SLOWPOKE ME

My office in the wintertime is not a happy place. It’s on the side of the house that loses the sunlight first and in the early afternoons the temperatures drop so that it becomes colder than the proverbial witch’s wotchit.


I far prefer the kitchen and like to get the windows fuggy with steam, have the radio on and cook shamelessly indulgent food. The smell of roasting garlic and bubbling tomatoes goes someway to making the weather bearable. With a windfall of a bag of bringals (eggplant, aubergine), I made malenzane over the weekend, using Jamie Oliver’s recipe. What a feast of flavours …

Life got in the way of blogging over the past two days and, with great anxiety, I see that I have 87 blog posts to read. This caused me no amount of worry when I opened my email inbox this morning, but I have taken a step back and thought about it; blogging should cause only pleasure. Things happen and – from time to time – it’s inevitable that we will miss out on a few posts of our friends, isn’t it?
Anyhow, what I am trying to say is that it is unlikely that I can catch up, but I will try.
The year seems to be speeding by at a scary rate of knots, it seems like yesterday that we welcomed our friends who’d come to stay for the 2010 Soccer World Cup. I look at my archives and – sure enough – there is my June 14th post; a snapshot memory of a very happy time.

62 thoughts on “SLOWPOKE ME

  1. Oh, Cin, I’ve been there so often…huge numbers of blog post. Thankfully, I see that blogging friends do forgive. I have had the exact same sense that this is a pleasure-trip not a guilt-trip.

    I hope you have a chance to see my response to your last comment on my blog. 😀

  2. Life often gets in the way of our plans. I am sure I am not the only one who would say – don’t stress about it, just delete the 87 past post emails – there will be another 87 soon enough for you to read.
    🙂 Mandy

  3. Such a pity it’s going to be winter where you are, but I guess it happens to us all once a year!

    Don’t worry about missing posts, can’t read them all. One that you might find interesting is my guest post on Irisonbooks’ blog about Dutch literature – http://irisonbooks.wordpress.com/2011/06/13/guest-post-the-world-of-dutch-literature-by-judith-leeswammes/ but if you’re not interested or you don’t have time – just go on to the 1,000 other things that you still have to do.

    I feel a bit stressed today, but at least I have hardly any deadlines to worry about.

  4. yes it’s a year. a busy one and eventful.

    don’t stress. that’s why i refuse to let things like blogging block up my e-mail. I go and see things when i have the time, not because an overflowing in-box demands it.

    i’m reducing my ‘demands’ flow all the time and like the feeling.

  5. Sometimes life just has a way of interfering with blogging! I love the term “witch’s wotchit” which is what my hands feel like right now! Have a great day 🙂

  6. I’ve been in the same position. I am in the same position today 🙂 Just read the ones you want to read and delete the rest. Or click the Like button to show you’ve been.

    BTW, if you don’t comment on every one of my posts that you missed…there’s not much I can do about it 🙂

  7. I know what you mean – one gets this feeling of guilt at missing any post of one’s friends. Inevitable sometimes, though.
    Er, aren’t you afraid the caption might be regarded as an invitation rather than a comment? 🙂

  8. Fantastic photos – yum!

    I know exactly how you feel about the in-box when you haven’t had time. I think everyone understands that real life is (sometimes!) more important. I love Sidey’s ‘demands flow’ phrase. I’ve temporarily suspended all my subscriptions because I was getting totally stressed out with 100s of emails in my box which I didn’t necessarily have time to deal with. (It doesn’t mean I’m not interested/won’t come by but, at the moment, it just means I have too many other commitments to give the sort of time to blogging that I have for the last 6 months. I’ll re-instate them when things are calmer.) You could try doing the same when you’re really busy. I’ve found it helps the ‘demands flow’. AND DON’T FEEL BAD ABOUT IT! 🙂

  9. I love the photos of your food. I blog usually in the morning and although they aren’t breakfast foods, no matter. They look delicious. Has it really been a year since the World Cup? My, how fast time goes by.

  10. The prolific nature of my blogging friends sometimes runs me into a tailspin as well. And I don’t have my fingers in nearly as many “pies” as you do.

    I’ve taken to being a bit more “selective” about where I aim my attention in the blogosphere.

    Stay warm!
    Drink Merlot!

  11. That looks absolutely delish…I must make it!!!! Thanks for including the link. Don’t worry about catching up. It happens to all of us. I don’t blog on the weekends. Somteimes I catch up on my weekend blogs…sometimes I hit the delete button and start over on Monday.

  12. I agree with you, Cindy. We shouldn’t let our blogs become our taskmasters. Slack off when we must, and our friends will rally when we return. I know how long it takes me to post and to make the rounds. We need to keep it a pleasure.

    The eggplant delicacy looks delicious! I’ve never roasted garlic. I must. I use a ton of it chopped. I must roast it! Blessings to you…

  13. Finally, I am here to visit and what do I see…roasted garlic! A girl after me own heart! Don’t fret over lagging on the blogs..in this day of technology one would have to forgo too many things in life, like sleep, just to keep up! With my recent illness, I fretted over the same thing, but one just has to learn to let go and pick up where things left off.

  14. If those pics are of melanzane(?) then it looks delicious! I guess I’ll just have to check out JO’s recipe.
    Don’t worry about the catching up — do what you can when you can — I’ve learned that the hard way this past year.
    Stay warm!

  15. Yes, time flies. I keep thinking that it should be autumn but it is so cold… then I remember it IS mid June already. Maybe it is SUPPOSED to be cold already, yes? A warm kitchen… hmmm… maybe that will be one of your daughter’s best winter memories of you whenever she spends time in the kitchen. Are you by any chance following Masterchef Australia? It’s on M-Net every night (Monday to Thursday) at 6:30pm. Everytime I see some of the adventurous things they throw together I think of you. That is almost all of the time 🙂

  16. Missing posts is okay. No worries. No stress. Just fun and friendly.

    Meanwhile – bringals – new to me. Rather like that. Am savoring it on the tongue right now.

  17. I was away for a week visiting my Mom and decided not to take my computer with me and when I came back there were hundreds of emails in my inbox plus several dozen blog posts (not 87 – good gracious!) which means I’m staying up too late trying to read and answer … so I was glad to know I wasn’t alone, that you too were struggling to catch up. I agree that blogging should cause only pleasure and if we sometimes miss a post it doesn’t mean we don’t care.

  18. Pingback: TWO TRIPS: IN PINK TAXIS AND DOWN-BLOG-MEMORY-LANE | The only Cin

Leave a Reply

