YESTERDAY, TODAY AND TOMORROW

And so another Mother’s Day passed and I was spoiled by my child (thanks to her dad’s credit card) and by my friends, Sidey and Nzwa. Our meal was satisfying, if marred by my unspectacular dessert tart and by my almost slicing my finger off with my new chef’s knife.

The only real downer of the day was that my dort was in a sullen mood. I have read that the best way to deal with this sort of adolescent behaviour is to ignore it … and to drink good wine.

My week is blessed with abundant work; I have a new book to edit and another catering stint tomorrow (I wonder if the crew like beetroot?) and my horoscope looks so delightful that I am choosing to believe it will all come true …

Dear Cindy-Ann,

Frivolity and fun are the name of the game these next few days! Don’t even think about worrying about deeper issues — the stars have aligned to give you a break from all things serious.

On May 9, Mercury will give Venus a big hug, and your world will erupt in harmony. Your goal will be to keep the peace, and you’ll succeed at smoothing anything over with a well-worded compliment. Then, on May 11, Jupiter joins in the group hug, bringing luck and enthusiasm your way!

Mercury and Jupiter will liven up your conversations, add confidence to your opinions, and give you the optimism to believe you can do anything. You may promise to do just about anything too, which is unrealistic, but because your promise was made with good intentions, no one will mind.

Meanwhile, Venus and Jupiter just want to get out there and socialize with as many people as possible. This tends to be a more superficial transit, so while nothing earth-shattering is likely to occur, you should have a lot of fun.

Helping to keep you grounded, Mars will move from Aries into Taurus, also on May 11. Mars in Taurus will help you gain control of your finances and other practical matters. You may be a bit slower in coming to a final decision, but when you make your decision, it will most definitely be final.

Have a happy week, dear friends.

65 thoughts on “YESTERDAY, TODAY AND TOMORROW

  1. Sounds like you had a good mother’s day. We all feel the blues sometimes, for no good reason. It’ll pass.

    What’s on that beaker: “Ustensiles”? Is that a double spelling error there or could this be a word I’ve never heard of? Just wondering.

    Good luck with the catering job. I wouldn’t count on everyone liking beetroot, I think.

  2. “Ustensiles” is French for “Implements”. Glad you survived the severed digit. Imagine our Cin doing something so human in the kitchen!! 😀

  3. Ouch @ finger injury.
    Ignore the sulks – tis them hormones coming in. 🙂
    Glad you had a good Mom’s Day, Cindy.
    My best gift was having all my chicks under my roof at the same time.

  4. All I can say is thank goodness Mars will be moving into Taurus at the end of the week to calm things down after all that hugging!!

  5. I think yuppiechef should start sending out a 5c coin with each knife – that may prevent the cuts 🙂 Hope you had a drink for your mom yesterday xxx

  6. Its true – ignore the sulks and just start doing something interesting… they come out of the room quick enough to see what on earth you are up to.
    I once disappeared for a whole day and when I came home both of them wanted to know where “the hell” I was the whole day and why didn’t I take them with…. I just smiled gently and said that I prefer people who talk to me and who are nice to me when I’m out enjoying myself.
    It was the quickest I had ever seen them snap out of a bad mood. I used it many many many MANY times after that…. *evil grin*

  7. At least she behaves according to the instructions on the box. We had one that went off the rails so often she was hardly ever on them. Then we waited for the other to follow suit.

    Still waiting.

  8. I have three children who all went through the teenage phase so my sympathies there; I see you mention beetroot : I just love beetroot — in fact in one rsstaurant we go I am known as ‘the beetroot boy’ 🙂 I have been told it is good for you

  9. To ignore or not ignore that is the question…
    play it by ear, I say 🙂
    but then what would I know? I only have boys

  10. Hi Cindy,
    * I didn’t know you were a caterer plus book editor. what a nice combination 🙂

    * I didn’t know S. Africans celebrate Mother’s Day the same day as us in N. America. I think England has a different day? You’re lucky your family are close by. Mine are so far away 😦

    * I’ve learned a new word thanks to souldipper i.e that “Ustensiles” is French for “Implements”. When I saw it on the beaker I just assumed it was another “made it China misspelling!” LOL

    * I am, as we speak, eating beetroot with my lunch.
    and was going to buy lamb chops for our dinner.

    * I hope that my sign is also included in the
    “May 9, Mercury will give Venus a big hug, and your world will erupt in harmony”

  11. Glad your finger is intact! Hope your horoscope pans out!

    Living with teens as impossible as teaching a dog to roller skate.

    Or as Erma Bombeck once said: “Raising teenagers is like trying to nail jello to a tree.”

    Here’s to a Happy Week! C’est bon!

Leave a Reply

