I’LL SKIP THE MOVIE, THANKS

There is, Google tells me, a film titled ‘Cannibal Women in the Avocado Jungle of Death’. I promise I am not making this up. It has great dialogue:

Dr. Margo Hunt: Dr. Kurtz, I’m unfamiliar with the academic guidelines at Radcliffe, but I would think any major university would consider warring on the United States and eating prisoners of war a serious breach of ethics.
Dr. Kurtz: Always the cautious scholar, huh, Dr. Hunt?

And it gets better:
Jim: I’d rather have you kill me than make me a gelding. Oh my God, you’re marinating me!
That’s where I stopped reading and went back to Google. I was on a search to find the origins of the Avocado Ritz, that ubiquitous starter course at 70s dinner parties. I couldn’t find anything about avo history, but I did wonder about another search result which was ‘This Avocado Just Gave Me A Wedding Ring’. Unfortuantely it led to a ‘page cannot be found’.
My own version of this appetiser has spicy guacamole and no pink mayonnaise.


On the subject of digestion, it’s quite appropriate to note from the foodreference page that, on this day back in 1883 Gabriel Gustav Valentin died. This German-Swiss physiologist was the first to discover the digestive activity of pancreatic juice.

59 thoughts on “I’LL SKIP THE MOVIE, THANKS

  1. it’s NOT real avacado ritz unless there is mayo, turned pink by cooked and strained tomato 😉

    However yours looks even more delicious

    I think we should go to the movie, but we’d need a lot of bubbly first so we could shriek and misbehave

    • I don’t know if you heard ‘our’ bird, but there’s a new one on the block, he lives in your road, opposite the school, by the traffic circle 🙂

  2. Hmm, Google can produce some strange search results.
    I do however love the result of your avocado ritz – so grown up compraed to the one served in the avo skin. 😉 I have a set of those exact bowls at home too.
    🙂 Mandy

  3. You’re pulling my leg surely 🙂 what a title! No wonder it never got a wide release. and btw your dish looks ravishing 🙂

  4. ho, ho – that photo just gave me a ‘distinct feeling of deja vu’ could it be something to do with my Mum’s dinner parties… 😀 I created my own 70s revival tonight – beef stroganoff (but, the Rick Stein way) 😀

  5. I’m a great fan of Avos! Shallow-fried Avo’s for a starter recently with a chilli-lime cream/dip. They’re really good!

  6. We here in Texas all quite familiar with avocados. We most consume tons of guacamole a year. It’s served with and on everything imaginable (and some not imaginable). I love me some guacamole.

  7. Cindy, I’m a better person now that i know Gustuv discovered the digestive activities of the pancreatic juices 🙂
    Wicked looking prawn & avo cocktail too lovely – I don’t care if this little number has been around since the beginning of time, I love it still 🙂

  8. Interesting.

    Surprisingly I’ve never had one, but will definitely try it.
    Would you mind if I Pin it?

    Looks delicious, great photo, I also love the Retro glass 😉

  9. LOL! You really find some gems, Cindy 😀 Love the look of your avocado ritz. I’m with you all the way on the guacamole and no pink mayonnaise…

  10. Avocado Ritz is definitely one of my favorites!! I LOVE prawns and shrimp!!! Have to admit though, I’ve never felt that inspired by avo. The things people come up with… 😉

Leave a Reply

