RATTLESNAKE SUNDAY

On this date, back in 1931 Canned rattlesnake goes on sale. Packed by George K. End of Arcadia, Florida. Not quite as big a hit as Spam. (source foodreference.com)

I’ve really got nothing to say about canned rattlesnake, but I am curious as to whether it is still available, perhaps Nancy can tell me? And how, I wonder, would one eat it? On a slice of bread, like canned pilchards? I once ate eel in Germany, it had been presented on a platter, prepared in various ways; roasted, in aspic and chopped (like herring) in a vinegary salad. None of them moved me in any way.


Back to my bottle of ginger liqueur, I spent yesterday experimenting with recipes. I baked some golden pears in the liqueur, made a batch of ginger biscuits and added a tablespoon of NoMU drinking chocolate to my whipped cream. A very nice dessert, but – when I make it again – I will reduce the quantities to a half a pear per person; it is an extremely rich dish.


Not so the cocktails I made; the ginger square was no joke and the addition of iced tea rendered a very refreshing drink. Both were moreish, but – packing a whopping 30% alcohol per volume – we restrained ourselves. After all, if the world was going to end, we didn’t want to pitch up drunk at the pearly gates …


SUNDAY DUFs:

Downs:
I’m a bit behind my work deadline.
Ups:
Have enjoyed my husband’s company this weekend, our daughter has been away and it has been fun to engage with one another. No guilt, we deserve it occasionally.
Forward:
I’m meeting radio personality and writer, Jenny Crwys-Williams, on Wednesday.

53 thoughts on “RATTLESNAKE SUNDAY

  1. If you ever get the chance to try smoked eel, I really recommend it – the ones I had came from Denmark. Also Unagi Sushi – eel sushi… mmmm – the eel is cooked and glazed.

    Ginger and pears is good and yours looks totally and completely delicious.

  2. Am busy trying to get a cup of ginger and honey down…don’t know what i did wrong but it is disgusting!
    I love smoked eel…also crumbed eel…also eel in jelly…actually…I think I like eel.

  3. Beautiful post. Loving the pears. Funnily enough I also poached yesterday. I will give both rattlers and eels a miss thanx 🙂 You totally need time out together with hubby sometimes. It is essential for a happy marriage. Enjoy the Jenny meeting. Hugs xx

  4. Good to see Spam got a mention 🙂 Amazing what you did with these ingredients,Cindy! It looks mouth-watering and the cocktail has inspired me to look out our shaker…could be fun…

    Glad you’ve had a good weekend. And the celeb sounds fab! Exciting!

  5. I approve of spousal engagement, but I see it didn’t stop you cooking as well. Could I have the gingered pears without the biscuits, please? Oooh!
    Another idea…. pears dipped in dark chocolate after gingered cooking?

  6. You have mentioned a few things I have never been inclined to try. Namely, rattlesnake & eel. The specific presentation does not enter into the decision.

    Here are a few other Tidbits that don’t seem Tantalizing: Tails, Tongue, Toenails, Tigers, Terrapins, Testicles, and Tentacles. 😉

    The drinks and dessert, in contrast, seem decadent and delcious. Drink up!

  7. The dessert looks really yummy. I love pears and ginger. How could I not like it? And ginger biscuits with whipped cream. I’m glad that cyber snacking isn’t fattening. Ha! Blessings to you, my gourmet friend.

  8. Sounds like you had a pleasant weekend: good food and quality time in good company 🙂 Have a great week; sounds like it is going to be busy with a touch of excitement. Enjoy!

  9. Beautiful, Cindy, you’re an artist 🙂 I’m totally in for that 30% iced tea, and super cool that you’re meeting Jenny Crwys-Williams today. Enjoy!

  10. The iced tea sounds good. Not from that part of the U.S. that indulges in rattler!!! Always sounded a bit bazaar to me, though I am game to try pretty much anything. Now eels are a different story. Husband was Italian so eel was one of the many fish dishes we served on Christmas Eve every year. Not bad. We always had octopus as well, though the rest of the year I lean nore toward squid.

    Will have to serve that tea one of these days …

Leave a Reply

