CUNNING TO CONJURE CAKE

manipulate
v
1 MANOEUVRE, influence, control, exploit, work, engineer, guide, direct, steer, use/turn to your advantage, negotiate, capitalize on colloq. wangle, cash in on, pull strings, have in the palm of your hand, twist round your little finger, have over a barrel, wheel and deal, frame, fit up
2 FALSIFY, rig, juggle with, massage, tamper with colloq. doctor, cook, fiddle
3 HANDLE, control, wield, operate, work, knead, use, utilize, employ, process, ply

She had her best friend over; they were working together on a school project. I made them sandwiches for lunch and afterwards they asked if there was any cake. I said no and that I was too busy to bake. They went back to their project, a low hum of conversation flowed between them. Every now and then one would speak loud enough for me to hear, Oh, I REALLY want a piece of my mom’s cake or You know your mom makes the BEST EVER cake in the world …

Yes, I know; I was conned, they led me a merry dance. Anyway, it was a nice excuse to take a break from my work and do some baking.

Mother Nature is providential. She gives us twelve years to develop a love for our children before turning them into teenagers.

William Galvin

Sidey’s weekend theme this week is ‘Dance’. To participate go to:

http://viewfromtheside.wordpress.com/2011/05/13/weekend-theme-21/

36 thoughts on “CUNNING TO CONJURE CAKE

  1. I like that quote by William Calvin. It is an abrupt awakening when teenage years come. It is a good thing we are already hooked on them when it happens. I want some of that chocolate cake. It looks sublime. A cyber bite will have to do. Ah. Thank you. Yes, it was DELICIOUS! Blessings to you, Cindy…

  2. Looks yummy!

    Perfect quote:

    Mother Nature is providential. She gives us twelve years to develop a love for our children before turning them into teenagers. ~ William Galvin

    Great take on the dance theme!

  3. Pingback: On With The Dance! « Spirit Lights The Way

  4. hah hah I love it. Your daughter’s a blerry lucky so and so and I wonder whether she knows it.
    Does she love going to friends houses to eat packet or supermarket biscuits?

    talking of which did you manage to get the Rich Tea biscuits? I’ll be happy to send you some if you can’t get it

  5. Ah, yes, subtlety is not a habitual weapon in a teenager’s armoury. But I would have got up and made a cake straight away too: although, not half as luscious as that one…

  6. Hmm, manipulative teenagers! But the cake does look delicious so you can’t blame them for going on about it.

    To be safe, you should release your children in the wild at 11 years of age.

  7. Hook, line and sinker, Cin, but as you say, a good excuse to step away from the desk. Love chocolate cake and yours looks totally delish. (and that teenager quote is hilarious)

  8. Love that Galvin quote, right on! And they lead us in the dance long before that too, only it’s not quite as obviously manipulative… or something. πŸ˜‰ But oh well, who can blame them? – that cake looks divine.

  9. Those kinds of memories are the ones I treasure most. My son, who is now 30, tends to get a bit embarrassed when I bring up these sentimental memories of mine, but, they’re mine and I’ll relive them if I want. I’m sure this is one you’ll carry for a long, long time.

    The cake looks delicious, by the way!

  10. Whenever I have trouble understanding/getting through to my teenagers, I remember I was probably my Mother’s personal teenage nightmare come true 😳 Mine don’t come close to what she had to endure :mrgreen:

  11. Pingback: Roundup of the weekend theme contributions « Viewfromtheside's Blog

Leave a Reply

