MYSTERIES AND MAGIC MUSHROOMS

Let’s start the day with a little mystery, shall we? On this date, in 1930 Judge Joseph F. Crater of the New York State Supreme Court, walked out of a 45th Street restaurant in New York City on his way to the theater. He was never heard from again. So we’re told by foodreference.com. Wikipedia disagrees and gives the date as August 6; and tells of many smoking guns. Nowhere do we find out what the dodgy judge ate at the restaurant; which is called a ‘chop house’ in one account.
Chop house is not a familiar term in South Africa; thefreedictionary.com defines it as ‘(Cookery) a restaurant specializing in steaks, grills, chops, etc.’ After our very carnivorous weekend in the mountains, my husband has requested that we have a meat-free week to ‘unclog’ his arteries. This is quite a nice challenge for me, given that I am currently on a mushroom-mania tangent. I’ve done some research and have found some amazing facts about mushrooms:
Mushrooms are an excellent source of potassium, a mineral that helps lower elevated blood pressure and reduces the risk of stroke. One medium portabella mushroom has even more potassium than a banana or a glass of orange juice. One serving of mushrooms also provides about 20 to 40 percent of the daily value of copper, a mineral that has cardioprotective properties.
Mushrooms are a rich source of riboflavin, niacin, and selenium. Selenium is an antioxidant that works with vitamin E to protect cells from the damaging effects of free radicals. Male health professionals who consumed twice the recommended daily intake of selenium cut their risk of prostate cancer by 65 percent. In the Baltimore study on Aging, men with the lowest blood selenium levels were 4 to 5 times more likely to have prostate cancer compared to those with the highest selenium levels.
… especially the fresh button mushrooms, possess substances that inhibit the activity of aromatase (an enzyme involved in estrogen production), and 5-alpha-reductase (an enzyme that converts testosterone to DHT). The latest findings show that white button mushrooms can reduce the risk of breast cancer and prostate cancer. An extract of white button mushrooms decreased cell proliferation and decreased tumor size in a dose-dependent manner. The chemoprotective effect can be seen with an intake of about 100 grams (3.5 ozs) of mushrooms per day. (Source: vegetarian.info)
I rest my case …

Spinach and feta stuffed mushrooms

67 thoughts on “MYSTERIES AND MAGIC MUSHROOMS

  1. Love love love mushrooms…sadly, I must be careful as I a terrible allergy to molds/fungus.
    What a wonderful tidbit of history on the judge…perhaps he got chopped by the mob out back…

  2. A nice big Mushroom is just as enjoyable as a juicy steak – and much better for you it seems!!!

    I just love mushrooms raw and uncooked – they rock ! Have a great day Cindy darlingxxx

  3. Mushrooms? No thanks, but I’d love to munch on that spinach and feta! Living in a rain forest, we have ‘shrooms’ all over the place. Some are very valuable and pickers have territories. Trespassers have found their butts full of salt! Better than buckshot, but still very uncomfortable.

      • Mushrooms? No thanks, but I’d love to munch on that spinach and feta! Living in a rain forest, we have ‘shrooms’ all over the place. Some are very valuable and pickers have territories. Trespassers have found their butts full of salt! Better than buckshot, but still very uncomfortable.

        This is new-to-me. I’m replying to your question but am taken to my older comment. Hmmm. We’ll see how this works.

        The salt…When people raided gardens or crossed into another person’s “turf”, in an effort to scare them off without too much harm, some old farmers threatened to put salt in their shotguns.. I don’t know if any ever really did that, but the threat kept people away.

  4. Very interesting. Thanks for that. I never knew they were that nutritious! I love ’em. Particularly ceps/porcini in season… mmmmmm

  5. Oh its so hard to find a beautiful mushie like the ones you served up. Well, that’s prob not entirely true, to be honest, I just dont get into the super early start to get the good ones at the markets. 😦
    I didn’t know that Mushrooms had such health benefits, will need to get em into me, me thinks. 🙂

  6. Ek is mal oor mushrooms. Het mushrooms (noudat ek daaroor dink) ten minste 5 dae ‘n week, soms meer.

  7. Hi, Cindy!

    Three of my fave foods in one dish. Wonderful! Sounds like mushrooms are a food we can eat without guilt. Phew! How refreshing.

    You asked about lei lines. I only know them as in energy lines from reading books on Feng Shui.

    I think the word may have another meaning having to do with meadows and such.

    Glad you enjoyed the piece.

    Happy days …
    Jamie

  8. Maybe the judge disappeared down his namesake…(weak, I know)

    Interesting post on mushrooms and their astounding array of health benefits, Cin (quite something for a fungus that is grown commercially in what is effectively poo) – the big field mushrooms taste just like meat and the stuffed ones always go down a treat as a starter at dinner parties

  9. That filling looks delish!

    Sounds like (1) the Judge wandered off with his mistress and a boatload of cash, or (2) his mistress ran off with a boatload of cash after ditching the Judge.

  10. That is a wonderful combination and one of the few ways that I actually eat spinach, or else I would be one to go without dessert for not clearing my plate 😉 I have also become rather fond of mushrooms, especially with garlic butter 🙂 Good thing I can’t smell garlic on a person who has eaten it 😀

    Doctors and the pharmaceutical industry would be a lot poorer if we made more use of the wonderful health benefits of nature right under our noses. Thanks for enlightening us 🙂

  11. I have a package of mushrooms in the fridge just begging to be cooked. I see a stir fry with broccoli and mushrooms in my very near future. Thank you for the information. Your stuffed mushroom looks delicious! Blessings to you…

  12. Absolutely hands down one of my all time faorite foods! I generally will reach for portobellas first, but you’ve got me deciding to reach for the buttons occasionally, too. Other mushrooms I love, but are more expensive (even than portobellas are Shiitake and tree ear (which I adore, but have a hard time finding anywhere except at Asian food markets. Thanks for the info!

    Up the MUSHROOM!!!

    I’ve noticed that some places offer to sell you a flat of spored soil, by which you can grow your own mushies! I’m curious to know if the exorbitant amount of money you spend will keep propogating, or if it’s a one-shot deal! Do you know?

  13. Well then let me run not even walk to the grocery store and get some of those great big mushrooms. Now why oh why would a doctor not prescrible mushrooms and bananas for high blood pressure instead of pills?

  14. This is brilliant, Cindy. I always thought mushrooms were pretty and tasty but not good for much nutritionally. Now I must seriously revise my mushroom policy. Great post!

  15. Fascinating bit of info, Cindy. You should write it up for a foodie magazine. I’m glad to learn that ‘shrooms are so good for you — my husband and I love them. One of my favorites salads in spinach and mushroom with a little sweet onion and poppy seed dressing. Hmm, guess I now have an excuse to eat it more often!

  16. Pingback: OH MY DARLING CLEMENGOLD … « The only Cin

Leave a Reply

