OH MY DARLING CLEMENGOLD …

My mother often accused me of transferring my affections too freely. By this she didn’t mean I was a fast girl, she meant instead that I flitted swiftly from interest to interest. With my current yen for finding out more about the exact nutritional value of the ingredients I’m using to cook with, I feel her watching over my shoulder and saying “Mushrooms are the healthiest thing now? Last month you were going on and on about beetroot? Finish the beetroot story already, then do the mushroom thing …”
There’s not time enough, Mommy, we have a new wunderkind on the block and her name is … ClemenGold!


Sure enough, Old Clemmy is everywhere; she is the IT! girl of the culinary scene.
Even my husband, impervious to trends, is smitten by this voluptuous hussy.
From all the photos I saw it seemed clear to me; a tangerine, a mandarin, some kind of new orange. And then I found that Our ClemenGold had her own website, with a brand philosophy, a business forum and a strategic platform to boot. I had to meet this girl myself.
The website uses flowery descriptions of this fruit, going quite poetic with phrases like “it will enrapture your senses” and “a harmony that reflects the golden standard, which makes ClemenGold so special” … I was laughing my head off and thought the copywriter ought to be shot.


I was soon eating my words, along with my first ClemenGold.
Of course it followed that I absolutely had to experiment with using this little golden globe in cooking. (It also fitted perfectly with Tandy’s regional and seasonal challenge to cook with a citrus fruit.) Salty smoked gammon steaks seemed an ideal playmate.

Excuse the steam ... I couldn't wait to eat!

Stir fry of  smoked gammon, ClemenGold, pineapple, chillis, zucchini, cauliflower, broccoli, leeks, new peas, baby corn and bell peppers. Garlic, ginger, soy sauce and Verlaque sweet basil infused olive oil. Ah! Yes!

78 thoughts on “OH MY DARLING CLEMENGOLD …

  1. I like this fruit.They are one of my favourit citrus fruits.I have never cook with them (only as cake).But your food looks really delicious.Have a nice day and I hope to hear from you again ;O)).

  2. Your ClemenGold looks like a cross between a Honeybell tangerine and a clementine. Where’s it from?
    And, what is a gammon steak? Are they used to make backgammon boards?

    • ClemenGold are cultivated here in South Africa, but they aim to take the fruit onto the global market.
      Gammon is cured pork, I am not surprised you’re not familiar with it, Preeva 😉
      hahaha @ backgammon boards, you funny lady 🙂

      • ClemenGold has its origins in Morocco – from an open cross-pollination between a Murcott and a Clementine. It is grown in South Africa, Spain, Morocco, Uruguay, Chile, Argentina, Peru and California.The actual variety is called Nadorcott – ClemenGold is the brand name given to the fruit that reaches a specific specification. The specification looks at internal (juice, sugar, acid) and external aspects of the fruit.

  3. Every time I read one of your food posts, Cin, I am transported to a world I know almost nothing about. I am amazed daily (even if I comment rarely) by the depth and breadth of your cooking knowledge. You are truly amazing.

  4. I have been the lucky recipient of clementines over the last few weeks and they are delicious and, more important (to me) pip-less! No mess when eating in bed… I intend using them in salads and can’t wait…

  5. I was a dragonfly, Cin, which I protested. In response, mom recited a poem about a dragonfly flitting about and, when ready to rest, she’d sit on a leaf that was floating down a river. My rebuttal – “that’ll teach you for having a child at age 40!”

    The orange looks delicious. With all due respect for eating local foods, I hope to have the chance to taste one of these little juice bombs…without the backgammon thanks!

  6. Aaaaaah no!! You have stumbled upon my most favourite fruit in the whole world….what to do what to do!! I cannot get enough of these, eating, cooking et al……they are so special!! xxx

  7. clemengold looks like what we in Australia call ‘mandarins’ ; they are quite cheap, refreshing and exist in huge numbers — little oranges

  8. My sister likes naartjies. Sometimes you can find one in her handbag too, hehe! I eat them and can’t say I like them, the entire citrus family.

  9. I love juicing oranges, naval oranges, tangerines, clementines, mandarin oranges . . . etc. I’ll keep my eye out for ClemenGolds.

    Thanks, Cin!

  10. I love fruit in stir fries! Yummy! I usually buy naval oranges only, but I’ll have to try a bag of tangerines. I wonder if there are ClemenGolds in grocery stores here. Thanks for the next trend in nutrition! Blessings to you, Cindy…

  11. Recipe yum. I think this is what we call Clementines. When they are in season we can buy two and three pound boxes for very, very cheap. Everyone does. Portable. Easy to toss one fruit in a bag and take to work or whatever.

  12. Pingback: Something Savoury « Lavender and Lime

  13. Pingback: Something Savoury | Lavender and Lime

Leave a Reply

