P THINGS, RATHER THAN WEAPONS OF BASS DESTRUCTION

Foodreference.com tells us that on this day in 1999 Nicholas Vitalich was arrested for assaulting his girlfriend with a large tuna, outside a San Diego supermarket. He was charged with assault with a deadly weapon.
I’ve done a Google search, but I can’t find out what Mister Vitalich’s girlfriend’s name is, or whether they got back together. Also, nobody seems to know anything about the tuna. I’m quite intrigued to know if it was alive, but I assume a frozen tuna is a more deadly weapon than a live, wriggly one?
Anyway, I don’t want to dwell too closely on tuna…
Papa, potatoes, poultry, prunes and prism, are all very good words for the lips. Charles Dickens


As is pork, Mister Dickens, particularly pork neck steaks in pinotage and pear preserve and peppercorns. Which is what we had for dinner last night. With sweet potatoes cooked in rooibos tea, mashed with salt, pepper and butter.
Rooibos tea is grown in South Africa (Western Cape) is not really a tea; it is actually a species of legume! This infusion has significant health benefits, but its benefit to the sweet potato is extraordinary; the tea colours the vegetable beautifully and heightens the inherent ginger notes.
Ah, how I wish there were leftovers!

64 thoughts on “P THINGS, RATHER THAN WEAPONS OF BASS DESTRUCTION

  1. Rooibos Tea – one of my favorites. It’s better in South Africa than most brands I find here – even those brands that claim to be from S. Africa. Are there other veggies you would consider cooking in Rooibos tea? Or is that reserved for the honoured SP?

  2. I swear, Cin, you have a hat-ful of subjects to draw on each day… and it is the luck of the draw what your day’s subject will be. Am I right? Nice one again!

  3. (That piece of pork resembles a smiley crocodile!)
    Of miskien is ek net nog half aan die slaap.Die man met die tuna klink soos Unhygenix the Fishmonger uit Asterix & Obelic. Thwackkkk!lol

  4. You remind me of the choral warm up at our school every Tuesday morning. p is very good for the lips…
    How about that sweet potato? So people actually water sweet potatoes with this stuff? What a delicacy they must be when they’re finished.

  5. I’ve only tried rooibos tea once. It’s not for me. I need tea with tannin, the proper stuff. But using it for cooking sounds very interesting. And I didn’t know it was a legume! How funny.

  6. Assault with a tuna…oh my! I’ll never look at fish the same way, I’ll always wonder if someone’s going to whack me with my food!!!!!!! And how did he hang onto that slippery thing?

  7. Your dinner sounds phenomenal — intrigued by the cooking of the sweet potato in tea. I usually just bake mine until they’re sort of caramelized, or chunk and roast them. I’ll have to look up this method of cooking them in rooibus tea. I’m not a big fan of the tea myself (probably the bastardized version we get of it here) but I have heard it is very good for your health. Have a great day!

  8. Sweet potatoes cooked in rooibos? I never would have thought of that! Another original idea from the kitchen queen – will definitely give this a whirl over the weekend 🙂

  9. Your post shows food can be used in love and war! Rooibos and sweet potatoes..an interesting new idea for me to try..thanks!

  10. Weapons of bass destruction! What a hoot! (I’ve started off with this sentence not having yet read your post.) Hm. I read it. Assault with a deadly tuna. Very interesting. Apparently, he was innovative if not nice.

    The pork looks scrumptious. Blessings to you, Cindy…

  11. Enjoyed the post and comments. I guess there is no harm in trying with rooibos, love sweet potato mashed, wedges or whole. OB is fortunate to have a super mommy like you. 🙂

Leave a Reply

