PEAS AND PRIKS

Foodreference trivia for 25 May back in 1986: Six million Americans participate in ‘Hand Across America’ by holding hands and singing across 4,150 miles of road in support of the hungry and homeless.
Well, I don’t know that the hand-holding and singing filled anyone’s belly. It strikes me they could all have made big pots of soup to hand out instead. Nice ham & pea soup to hand out. They could have had a field day promoting it in the media. I can just hear the jingle … Give Peas a Chance … would’ve become a hit song.


Anyhow, we have warnings on our own shores that a severe cold front is approaching, so I am grateful that I am not homeless and have the privilege of warm, hearty dishes like the fiery Nua Pad Prik I made yesterday. When I put this dish up as my Facebook status, many friends though I was cursing, but it is – in fact – nothing more than Thai Chili Beef.
I made this from notes I took when I ate this at my favourite restaurant and am so pleased that my husband pronounced it 100% spot-on.
In other local news, 80 silly twits trekked from all over the country and checked in to an expensive Johannesburg hotel this past weekend to await the predicted Rapture. I’ve no idea why, it’s a tall hotel and they’d probably have been better off waiting it out in their homes. Really very silly.
Next thing they’ll be predicting wine from the heavens, now that would be something to look forward to …

59 thoughts on “PEAS AND PRIKS

  1. All those puns 😀 and love the cartoon. ‘Fiery Nua Pad Prik’ is just the trick for this cold weather – is ‘Cranks Restaurant’ still operating in Rosebank? They used to make the best Thai food

  2. Love “Give Peas a Chance” – John Lennon would be proud.
    Is that Tastic rice I spot? don’t get that here.
    Here’s hoping they do predict the wine rain – I have a rain tank installed at home so I am ready!
    🙂 Mandy

  3. Most logical, soup instead of hand holding, I hope we at least amassed a small fortune to make soup! …Give peas a chance, bawahwah! (oh, and what Tilly said, too!)

  4. I agree: holding hands doesn’t fill anyone’s tummy, but did they maybe raise money somehow with which to help change people’s lives? That would make some sense to me… The stew looks yummy, and when the real deal happens, no one will have time for booking into a hotel… What would it have mattered anyway?

  5. I think they were all dissapointed that they had steep bills to pay after their “holiday”. I am sure they were convinced that they cold go wild. Imagine- I would have taken it to Mt Grace, and spent Saturday in the Spa…… need to look beautiful for heaven.
    xx

  6. Loved this post . . . I’ve never much been a fan of the Walks for this or the Hold Hands for that type of activism.

    Want clean beaches . . . pick up trash.
    Want to feed the homeless . . . make them a pot of soup.

    Glad you and OS enjoyed your peas and priks. 😀

  7. Your food is rapture, Cindy. As for the rest of it: NOT! 🙂

    Camping’s lives in Alameda, just across the SF Bay from us. Now he says he calculated wrong. I think I may throw a Rapture Not party. Wonder what kind of interesting menu I could build around that.

    Ditto: Hands Across America.

  8. I’m always struck by how seemingly functioning individuals can be taken in by such nonsense. That they’re going through this yet another time tells me we have a great need for more mental health experts. Have a great day. Blessings…Mary

Leave a Reply

