A FINE PAIR

“If you are careful,’ Garp wrote, ‘if you use good ingredients, and you don’t take any shortcuts, then you can usually cook something very good. Sometimes it is the only worthwhile product you can salvage from a day; what you make to eat. With writing, I find, you can have all the right ingredients, give plenty of time and care, and still get nothing. Also true of love. Cooking, therefore, can keep a person who tries hard sane.” Taken from The World According to Garp by John Irving.

I was laid low over the weekend with a bout of flu. I know I am way behind with catching up on all my friends’ blogs. I’ll do my best to catch up, but my brain still feels as though it’s shrouded in cotton wool. Please forgive my absence.

Tandy’s current seasonal challenge is to cook with pears; one of my favourite fruits. I used Gioconda Scott’s recipe from Paradise Kitchen and chose to serve the pears with a blue cheese on rockette, although it would have been equally delicious with ice cream or pouring cream.

50 thoughts on “A FINE PAIR

  1. I’m really glad you’re feeling better. what a super quote – i luv irving. however, me in a cooks apron only means i’ve lost sanity once and for all.
    pear w cheese -oh yum. please come to california.

  2. Hope you feel better soon! I have tried to read the book 3 times, each time I get to the same word and stop 🙂 Thanks for taking part in this challenge 🙂

  3. Just delicious, Cin and the photos are beautifully done (sounds like you need some homemade chicken soup to get rid of that lurgy – wishing you some pampered R&R on the road to recovery)

  4. Always love a good pun in a title! The pear/blue cheese pairing (sorry) is one of my absolute favourites. Hope you are feeling on top of the world soon.

  5. Love these flavours, Italians have a saying
    “Al contadino non far sapere quanto è buono il cacio con le pere.”
    Translation: “Don’t tell a peasant how well cheese goes with pears.”
    A wonderful combination of flavours. x

  6. We love pears! I’m sorry to hear you have been ill. I hope you feel well again soon. We like blue cheese, too. Sounds like a great combination. Blessings to you, Cindy…

  7. It’s horrible when my head is stuffed with cotton balls and cobwebs and I can’t think straight.

    Feel better soon! We’ll miss your keen wit. 😀

  8. I didn’t know you could get the New York City Rockettes to come over and dance along with your wine-poached pears, but, hey! if they are willing to come, and you can afford ’em, why not? Great entertainment for an evening, and probably unique in your part of the world!

    This is my way of asking if “Rockette” cheese is the same as racquelette cheese? If not, what is rockette cheese?

    Love you, girl, and I do hope the ‘flu has vacated the premises!

  9. Sorry to hear that you have been ill. No need for catching up really, just start back where you can. I think there is far too much “have too” with all of this blog stuff. It can get so overwhelming.

    The pears look rather beety!

  10. Mmmm, that lingering cotton wool brain feeling is the pits., get better soon lovely. I’ve been enjoying the red wine pears around the blogs, they always look so sophisticated, like they always should be at a swanky dinner party to me. Very posh little number 🙂

  11. Pingback: Something Savoury « Lavender and Lime

Leave a Reply

