CLOUDY, WITH A CHANCE OF MEATBALLS

There are some mysterious events on the foodreference.com food calendar for today. First up is: 1812 Richard Kirwan was born. Kirwan was an eccentric Irish chemist who hated flies. He had dysphagia, which is the inability to swallow food without convulsive movements. He always dined alone. I wonder if the flies and the convulsive movements were linked in any way. I suppose we’ll never know.
Next up, we find out that, in 1908, John Krohn walked over 9,000 miles around the perimeter of the United States with his wheelbarrow. He completed the walk in 357 days, resting on Sundays. One assumes the wheelbarrow was empty? Poor man.
And, on this day in 1976, Great-Britain & Iceland settle their codfish war. Isn’t that something, a war the Americans didn’t interfere in!

On my shores, aside from corrupt government officials and philandering sportsmen, there is little news and, try as I do, I can’t even glam up my hearty food …
Les boulettes de viande dans la sauce de tomate épicée sur le riz blanc …
Le polpette di carne nella salsa al pomodoro speziata sul riso bianco …
Fleischfrikadellen in würziger Tomatensoße auf weißem Reis …
Las albóndigas en la salsa picante de tomate en el arroz blanco …

At the end of the day, in plain old English, it remains meatballs in tomato sauce, on plain white rice.
Sigh!

This is my contribution to Tandy’s ingredient challenge to cook a dish using cumin, onion and coriander. I also want to thank Tandy for awarding me the Versatile Blogger Award.

59 thoughts on “CLOUDY, WITH A CHANCE OF MEATBALLS

  1. I thought the meatballs had the rice in them, hence my porupine comment yesterday. The sun is shining! 🙂

  2. Ah, good old meatballs in sauce…comfort food! I made some last week and served over pasta and then had the leftovers on subrolls with mozerella. (Actually I wanted moz but was out and used swiss, still good!)

  3. On top of spaghetti
    All covered with cheese
    I lost my poor meatball
    When somebody sneezed
    (Or had a convulsive moment while attempting to swallow ~ I’m not entirely sure)

    It rolled cross the table
    And onto the floor
    And then my poor meatball
    It rolled out the door
    (And got covered with flies. Filthy pilfering flies. Horrible, ghastly beasts!)

    Smiles! 😀

  4. Meatballs in tomato sauce over plain white rice sounds like a good meal.

    Walking the perimeter of the U.S. with a wheelbarrow. Hm. Maybe he was looking for sea shells. Blessings to you, Cindy…

  5. Perhaps he kept that wonderful children’s book in his ‘barrow to keep him company…I think I shall ponder a second go, raise money for libraries…. fun post!

  6. Pingback: Regional and Seasonal « Lavender and Lime

  7. If you have been monitoring some of the gossip that passes for news here, you will not that lately we (Americans) emphasize the codpiece, but historically we have not been into cod fish. 🙂

Leave a Reply

