COMFORT FOOD

When I walk into my kitchen today, I am not alone. Whether we know it or not, none of us is. We bring fathers and mothers and kitchen tables, and every meal we have ever eaten. Food is never just food. It’s also a way of getting at something else: who we are, who we have been, and who we want to be.
Molly Wizenberg, A Homemade Life: Stories and Recipes from My Kitchen Table, 2009

It’s Jamie Oliver’s birthday today. Who would have thought that the fresh-faced, lisping youngster would become one of the most enduring celebrity chefs in history with his Naked Chef series? Although, in Jamie’s case, ‘naked’ refers to simplicity rather than nudity, the very word makes me want to cry. Our current cold weather defies description; my nose is drizzling and my face is too numb to feel it. Until the drizzly bits freeze up, pulling my top lip up toward my cheek in a lopsided grimace.
And so, as often happens, Sidey’s weekend theme is right on the mark, there is a call for comfort food. Yesterday was National Soup Day and, daydreaming of sunnier climes, using what I had in my pantry and freezer, I set out to recreate a Basque stew/soup I’d once read in a magazine. Onions, garlic, white beans, herbs, white wine, fish, prawns, mussels, tomatoes … and lots of chilli.
Eaten beside a roaring fire, it provided no small comfort.


A way to a man’s heart is through his stomach, that shit true as gold. You put some love in your food and a fool can taste it. Raelle Tucker, True Blood, Cold Ground, 2008

60 thoughts on “COMFORT FOOD

  1. I can almost taste it….your wonderful food and your love for it girlfriend!! Making me sooo hungry. Don’t be too cold, keep the fire burning!! Sending you warm love from Oz oxo

  2. It’s so cold down here in Oz too Cindy, nothing for it but to cook & eat all weekend & if that doesn’t work, then we’ll just have to open a couple of good reds to keep us warm. If this is Autumn what in the #@*?! is winter going to be like.
    Happy Birthday Jamie too…., love the guy.
    OK, back to the kitchen – have an warm weekend Cindy 🙂

  3. I used to love my Mum’s homemade pea soup. I can still taste it even though I haven’t had it for about twenty years. That’s real comfort 🙂

    Love both quotes today.

  4. Sounds and “smells” absolutely delightful … that did it for me. Very enjoyable read,… thanks waking my senses ……

  5. I’m kind of in the mood for soup, but it’s very warm here. Do I want to heat up the kitchen? Maybe. I’m way too fond of comfort foods. Blessings to you, Cindy…

  6. I didn’t know it was National soup day, but we hit it right on the button too yesterday with a divine pot of chicken soup. It is one of those dishes that is simply tastier overnight, so guess what we finished off for dinner tonight 🙂 Don’t know whether the soup suited the weather or whether the weather suited the soup – perfectly either way! 😉

  7. Pingback: Cold Comfort « Spirit Lights The Way

  8. I love homemade soup on a cold day… and on any given day there’s something undeniably comforting about reading (and viewing the photos on) your food posts, Cin 🙂

  9. Great minds think alike! I used the same quote in my blog on comfort food.
    I loved this particular challenge.

  10. Pingback: Roundup for the weekend theme « Viewfromtheside's Blog

  11. I just dont know if i like the way Jamie Oliver dips his fingers into food and tastes while he continues along. I am a taster. I taste while i cook. Probably because i never follow recipes. But not with my fingers. I am sure it is he that does it….. is it?
    xx

Leave a Reply

