BEAUTY, DISEASE AND A SORE LOSER

On the 15th of July in 1439 In an effort to stop the spread of disease, kissing was banned in England. I can’t find out how long the ban lasted, but – what I do know for fact – I haven’t kissed anyone in the longest time, yet I’ve never been so diseased in my life. This flu just won’t leave me.
Still, life goes on. Sidey’s weekend theme is beauty, and I think this qualifies, don’t you?

Tandy’s mom made a cake for the Bunn’s 13th birthday yesterday. I so wish I had my camera at hand to capture her face when she saw it!
(The silly girl is refusing to cut the cake; says she wants to keep it forever.)


Also, Tandy is hosting this week’s Presto Pasta Night. I’m too late, but made myself baked pork sausages wrapped in bacon, with fusilli and tomato gravy. It takes more than a spoonful of sugar to make the medicine go down, you know …

Ps: I didn’t win the Filippo Berio ‘Trip to Italy with 5 friends competition’. Thanks to everyone who voted for me. It’s a big disappointment, I am a sore loser and suspect a certain level of manipulation was at play, but it doesn’t do to dwell on these things.

65 thoughts on “BEAUTY, DISEASE AND A SORE LOSER

  1. I am so sad for you 😦 This flu is not being nice to you at all and I wish I could banish it with warm thoughts! Hurry up and get better 🙂

  2. It is a beautiful cake, it must take hours to make those flowers. Get better soon and I agree, no point in dwelling on what was beyond our control……*mutters darkly in Italian*

  3. Boy, Cin, sorry you are still under the grips of that flu. Hope you have a reprieve soon. Since you didn’t go to Italy this time, maybe there’s something even better coming along.

  4. I’m so sorry sweetpea. Take note I did not say chickpea!!! 😦 You sound like me with that flu but strangely enough I am doing well this year so far (eek touch wood cross fingers and drink an extra immuno choice) Your immune system is seriously compromised Cindy. Got to build it up. I would also not want to cut into that gorgeous cake. But it wont last too long so best you convince that young lady hehe. Happy Birthday to her once again. Love you and hope you get better soonest xx

  5. Happy Birthday to OB! I would also want to hold on to the cake, looks too good to be cut. If you have a fully blown flu occillococinum can shorten it.

  6. I’m so sorry you didn’t win, Cindy! It would have been lovely to have you here. You can plan a trip with Tandy: she told me they will come in a couple of years. Am I right, Tandy?
    Sorry for you flu, too. I hope you recover soon. 😉
    P.S. The cake Tandy’s mom made is superb!!! I wouldn’t cut it either. 😛

  7. Sad you didn’t win – but maybe just as well for the waistlines of yourself and five friends who might have stopped being friends after seeing their silhouettes after return.

  8. Pingback: The Eye of the Beholder « Spirit Lights The Way

  9. Sorry you did not win. Clearly you should have. I can’t imagine anyone eating more healthy than you so I can’t imagine you being this sick. Hope you feel better very soon. Hugs.

  10. What a beautiful cake.
    Happy birthday to the bun. 😉
    I’m sorry that you didn’t win ;-(
    Hope you feel better soon.
    The pasta dish looks like comfort food.

  11. Beautiful cake from Tandy’s mom, Cin – your body’s telling you to rest – perhaps some R&R, reading and writing, in a vineyard cottage in Franschoek will do the trick – who needs Italy?!

    • Oh don’t I wish, bluebee. The best I can hope for is that I’ll have the opportunity to spend a day at a local spa for a massage in the next few days 🙂

  12. A great cake and sorry you didn’t win the magical trip to Italia, I would have met you for an Italian prosecco! Hope you’re feeling better soon, maybe a good book and a hot toddy is needed!x

  13. I’m always in awe of anyone who can make sugar flowers! What a beautiful cake for a special 13 year old.

    Re the kissing thing: maybe you should when you’re feeling better – to build up your immune system? 🙂

    Get well soon – this has been going on for too long!

  14. Pingback: Something Sweet « Lavender and Lime

  15. now that you’re feeling better I hope you’re making up for all the lost kisses.

    The icing on the cake looks really professional and must’ve taken hours to do! Was it a layer cake?

  16. Perhaps if you do get to some kissing girlfriend, introduce some new germs, it’ll help fight off the lurgie in you? You have been down for a while, it’s just not cool. Hope you feel better soon.

Leave a Reply

