BARKING UP THE WRONG TROUT

Smoked trout and pineapple salsa

South Africa is an unsung number in the world of trout fishing and, secretly, many of people hope that it stays that way. Eastern southern Africa is divided from its vast interior by the Drakensberg Mountain range that stretches from the Eastern Cape in the south to the Gauteng and Limpopo in the north. To the trout fisherman the mountains are a godsend. (from places.co.za)

And so it was, in the build up to our brief holiday in the Drakensberg; I babbled about wanting at least one trout meal during our stay. Old Spouse cautioned that we were going to a remote place and that the nearest restaurants would service the tourist industry. Take your own trout and have a kitchen session, that’s your best bet, he said. I stood my ground and insisted that, with abundant trout, the area would surely have hidden-secret local eateries offering this beautiful fish. 

He was right, as is proved by the photo in yesterday’s post. Our meal at Little Switzerland resort’s restaurant was lousy. I will give my husband credit for not delivering the expected I told you so. He couldn’t. He was too busy being sick from food poisoning. 

Moving right along from that bad memory, I procured a smoked trout yesterday, from a local fishmonger. Inspired by the sunny day after last night’s torrential rain, I made a salsa of pineapple, tomato, onion, basil and chilli. A sprinkle ofShirazsalt and a squirt of lemon; simple as that.

Pineapple salsa

Et voila, the fish needed no fiddling with.

If you want to catch a trout, don’t fish in a herring barrel. Ann Landers

60 thoughts on “BARKING UP THE WRONG TROUT

  1. Food poisoning? How absolutely awful! And that on a weekend away – not even in his own home. I feel very sorry for your husband. And yes: he told you so! 🙂

  2. Now, tHAT’s a dish that looks at least as good as it probably tasted. Yummmmmm! Love pineapple salsa. Does smoked trout taste similar to smoked salmon? I remember fondly a baby shower that was given for me when I was expecting our first. The hostess served a smoked salmon – it was HUGE – probably 15 pounds or more, and presented so beautifully on a large silver platter, surrounded with lemon slices, fresh dill and other delights – that her husband had caught (the fish, not the platter) in an Alaska stream, and had air-expressed it all the way back home to Connecticut. She made a dill sauce to go with it, and my mouth is watering now, just remembering the exquisite taste.

    Glad you got your trout!

  3. That looks like a lovely lunch! Your photo of the salsa is awesome and you should show it to the dude from the camera shop – he will swallow his words 🙂

  4. The food looks delicious as compared to yesterday’s. I l love trout. My father used to fish the creeks of the Adirondack mountains in New York State for trout on his family’s homestead when I was young. The fish was so good.

  5. Yummy salasa!

    Trout is still pretty abundant here and absolutely delicious. In the manner of my Turkish/Greek father we are as likely to have it grilled for breakfast with country fried pototoes fragrant with rosemary, onions, garlic, and sweet green peppers. Usually a some 1/2 cup of Greek Yogurt and small side of fresh fruit. Lovely. Sometimes we use piece of smoked salmon in a big salad for dinner.

    Regarding chefs and poets from your last comment on my site: I think female chefs may have a harder time even than poets.

    Blessings, Cindy. Have a great day.

  6. I’d never had native trout until I started dating Dirt Man…what a delicacy I’d been missing all of my life! Of course, I did have a problem with eating a fish with eyes staring up at me…yes, here it is served with the head!

  7. I like the idea of Old Spaouse going off to the nearest stream next time and catching enough trout for the meal…then you can do a cooking demonstration so the local restaurant can learn how to cook as well as proper food handling…thus you will save the lives of many a tourist who frequent the area. 😉

  8. I think i would like to try and actually catch a trout. And then have someone else clean it up and cook it. I am positive that you feel a serious amount of pride in catching your first fish.
    I love baby marrows, tomatoe, and onions with garlic lemon and calamari rings stuffed inside a trout…..covered in lemon butter sauce. I have never made it, but have ordered it countless times.
    xx

Leave a Reply

