MINI FIG TARTS IN A HURRY

The client is a no-nonsense kind of woman, who knows exactly what she wants and her brief was quite specific; I am to provide a three course meal for a board meeting of six people tonight. The starter must be served plated and the main course is to be served buffet style. Dessert will be served when the members end their meeting, with coffee. As I don’t know what time that will be, I thought tarts – at room temperature – would be ideal. I had a bottle of figs preserved in ginger syrup that I have been dying to try. I could blind bake my pastry shells early this morning and make up my custard filling; et voila. Very conveniently, I recently purchased six Le Creuset mini cocottes which are perfect for both transporting and serving my desserts and provide the perfect opportunity of entering Tandy’s Bake Something Sweet (that you’ve never baked before) and her Le Creuset competition together in one post; something I didn’t think I was going to achieve this week.

My little puds may not be the most photogenic entry to this challenge, but they sure smell like heaven and I’m certain they’ll get a nod of approval from my strict client.

73 thoughts on “MINI FIG TARTS IN A HURRY

  1. Looks divine – I can almost smell it from here! But doesn’t the pastry go soggy in those thick pots? Even with baking blind.

    Good luck for the rest of the meal.

  2. What a lot of serendipity there, Cindy. (I just wanted to try out that word. It’s not my favorite English word – that is “ubiquitous”).

    Good luck with the rest of the meal. I think you’ve got it all under control!

  3. Oo, yummy.

    May I be the first to say I don’t give a fig what your customer thinks: they look scrumptious and I don’t like figs.

    When I win the Euro Lottery will you come and chef for me?

  4. I just love your pots 🙂 Thanks for doing this challenge! Don’t forget to send the email as I need something for the prize draw 🙂

  5. Nowadays I have such a sweet tooth. I’m very much tempted and I’m sure your client is going to not just be pleased, but impressed 🙂 Wish I was in that meeting 😉

  6. Gracious, this is the right profession for you, Cindy! You didn’t seem phased by the brief and are happy enough to freestyle with figs even when they are a departure for you. What an artist!

  7. The only problem with the dessert (it looks fab!) is that it has figs. . .yuck. I have forgotten to add to my very small list of things I do not like the taste of and thus will not eat knowingly or voluntarily: figs. THe rest are cilantro (another word for soap), green olives, anise/licorice, carraway seed, coffee. There might be a few other things, but, for now – that’s all I ask you to avoid when I come visit you! 😀

  8. Figs… I know they have some kind of passionate, sexy, romantic, ‘royal’ & extravagant connotation – but I can’t stand them! Not in jams, desserts or any way or form. 🙄 Sad thing is they always LOOK so wonderful – also on a cheese/savoury platter – but I so wish they tasted different!

  9. Pingback: Something Savoury « Lavender and Lime

  10. Pingback: Le Creuset Competition Winner | Lavender and Lime

Leave a Reply

