STOLEN AND REPLACED

Someone is stealing from me. Little things; a manicure set, an empty perfume bottle … I have an idea who it may be, and I have sufficient knowledge of psychology to understand – and be sympathetic to – the reason why. But the latest theft is distressing beyond words to me.
I love notebooks and, throughout my life, I have collected them. This green one is one of my best-loved; it is the one that I only use when I am in Simonstown. When in Johannesburg, it lives on my desk and I dip into it most mornings. It’s gone.


There can be little value in it to the thief, but for me the loss of my doodles, like these (I scanned them for a challenge a long time ago, on another blog platform) are just devastating.


I suspect that the thief reads my blog and I beg that the notebook be surreptitiously returned, much as it was taken.
In the meantime, as serendipity often works, I received a beautiful notebook in the mail yesterday, from bluebee in Australia.


I plan to make this book a food diary; starting today. We’re off to a local oyster festival and – later – lunch at a Greek taverna.
Bonne chance, my friends. Happy Saturday.

“I would like to make a toast to lying, stealing, cheating and drinking. If you’re going to lie, lie for a friend. If you’re going to steal, steal a heart. If your going to cheat, cheat death. And if you’re going to drink, drink with me.”

67 thoughts on “STOLEN AND REPLACED

  1. Am I the only one who sees something sinisters in this? Sounds to me like a person prying in your privacy or who is sickly besotted with your work.

  2. There’s a lot of guilt and shame associated with this type of theft, the consequences only emerge afterwards, it’s self destructive and alienating behaviour, very sad.

  3. I do hope they return it, Cindy. Sad to have your privacy invaded like this.
    We were going to go to the oyster festival but the kids – the veggie and the non-‘slimy food’ eater have boycotted the idea. Enjoy.

  4. I would be devastated to lose any of my notebooks; but sadder still is the breakdown of trust.

    I hope your notebook finds its way back to you.

    Great doodles, by the way!

  5. someone seems to be very very interested in you – personal belongings with no great value attached to them would seem to indicate that the ‘borrower’ its particularly interested in removing items of sentimental value to you …. I am sure that they will return. This is such a beautifully written piece …. but ‘borrowing’ parts of another person is just not right….. no matter which way you look at it. Time …… CinCin angel xxxx

  6. Amazing ‘doodles’! I’d love to see some of the art you do when you are being ‘serious’! Hope the notebook finds its way home.

  7. Urgh, how frustrating- and worse is the invasion of your privacy! Hope your notebook finds it’s way soon!
    Enjoy the oyster festival and please have a couple for me. 😉
    I hope to enjoy a drink with you sometime.
    🙂 Mandy

  8. My elderly mother has people doing her house cleaning for her and she swears she misses little things that should be there but aren’t. Yes, maybe she’s a dopey old 83 year old. But maybe not. Nail scissors, a scarf, a drinking beaker. How can they be all mislaid by her? It drives her mad, and for a while she didn’t have a cleaner, but that wasn’t very handy either.

    Oh, I’m not saying it’s your cleaner (if you have one), just wanted to say I know what it feels like to miss these small items.

    Hope you do get your notebook back. I’m still thinking about a notebook I had 30 years ago that went missing. I’d love to see it again, but it will never happen.

  9. Ten new notebooks cannot replace the one that has been taken – it’s just the way it is. I really hope that the person give it back; especially if it has no value to them, but to you it does beyond measure!

    I used to write a lot more things down until someone violated my privacy and read it. It gave it a very sour taste. Only in recent years (2-3) have I started doing it again; have I felt safe enough to do it living on my own and knowing that there is no one to dig where they’re not welcome. So sad that some people have to be that way, isn’t it?

  10. Enjoy the Greek Taverna . . . the start of your brand new food diary . . . and the prompt return of the “borrowed” notebook filled with your doodles.

    {{clink}}

  11. This makes me worried. The question keeps on going around in my mind is WHY ? Whats the need in taking something that doesn’t belong to you ? Not good
    *hugs* amica mia …Hope you find your little Notebook soon .

  12. Oh, Cin 😦 – I do so hope you get (at least) the notebook back, and soon. I think perhaps I know who it is – psychologically understandable, yes, but unconscionable all the same.

  13. A food diary! I made a delicious pasta dish with tomato sauce and lots of spices today. I should start a food diary or at least I should write down a recipe when it turns out right. Blessings…

  14. I’m so sorry. Dreadful to find someone is not who you thought he/she was… Cheer up, it’s not likely to happen again – hopefully people like that are few and far between, Cin.

  15. Oh…I’m certain you must know who this is…it would make me boil! I must say, dear, talented one, your doodles are just fabulous… I’m inspired to start a journal.

  16. That is scary to say the least. That someone who is welcomed in your home would take your stuff? Why? and why an empty perfume bottle? Very scary and sick too!
    xx

  17. Oh! I’m so sorry ;-(
    I hope they don’t steal your blog as well.

    At least you had a few scans.
    I love you doodles, thank you for sharing.
    Great toast!

Leave a Reply

