LA VIERGE TASTE AND TWEET

Anyone who read my old blog will know that this label (on a bottle given to me by Tandy during her recent visit to Johannesburg) would make me smile. I blogged under the name Original Cin until I moved to WordPress and found it was already taken (by someone who appears not to be using it *frown*). I made a mental note to investigate the other wines in the La Vierge stable and then – as happens – forgot all about it. Until last week.

I’d been invited to a tasting hosted by the sultry Gisela Bean of Bacchus & Co, Johannesburg representative of the La Vierge range, on Thursday night, at The Attic, on the Parkhurst foodie strip. The event was hosted simultaneously in four cities:Johannesburg, Cape Town, Pretoria and …Amsterdam! And we all connected on Twitter to share our findings.

La Vierge means ‘the virgin’ in French and this young winery has had some racy fun naming the wines, each of which has been given its own personality. As a digression, I want to point out that the labels are exquisite.

We first tasted the Pinot Noir 2010. La Vierge is focused on producing world class Pinot Noir and considers Black Madonna or Black Virgin an apt name for this wine. (Paired with Peking Duck Spring Rolls with Ginger & Hoisin.)

Next up:

The Last Temptation Riesling 2010. I have a personal, deep fondness for Riesling. It is a wine I grew up with and one of the first wines I got to know. Many wine tasters say that Gewurztraminer is the easiest wine to identify in a blind tasting; but for me it is Riesling. There’s just no mistaking that laddish and unmistakable hint of petrol as the first sip goes down. (Paired with Namibian Oysters.)

Original Sin Sauvignon Blanc 2009. Enough said, I was grinning from ear to ear. (Paired with Smoked Salmon on a Blini with Lemon & Crème Fraiche.)

Jezebelle Chardonnay 2010. A beautiful surprise to me, as everyone knows I am hardly Chardonnay’s biggest fan, but this was creamy and wonderful. (Paired with Seared Irish Scallops in a Hazelnut Butter.) I’d like to paper the walls of my boudoir with the label … (pic from La Vierge FB page.)

Nymphomane Cabernet Sauvignon (70%) Malbec (30%) 2009. (Paired with Lamb Noisette in Bernaise Sauce.) One of the Twitter users likened it to “a pole-dancing supermodel. Georgeous and bad in a good way.”

AntheliaShiraz (75%) Mourvedre (25%) 2009. (Paired with Sauteed Chestnut mushrooms, Roast Pepper and Goats Cheese.)

Satyricon Barbera (69%) Sangiovese (23%) Nebbiolo (8%) 2009. (Paired with Spanish Chorizo, Lemon and Extra Virgin Olive Oil.) Fruity and robust, I didn’t think I could be impressed after the dangerously fine Shiraz.

My table companions were great sports and the evening was truly a delight, but my ‘nose’ was off due to my flu and left the others to carry on partying. I do wish more events would take place in Parkhurst and Greenside, it’s ever such a trek to Sandton every time.

There are some photos of the event posted here.

53 thoughts on “LA VIERGE TASTE AND TWEET

  1. Oh Cin – this sexy bottle of Jezzebelle is beautiful. Love the label and I am slowly growing to enjoy and unwooded or lightly wooded Chardonnay.. I beggar to say that I would probably buy a bottle of this, should I spot it my local purely BECAUSE of the name and Label. I guess I am a bit of a wine slut! in that respect. xxxx have a great day xxx jan

  2. Oh, I love the names of the wines…thank you for sharing the names and the pairings…It helps if the wine tastes good, but I’d buy them first for the labels on the bottles !
    Hope you are feeling well soon.
    ☮ ♥. Siggi in Downeast Maine, USA

  3. Sounds like a superb wine selection! (what a pity you weren’t well enough to enjoy it fully but glad you were well enough to go out!) .
    Mr F and I enjoyed wandering around the shops at what I think is the Parkhurst foodie strip when we were there in March. I bought a tablecloth from a vendor near the bank machine. She whined and pleaded that she hadn’t sold anything yet that day and I felt so sorry for her I paid without properly working out how much it cost.
    [I cant remember exactly but I think I paid about $30! ouch.]
    And when I came home and washed the cloth before putting it on the table almost all the colour washed out of it. Mr F was nice and didn’t wag his finger at me… its been on the dining table ever since we got back.

  4. That Jezebelle label is delightful! My grandma used to use the word Jezebelle! “Aye she were a real Jezebelle that one” *use your best Yorkshire accent*

  5. Now THAT is one of the worst times to be having a flu 😦 Glad you enjoyed it anyway for what it was worth 🙂 You’re right! That area is divine for occasions like that. They should certainly do more there.

  6. Hi mem, am glad I did not miss much 🙂 had no internet. Hope you are well and good. The weather is cold and damp.

  7. The label for that bottle of Jezebelle is exquisite. Amazing the artwork that appears on some wine bottles. I’m sure someone must collect them. Your wine knowledge is amazing. I’m a lazy wine drinker — I just drink it without ever bothering to find out more. Thanks for the info.

  8. Pingback: LUCKY MOO, LUCKY MOI « The only Cin

Leave a Reply

