DELAWARE AND A FREE STATE CURRY

I want to start today’s post with a heartfelt plea. My dear friend Paula is distraught; she has had visitors from all the states in the USA, save for Delaware. This is extremely upsetting for Paula. I am beginning to suspect that people in Delaware don’t blog. Could this be true? Somebody out there must know somebody in Delaware? Surely! PLEASE; IF YOU KNOW SOMEBODY IN DELAWARE, ASK THEM TO GO AND SAY HELLO TO PAULA’S BLOG!!!

Now, on to Sidey’s weekend theme
Usually, after work, my husband stops in at one of his two favourite local pubs. The Jolly Roger has, he says, become too rowdy, with young advertising industry types using it as a pick-up spot. These days he prefers the slightly seedy Thundergun, where elderly blokes hang like aphids at the bar counter, miserably avoiding small talk and allowing Old Spouse to read his paper in peace.
He never eats there, but one evening – both O Bunn and I were out for supper – he ordered their daily special and came home groaning with a fierce case of heartburn. It had been curried mince and rice, he told me, the likes of which he’d never tasted. As he struggled to describe it to me, ‘not Indian, not Thai, they put bloody fruit in it!’, it dawned on me; it was Orange Free State curry. School fete curry, a long-forgotten taste from my childhood. I had to have it, but – try as I did – I couldn’t recreate it.
My friend, Chantelle, put up a request in an Afrikaans recipe-swap group on Facebook and – sure enough – within hours a lady posted the recipe, which I cooked last night. Old Spouse wasn’t home to witness my joy as I scoffed. He also got out of watching as the heartburn set in.

FREE STATE CURRY INGREDIENTS:
500g mince
500g mixed frozen vegetables (I only used peas, can’t face a frozen carrot)
4 medium potatoes, cubed
1 medium onion, chopped
10ml mild curry powder
5ml Borrie (Tumeric)
50ml vinegar
50ml apricot jam
2 tablespoons chutney
1 tablespoon maizina, mixed to a paste with water
Salt & pepper to taste.

The man is due home today, I think he’ll give the pub a miss, I’m sure he’s been very homesick for his own hearth this past, cold week…

69 thoughts on “DELAWARE AND A FREE STATE CURRY

  1. I love this ‘where elderly blokes hang like aphids at the bar counter, miserably avoiding small talk’ Hope you have a good and sleepful weekend.

  2. I do too 🙂 aphids have such a turgid feel about them….and so do many gentlemen of the bar. The curry looks fantastic. Now I’m off to cook one for Phil tonight. Thanks Cindy!

  3. I’m off to bed, but wanted to have my Cin fix before falling into my cradle of dreams. What on earth is maizina, My internet dictionary had no definition. I will be back bright and early tomorrow morning, my friend. 🙂

  4. Yay, your hubby is back today.
    Now is that Thundergun on what used to DF Malan Drive? Think it’s called Beyers Naude now? If it is they make the best ever ribs (their sauce is perfection) and the chips and onion rings are great too – if you can fit them in. Not a dieters meal.
    🙂 Mandy

  5. Apricot or peach jam can be used. I have also used fresh apricots and/or peaches, chopped, in a beef or mutton curry, but have never had to thicken the curry with maizena. Lovely recipe for this freezing weather, Cin.

  6. That sounds close to curry that I’ve often had before. Even if there’s not jam in the recipe I have often enjoyed curry with condiments like chutney, coconut, banana’s and I also like raisins in the curry mix. I definitely occasionally enjoy the sweeter spin. I don’t remember whether or not it has ever really caused a heartburn problem…

    If you have a wife that cooks like you I’m not sure if eating out is a treat or a break from divine cuisine so that you don’t take it for granted 😀 Don’t blame hubby for looking forward to coming home 🙂

  7. I go out with my mates most friday evenings, first to the slightly seedy pub then off to a restaurant. we have been doing it for over twenty five years. it is a great tradition

  8. When I made Chicken Curry, I often included raisins and apples macerated in wine . . . served over basmati or yellow rice, with a side of mango or peach chutney and peanuts.

    Curries are grand . . . with or without a glowing hearth.

    Good luck with your challenge today! 😀

  9. And the heartburn set in. Ha! It looks delicious. I don’t think I’ve ever had heartburn and hope I never do. My hubby gets it once in a while. He takes a lot of meds, so I blame them rather than my food. Hm. I like curry powder and turmeric. Tsk. The curry looks delicious. Blessings to you…

  10. I see people from all over the world at my cash register in the museum so if I meet someone from Delaware I’ll ask them to leave a comment for your dear friend Paula.

    Reading this delightful mouth watering post reminds me of something from when we were in South Africa earlier this year: two relatives (one in Jo’burg and one in Cape Town) served us curry for dinner and they both served the curry along with little bowls of cut up bananas, tomatoes, coconut, chutney, raisins, peanuts (I can’t remember what else….) which were passed around and we were to sprinkle on top of the meat and rice. Do you do it too? Is that a South African way of eating curry? Where does it come from?

  11. Ooops! I wonder if it was the addition of vinegar that did it. Looks tasty though.

    I don’t know anyone from Delaware, but I keep my eyes and ears to the ground.

    Sounds like Paula collects visits from each state like some folks here collect coins from each state.

    Happy days, Cindy. Slowing getting around to catch up on blogs. You first! Hugs!

    JamieDedes

  12. Love curry. Love the sweet story of Phil coming home. And I believe Nancy used to be from Delaware if Paula would accept a transplant but then I’m pretty sure that Nancy reads Paula’s blog.

  13. I don’t know of anyone at all in Delaware. Strange we never hear too much about it either. Also strange we don’t have pubs around here. Well thats not entirely true. There are a few new ones but not like a neighborhood one except the fancy smancy neighborhood one. None like what you are talking about though. They have have always intrigued me even though I don’t drink.

  14. I love your writing.

    The recipe sounds great.

    When we just moved to Canada, I walked into a store looking for Maizena and I couldn’t remember what it was called in English, so I couldn’t ask anyone either.

  15. doesn’t free state curry have pineapple in it? my tastebuds have some vague memory………. my burny bits are shuddering

    what is it with you and Kate and the aphids this week? are they invading brains as well as roses?

  16. Pingback: The Usual? « Spirit Lights The Way

  17. Your word picture of elderly blokes & aphids had me a giggling 🙂 And the fruit curry, I have been searching for a fruit curry…, but the heart burn thing doesn’t sound good.

  18. Ah, yes, I can smell that curry now cooking in my maternal grandmother’s kitchen all those years ago – she used to serve it with vetkoek – a heart attack on a plate 🙂

Leave a Reply

