PLAYING LENTIL ON MY MIND

“In a study that examined food intake patterns and risk of death from coronary heart disease, researchers followed more than 16,000 middle-aged men in the U.S., Finland, The Netherlands, Italy, former Yugoslavia, Greece and Japan for 25 years. Typical food patterns were: higher consumption of dairy products in Northern Europe; higher consumption of meat in the U.S.; higher consumption of vegetables, legumes, fish, and wine in Southern Europe; and higher consumption of cereals, soy products, and fish in Japan. When researchers analyzed this data in relation to the risk of death from heart disease, they found that legumes were associated with a whopping 82% reduction in risk!!”
Please, do yourselves and your bodies the biggest favour and go and read the entire article here:
http://www.squidoo.com/lentils-nutritional-information#module13412603

I’ve found my husband’s request for a red meat-free week quite a challenge. It’s just so easy to throw together a roast with a starch and three veg. When it comes to creating a meal that has the right nutritional balance, things become more complicated. I ruled out the easy option of making soup or stir-fry every day. Likewise, I was not going to go the route of sandwiches. Of special concern for me were: not too much fatty cheese, ensuring that there was enough iron in my meals and making sure that the food was robust enough to prevent hunger between meals.
Lasagne is a perennial favourite in my house and I found that my mixture of lentils and other seasonal vegetables more than substituted for beef. Instead of béchamel sauce I used pureed butternut, and I used feta instead of mozzarella. I was terribly impressed with the result, to the extent that I may never make meat lasagne again.


And, from the sublime to the ridiculous (if not downright sinful?); on this date back in 1953 Cheez Whiz was introduced nationwide by Kraft. Oh dear, some things should simply not be allowed to happen …
(All food history is sourced from foodreference.com)

69 thoughts on “PLAYING LENTIL ON MY MIND

  1. Sounds very tasty Cindy – what a great idea to use butternut squash Can we get the recipe.?

    I’m glad to say although I live in the U S of A, I’ve never had cheese whiz in my fridge.

  2. sounds very delish, but you do know feta has a very high fat content and mozzy a low fat content?

    cheeze whiz sounds like the stuff you buy in tubes and bottles that looks like sticky orange goo? horrid stuff

  3. Great article on lentils. I think I might need to get them as liquid in an iv. I have so many health issues. I will make some tomorrow. Thanks for sharing great info with us.

  4. I didn’t know what Cheez Whiz was so I googled it. I looked at the images to get a better sense of it. OMW it looks like toxic sludge coming out of the can. On the same page there was an image of “Batter Blaster” so I had to google that too. Apparently it uses the same principle as canned Cheez Whiz for pancake batter. http://www.needcoffee.com/2007/11/01/batter-blaster/ To modify the saying: There’s nowt so strange as folks and reprocessed foods! PS I’m looking forward to your lentil lasagne recipe.

  5. Oh, that looks fabulous. I love lentils. You are getting closer to my style of eating, Cin. The next step is to replace the pasta with slices of zucchini… Okay, a step at at time. 😉

    Cheese whiz is a sandwhich spread that is full of chemicals so it lasts forever.

  6. ‘higher consumption of vegetables, legumes, fish, and wine in Southern Europe’ – I bet it was the wine and not the legumes at all really – it’s just politically incorrect to say so! 🙂

    I love lentils. Particularly green ones from le Puy. mmm

  7. Ek gebruik al reeds Jamie Oliver se vegetariese lasagna resep (chickpeas instede van lensies), maar sal baie waardeer as jy so gaaf sou wees om jou resep te plaas.
    Hier in die UK kry ons die lieflikste soya en lensie produkte sommer net so in die supermarkte, dit is nie ‘n stryd hier soos in SA om ordentlike vegetariese produkte in die hande te kry nie. Paul McCartney se oorlede vrou Heather McCartney het die lieflikste reeks vegeatriese produkte voor haar dood vrygestel. Die Mozzarella burgers is so moreish! Ek het altyd van haar produkte in my vrieskas, dit is baie beter as die Quorn trademark s’n.

  8. Lentils, hmmm… My first memory of lentils is around the age of 10 (maybe) in the form of a soup. Let’s just say the soup DID see the light of day… sometime during the night. (Maybe it was the light of the moon.) I remember thinking – as I got to know the Bible a little better – “…and Esau traded his birthright for a bowl of T-H-A-T!!?? He must have been BLOODY hungry, I’d say!” 😀 😀

    If I’ve ever encountered lentils again in my life then I was certainly not aware of it, so I couldn’t replace that memory. Maybe I should try something with it for myself and form a new memory. How’s that?

  9. Yea for vegetables. I need to keep hearing this. I, too, am cutting way down on meat. I’m finding protein sources like Parmesan and other lower fat cheeses, beans, and whole grains, rather than meat and cream. Oh, how I love butter and cream. Tsk. Well, don’t expect me to eliminate these ingredients of delight entirely, but I’m cutting down.

    Your lasagna looks sublime. I always opt for pasta that takes less time, but there is something so worth it about lasagna. Blessings to you, Cindy…

    • Several people have asked for the recipe, I sort of just made it as I went along. I will make it again (as soon as I feel better) and make notes that I will share in a post.

  10. I’d love the recipes. I use lentils in the winter as Imake a lentil soup or two, bt haven;t used them much recently and need a nudge:)

  11. Ah lentils ! so delicious either way: warm in the Indian way (dahl) or cold as a salad with little pieces of smoked salmon or just plenty of herbs. I have marked the article to read it later. Thanks Cindy. I’ll try your lasagna too 🙂

Leave a Reply

