HAVE APRON, WILL TRAVEL

This is not bouillabaisse, it's a snug dog who doesn't want to go out for her piddle.

It seems my friends ‘upside’ the world are very quiet. I imagine summertime has much to do with it. We down here on the bottom of the globe sit huddled over our computers, rather than venture out. Today is Summer Solstice in the Northern Hemisphere, the longest day of the year. It is the shortest day in the Southern Hemisphere and I must make the most of the hours available. It is 4.26am as I type this and, on my stove, a 10-litre pot of seafood soup is bubbling in readiness for today’s lunchtime catering. Bouillabaisse, the French call it; a compound that consists of the two verbs bolhir (to boil) and abaissar (to reduce heat, i.e., simmer). Trivia from Wikipedia: Something similar to Bouillabaisse also appears in Roman mythology: it is the soup that Venus fed to Vulcan.
Anyway, my little catering business is growing steadily and it seems I shall soon have to either an assistant or, at least, outsource some of the work. Yesterday saw breakfast, lunch and afternoon cake & snacks going out in different directions, at different times, to feed 32 people.
Ah, there’s my oven-timer, the croissants are ready for breakfast …

This is not bouillabaisse, it's a dish from one of yesterday's afternoon teas.

63 thoughts on “HAVE APRON, WILL TRAVEL

  1. My only regret is I came to South Africa before I knew you. I’d love to be your assistant who licks the pots. Whether yesterday’s afternoon tea is whipped cream with strawberries, or meringues with whipped cream and strawberries I’m not fussy. I’ll happily clean the bowl.

    Great photo of the dog.

  2. Morning, Cin – it is jolly cold here in the Anitpodes, too, with a very nasty wind blowing. Onwards and upwards on the food business front for you – brilliant 😀

  3. It’s been such a cold spring here in the northern climes that I’m outside at the first hint of sun. Dear Cin, I do hope you found your bouillabaisse! I becoming quite worried about you. Must be all the stress! I know you are dying to hire me! I’ll get there just as soon as I can.

  4. Haha! I never had seafood soup, I just don’t see myself eating muscles etc. Glad your business is growing *toast to you Cin* a coffee toast that was 🙂

  5. Well, it’s summer here but it has been raining for days! In April and May, that’s when we had great weather. Hopefully it’ll come back.

    So nice that your catering business is growing! The strawberry dish loosks delicious!!

  6. Love Bouillabaisse and that dessert looks to die for! No wonder your business is rapidly growing! Congrats and good luck! First day of summer here, and our weather has been anything but summery. The garden is all in now and we must wait for Mother Nature to do her thing!

  7. So where’s the picture of the bouillabaisse?!

    Well done on the expanding catering business. I’ve done it more than once. It’s hard work, isn’t it!

  8. I’m so happy that your business is doing so well, Cin. That’s great news!

    Lulubelle looks quite at home in her blankie. I’m glad she recovered from the ‘poisoning'(?). How old is she now?

  9. Ek is bly vir jou dat jou besigheid goed doen. Geniet jou blog baie vandat ek dit ontdek het. Ja aan hierdie kant van die wereld is dit nou lig tot saans na 22h00, bo in Skotland tot amper 23h00. Hier benut almal die somer te volle, want in die winter is dit donker teen 16h00 in die middag, en die nagte voel heeltemal te lank. Hier potter ons nog in die tuin rond tot na 9 in helder lig saans. (Dis nou as dit nie somerstorms reen soos die sfgelope twee weke aan en af nie.)

    • Here in the Netherlands it’s light until about 22.30 in the evening – it’s wonderful! My husband and I often go for a walk after dinner, so nice. But the kids go to bed too late because when it still seems so light, we don’t think it could be bedtime.

  10. It’s snowing in our state (NSW) in Australia! Bouillabaisse at 4.26am, that’s fantastic, I’m an early riser too but I wasn’t doing anything nearly that energetic when I got up at 5am this morning! Glad to read your catering business is going well – hardly surprising if all your dishes look like that dessert! 🙂

  11. The summer has passed us now, we are in the middle of the rain here 🙂 I’m so happy you are doing well in catering, it is something I wanna try someday, but here in India it is not very promising… Wow that’s for afternoon tea 🙂 I love it!

    • I saw a programme on TV the other day about the ‘Tiffin Boys’ in India, who run around collecting working men’s office lunches from their homes and delivering them.

  12. I have been loving the fresh berries this season! And your title reminds me…I need to buy a “spiffy” apron, in fact I was looking at some on the Vera Bradley site on Sat. and didn’t order, but I shall find one that calls out to me!!!

  13. I am guite spectacularly unsuited to filling your vacant position. I manage to get boiling an egg wrong. Anyway, from the picture you are a dogerer rather than a caterer.

    It took me a while to register that there was a typo in the first line and make sense of it – I am getting dim!

  14. Cin, I am ready for a bouillabaisse – yours – any time, solstice or not, day or night, upside world or downunder. Your afternoon tea looks delicious. Bravo for your catering business 🙂

Leave a Reply

