WORDPRESS WEEKLY PHOTO CHALLENGE: MORNING

It’s just gone 6am in Johannesburg and it’s black as ink outside.
I’ve just tested my new ‘daylight simulator’ light. Is it obviously artificial?

“Is there anything better than butter? Think it over, any time you taste something that’s delicious beyond imagining and you say ‘what’s in this?’ the answer is always going to be butter. The day there is a meteorite rushing toward Earth and we have thirty days to live, I am going to spend it eating butter. Here is my final word on the subject, you can never have too much butter.” – Julie Powell, Julie & Julia

I’ve a feeling I may just get a bit fat this winter …

84 thoughts on “WORDPRESS WEEKLY PHOTO CHALLENGE: MORNING

  1. I love watching Paula Dean cook ~ she is always adding a “stick of butter.” Same with Two Fat Ladies . . . although they also used gallons of lard. 😀

    Hope the sun rises soon. Hope today is a bit easier for you. 😀

  2. Pingback: Photo Challenge ~ Morning « Spirit Lights The Way

  3. I never see the point of substitutes, if I’m cutting down on fats (rare!) I just cut butter out. There is NO substitute for butter! Although it’s getting harder and harder to buy good butter here – it’s either fat reduced or ‘ready to spread from the fridge’ both of which change it beyond recognition. But I can get one from the ‘fromagerie’ (cheese shop) which is just like solid cream. mmmmmmmmmmmm!

    Although, I have to admit, I thought your picture was of goats’ cheeses!

  4. You now remind me Cin, my K is lactose intolerant and has never had custard before. I think I should buy butter and soy milk and home make her a custard.
    Where you having scones at 4am? Oh Cin!, hehe

  5. The King’s Breakfast by A. A. Milne
    The King’s Breakfast
    The King asked
    The Queen, and
    The Queen asked
    The Dairymaid:
    “Could we have some butter for
    The Royal slice of bread?”
    The Queen asked the Dairymaid,
    The Dairymaid
    Said, “Certainly,
    I’ll go and tell the cow
    Now
    Before she goes to bed.”

    The Dairymaid
    She curtsied,
    And went and told
    The Alderney:
    “Don’t forget the butter for
    The Royal slice of bread.”
    The Alderney
    Said sleepily:
    “You’d better tell
    His Majesty
    That many people nowadays
    Like marmalade
    Instead.”

    The Dairymaid
    Said, “Fancy!”
    And went to
    Her Majesty.
    She curtsied to the Queen, and
    She turned a little red:
    “Excuse me,
    Your Majesty,
    For taking of
    The liberty,
    But marmalade is tasty, if
    It’s very
    Thickly
    Spread.”

    The Queen said
    “Oh!:
    And went to
    His Majesty:
    “Talking of the butter for
    The royal slice of bread,
    Many people
    Think that
    Marmalade
    Is nicer.
    Would you like to try a little
    Marmalade
    Instead?”

    The King said,
    “Bother!”
    And then he said,
    “Oh, deary me!”
    The King sobbed, “Oh, deary me!”
    And went back to bed.
    “Nobody,”
    He whimpered,
    “Could call me
    A fussy man;
    I only want
    A little bit
    Of butter for
    My bread!”

    The Queen said,
    “There, there!”
    And went to
    The Dairymaid.
    The Dairymaid
    Said, “There, there!”
    And went to the shed.
    The cow said,
    “There, there!
    I didn’t really
    Mean it;
    Here’s milk for his porringer,
    And butter for his bread.”

    The Queen took
    The butter
    And brought it to
    His Majesty;
    The King said,
    “Butter, eh?”
    And bounced out of bed.
    “Nobody,” he said,
    As he kissed her
    Tenderly,
    “Nobody,” he said,
    As he slid down the banisters,
    “Nobody,
    My darling,
    Could call me
    A fussy man –
    BUT
    I do like a little bit of butter to my bread!”

  6. There is NO substitute for butter. Love the stuff. And it shows……I’ve been told to use Flora…… for the heart you know…..they might as well just kill me now! Please could you fill me in all about your light. I need one of those. Struggle so with light for my photos. Yours look stunning. And no….not artificial AT ALL!! Well done………..now i am off to bake some scones….love you xx

    • Colly, the light is a funny looking kind of spiral bulb that I put into an old gooseneck stand. It is Eurolux CE 85W 240V 50Hz 635mA 5100lM. Old Spouse bought it for me at Builders Warehouse, I think it was about R80.

    • From Wikipedia: Butter. The butter-making process separates the majority of milk’s water components from the fat components. Lactose, being a water soluble molecule, will still be present in small quantities in the butter unless it is also fermented to produce cultured butter.

  7. Cindy, yes, there is something better than butter and it’s called clotted cream. It’s SO nice. My arteries start to wriggle when I get sight of the stuff but do I care? I love it. Especially on scones. Hmm.

  8. I grew up with butter being used in almost all the baking done in our home. Nothing can replace the taste, the texture it brings, or the “shorness” of a biscuit made with butter, and then adding it after it’s baked1 Ny Mom loved butter, and one of her favorite treats was to bake a single layer chocolate cake – and rather than waiting for it to cool, then frost, she would cut a Pie-shaped piece for herself while it was still hot, and put a pat of butter in the middle of th slice. It melted quickly, and then you ate the piece when it was cool enough to pick up with your fingers!

    My Mom never had either a weight problem, nor a cholesterol problem. I think that’s because she ate wisely, watched how much she ate, etc., and knew that in eating, as in most other things, “less is more.”

    BTW, thanks so much for trying to round up someone from Delaware. It just occurred to me that I might check the flag counter on some friends’ blogs, and see if Delaware is included in their count. If so, I’ll just ask them for that person’s site and/or e-mail. Then I might be able to speak with an actual Delawarean.

  9. so funny your post Cin!!! you remind me of Paula Dean (the Chef) do you know her? she makes butter Kebab, or butter on a stick hahah lol lol lol lol
    French eat butter all day and stay thin!
    very funny cute post Cin!!!

  10. Love the plate. Very nice daylight. I am slightly new to butter so it’s taking some getting used to. I guess I grew up with margarine. Chocolate is way better than butter!

  11. Butter course!
    ‘…although cows may give better butters, all rams are better butters …’ from a certain book called Baa Baa Black Belt. 🙂 That tag ‘it’s best cooked in butter’ was, to my mind, nothing but the truth.

Leave a Reply

