. I asked them to inform the candidates in the interview that if they don’t hear from us the next day they should consider themselves unsuccessful rather than me having to tell them the bad news.
    Have a lovely day and keep warm.

  4. I can hardly wait to see the finished cake…shades of a royal wedding! My fridge always has veggies, feta cheese, and tooth whitener! 😀 Now there’s a writing challenge: a epitaph for a person killed by a turnip.

  5. got confused and thought you were putting turnips in the cake. Oh heavens! Now I get it. As for Amy’s challenge, how about a one-word epitaph – Neeped.

  6. That cake! can’t wait to see it. Looks as though it will be a success though. I’d be so scared I’d have stuck it together with superglue and plastic wrap 😉

  7. Looking forward to seeing the cake.
    Yes,today morning I saw at T.V. news it´s snowing in SA!But also my daughter said as she was a whole year in SA that it can be really cold there.Before she was there I haven´t thought this.
    Enjoy your day!

  8. Chicken is so versatile. My fridge staples…hmmmm let me think:

    A good selection of salad stuff. (toms, chicory, roket/baby spinach leaves, cukes, lambs lettuce etc, NO ICEBERG LETTUCE!)
    Cheese glorious cheese!
    Greek yoghurt or Fromage frais.

  9. I started to laugh at the turnip tossing event, but then when I read the guy died. . .
    Can’t wait to see a picture of that 6 – tiered cake!

  10. OMG, but catering is hard work…huge hats off to you, Cindy! That turnip story is hilarious – well, for the rest of us, anyway. I’m with you on the roast chicken too, except that I get it from Woolies 😉

  11. Agree about roasted chicken as a staple and have never met anyone who didn’t like it. Chicken is so versitle.

    That last story so odd. I just finished reading about people dying of laughter. I guess it causes suffocation. (I know, uplifing thought.)

    Well, I guess it’s winter by you; hence, your comment on my blog. I always forget we’re at opposites. Stay warm and dry, Cindy.

  12. Pingback: Regional and Seasonal « Lavender and Lime

Leave a Reply

