STILL TOUTING TROUT

Washington Irving said that there is certainly something in angling that tends to produce a serenity of the mind. That wonderful writer and author of Rip van Winkle would not mind in the least, I am sure, that I paraphrase his quote and apply it to my feelings about cooking; it is my serenity.

That said, with my current workload, I feel guilty about my kitchen indulgences, but I choose to take a leaf from the Babylonians, who held that the gods do not deduct from man’s allotted span the hours spent in fishing.

And, after all, one has to eat to keep up one’s strength, right? And what better food for the brain than fish?

The good about trout: This food is low in Sodium. It is also a good source of Thiamin, Riboflavin, Niacin, Pantothenic Acid, Phosphorus and Selenium, and a very good source of Protein, Vitamin B12 and Manganese.The bad: This food is high in Cholesterol. Read More http://nutritiondata.self.com/facts/finfish-and-shellfish-products/4140/2#ixzz1M7jXXteY

52 thoughts on “STILL TOUTING TROUT

  1. I’m impressed that you find serenity in the kitchen when you are so busy, Cin. It was double stress to come home from working all day and have to worry about making dinner. Sounds like it soothes you! Yowzers.

  2. I’ve been serving less meat and more vegetables and fish recently. It’s been good for us. We love seafood. I used to fish off the shore, a few times from a boat, but I didn’t like the rocking back and forth. Fishing is very relaxing. Blessings to you…

Leave a Reply

