IS IT THE END ALL OF A SARDINE?

According to Harold Camping, aUSpreacher who says the world is going to end on May 21, at 7pm to be precise… is that Asian/Aussie time? or African time? or American time? as I’d like to do some final shopping on Saturday morning if possible!! – Jan van Dyk.
 
So, if all I have to look forward to is the end* of the world, it seems better to look backwards …
On this day in 1799 French author Honore de Balzac was born. Balzac would lock himself away during creative bursts, drinking coffee and eating only fruit and eggs.When he finally took a break, he was known to consume huge quantities of food.One report recalls that at the Véry restaurant he ate “a hundred Ostend oysters, twelve cutlets of salt-meadow mutton, a duck with turnips, two partridges and a Normandy sole,” not to mention the desserts, fruit and liqueurs he also consumed. – source foodreference.com
Far too rich for my tastes, I think I’ll settle for a couple of simple sardines and a nice chunk of crusty bread.
Have a super weekend and – if all hell breaks loose – I’ll see you all for a party in heaven tomorrow night. Look out for me, I’ll be the one in the red suede shoes.
 
Sidey’s weekend theme this week is THE END. To participate or read other contributions, go to:
http://viewfromtheside.wordpress.com/2011/05/20/weekend-theme-22/
62 thoughts on “IS IT THE END ALL OF A SARDINE?

  1. Make sure you put on your red suede shoes at 18h55 or are you going to have them on the whole day tomorrow?
    I have to think of one thing I’ve always wanted to do. Just one brave thing.

  2. Great post, Cin and love that title 🙂 If that’s the case then all I can say for tonight is chocolate – lots of it, and triple-cream Brie – With the time zones, I’ll get there before you so will open the red wine to breathe 😉

  3. Ah grilled Sardines! Culinary proof that less is more.
    Although I’ve always yearned for them – I never thought I had good enough reason to own a pair of red stilettos… 😕 I will definintely go out and purchase a pair tomorrow!

  4. ‘they’ say it is 7pm US West Coast time… that gives me time to catch happy hour at the club and a few extra shots for the flight!!

    ur a sinner in the full sense of the word Cinz!!! how dare you tempt me like that with visions of sardines and bread…. AND red suede shoes!!

  5. This kind of remind me of people on death row – the way we see it portrayed in the movies – where they ask them what they would like for their final meal. How do you answer that? Whatever you get is not going to be prepared the way you like it anyway, right? It is not as if they let you prepare it the way you like it. If only 😉 In this case, however, you’re lucky; you get to be the chef 😀

  6. I wouldn’t mind at all if it was tomorrow. Should I cancel Pilates class tonight and tomorrow? I am sure that we would have firm butts in heaven. But will there be chocolate? Tonight no dinner just chocolate, wine and cancel pilates.

  7. I will wear my red boots and will be waiting there for you – the little boy with me – that would be Beloved! See ja on the flip side – and if not – well then we best all have a good old party in any event!!

  8. See you all tomorrow. I haven’t decided what to wear yet. I think I heard that the end will occur by time zones, so I’ll know it’s coming and decide what to wear then.

  9. I was going to say I’d be blogging on the eve of May 21, but we never know what we’ll be doing. I won’t be expecting the end of the world. This I can say confidently.

    As for the sardines and crusty bread, yummy! Another treat I learned to enjoy as a child while visiting my grandparents. Blessings to you, Cindy…

  10. I can’t imagine eating all of that food! I have never eaten a sardine and I never intend too!!!! The idea is just so gross. But then again I am not a fish eating person.

Leave a Reply

